AzTrials
AzTrials

Central Nervous System Tumor, PediatricPhase 2NCT00084838

Chemotherapy Combined With Radiation Therapy for Newly Diagnosed CNS AT/RT

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Central Nervous System Tumor, Pediatric, run by Dana-Farber Cancer Institute at 12 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving more than one chemotherapy drug with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 18 years
Conditions the study is for
Central Nervous System Tumor, Pediatric
What is being tested?
filgrastim, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
25 participants
Where
12 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Feb 2003to Mar 2013
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 18 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed primary intracranial Central Nervous System (CNS) atypical teratoid/rhabdoid tumor OR
  • Tumor tissue that possesses the INI-1 gene mutation
  • No metastases that disseminate outside the CNS by abdominal and chest computer tomography (CT) scans, kidney imaging, and bone marrow biopsy
  • No obstruction of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) flow by CSF flow study
  • Definitive surgical resection of tumor within the past 35 days

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and under

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 50-100% OR
  • Lansky 50-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Hemoglobin > 10 g/dL
  • Absolute neutrophil count > 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count > 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 mg/dL
  • SGPT < 10 times normal

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times normal

Other

  • Willing to have placement of central venous access line

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Prior steroids allowed

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • No other prior or concurrent investigational agents
  • Concurrent anticonvulsant agents allowed

Trial locations and contacts

12 sites in 1 country.

12 sites in 1 country

United States12 sites
  • AFLAC Cancer Center and Blood Disorders Service of Children's Healthcare of Atlanta - Scottish Rite Campus

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30342

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

  • Children's Hospital Boston

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Children's Memorial Hospital - Chicago

    Chicago, Illinois, 60614

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center - Dallas

    Dallas, Texas, 75390

  • Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89109

  • Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota - Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55404

  • Yale Cancer Center

    New Haven, Connecticut, 06520-8028

  • Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104

  • Stanford Cancer Center

    Stanford, California, 94305-5826

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study of Intrathecal and Systemic Chemotherapy With Radiation Therapy for Children With Central Nervous System Atypical Teratoid/Rhabdoid Tumor (AT/RT) Tumor

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving more than one chemotherapy drug with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving intrathecal and systemic combination chemotherapy together with radiation therapy works in treating young patients with newly diagnosed central nervous system (CNS) atypical teratoid/rhabdoid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the efficacy of intensive systemic and intrathecal chemotherapy and radiotherapy, in terms of medial survival, in children with newly diagnosed central nervous system atypical teratoid/rhabdoid tumors in comparison with historical outcomes from prior trials.

Secondary

  • Determine the toxicity profile and tolerability of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the chemosensitivity of these patients' tumors by Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) after an attempt at maximum surgical resection after 2 courses of this regimen.
  • Determine the predictive value of the INI-1 gene mutation in determining prognosis by comparing tumor samples from patients with vs without this mutation treated with this regimen.

STATISTICAL DESIGN: This was a single arm design evaluating median overall survival. The chosen historical control estimate of 7 months was based on 2 large multi-institutional studies in a similar setting and the alternative of 20.5 months based on a DFCI pilot study. There was 90% power to detect this improvement assuming 1-sided 0.10 alpha and 17 eligible patients. Sample size (n=20 patients) was inflated for expected 10-15% ineligible rate.

TREATMENT: Induction chemotherapy was required to be initiated within 50 days of the most definitive surgery.

  • Central Nervous System (CNS)/intrathecal therapy: All patients with M0 disease receive triple intrathecal (IT) chemotherapy comprising methotrexate (MTX), cytarabine, and hydrocortisone on day 1 of weeks 1, 2, 4, 7, 13, 19, 27, 33, 39, 45, and 51 followed by oral or intravenous (IV) leucovorin calcium given 24 hours after each MTX dose. Patients with initially positive cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) cytology (M+) receive triple IT chemotherapy weekly until 2 consecutive CSF samples are negative for malignant cells.
  • Pre-irradiation induction therapy (weeks 1-6): Patients receive vincristine IV on day 1 of weeks 1-6; cisplatin IV over 8 hours on day 1 and doxorubicin IV continuously over 48 hours beginning on day 2 of weeks 1 and 4; cyclophosphamide IV continuously over 72 hours beginning on day 2 of week 1; etoposide IV over 1 hour on days 1-3 of week 4; and filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) beginning on day 6 of week 1 and day 4 of week 4 and continuing until blood counts recover.
  • Induction chemoradiotherapy (weeks 7-12): Patients receive vincristine IV on day 1 of weeks 7-12; cisplatin IV over 8 hours on day 1, cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on day 2, etoposide IV over 1 hour on days 1-3 of weeks 7 and 10; and granulocyte-colony stimulating factor (G-CSF) subcutaneous (SC) daily beginning on day 4 of weeks 7 and 10 and continuing until blood counts recover. Patients with M0 disease and patients under 3 years of age with M+ disease undergo radiotherapy to the primary tumor daily on weeks 7-12. Patients 3 years of age and over with M+ disease undergo craniospinal irradiation (CSI) daily on weeks 7-12 until negative cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) cytology is achieved.
  • Post-radiation induction therapy (weeks 13-18): Patients receive vincristine IV on day 1 of weeks 13 and 16; doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide as in pre-irradiation induction therapy beginning on day 1 of week 13; cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1-3 of week 16; dactinomycin IV on days 1-5 of week 16; and G-CSF SC daily beginning on day 6 of weeks 13 and 16 and continuing until blood counts recover.
  • Maintenance chemotherapy (weeks 19-42): Patients receive vincristine IV on day 1 of weeks 27, 33, and 39 and days 1 and 5 of weeks 30, 36, and 42; doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide as in pre-irradiation induction beginning on day 1 of weeks 27 and 33; doxorubicin IV over 15 minutes and dexrazoxane (DX) IV over 15 minutes on days 1 and 2 of week 39; cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1-3 of weeks 30, 36, 39, and 42; dactinomycin IV on days 1-5 of weeks 30, 36, and 42 and on day 1 of weeks 19 and 23; oral temozolomide on days 1-5 of weeks 19 and 23; and G-CSF SC daily beginning on day 6 of weeks 19, 23, 30, 36, and 42, day 5 of weeks 27 and 33, and day 4 of week 39 and continuing until blood counts recover.
  • Doxorubicin continuation therapy (for patients not receiving CSI and mediastinal radiotherapy)(weeks 45-51): Patients receive vincristine IV on day 1 of weeks 45, 48, and 51 and day 5 of week 48; doxorubicin IV over 15 minutes and DX IV over 15 minutes on days 1 and 2 of weeks 45 and 51; cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1-3 of weeks 45, 48, and 51; dactinomycin IV on days 1-5 of week 48; and G-CSF SC daily beginning on day 4 of weeks 45 and 51 and day 6 of week 48 and continuing until blood counts recover.
  • Non-doxorubicin continuation therapy (for patients receiving CSI or mediastinal radiotherapy)(weeks 45-51): Patients receive cyclophosphamide and G-CSF as in doxorubicin continuation therapy; vincristine IV on days 1 and 5 of weeks 45, 48, and 51; and dactinomycin IV on days 1-5 of weeks 45, 48, and 51.

Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Being tested
filgrastim, cisplatin, cyclophosphamide, cytarabine, dexrazoxane hydrochloride
Keywords
childhood atypical teratoid/rhabdoid tumor
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Rhabdoid Tumor

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • filgrastimBiological

    Also called filgrastim XM02, G-CSF

  • cisplatinDrug

    Also called CACP, cis-DDP, cis-diamminedichloro platinum (II), cis-diamminedichloroplatinum

  • cyclophosphamideDrug

    Also called Ciclofosfamida, Ciclofosfamide, Claphene, CP monohydrate

  • cytarabineDrug

    Also called arabinofuranosylcytosine, arabinosylcytosine, aracytidine, beta-cytosine arabinoside

  • dexrazoxane hydrochlorideDrug

    Also called Totect, Zinecard

  • doxorubicin hydrochlorideDrug

    Also called Adriamycin PFS, Adriamycin RDF

  • etoposideDrug

    Also called VP-16

  • leucovorin calciumDrug

    Also called folinate calcium, folinic acid

  • methotrexateDrug

  • temozolomideDrug

    Also called Temodar, Methazolastone, Temodal, TMZ, CCRG-81045

  • therapeutic hydrocortisoneDrug

  • vincristine sulfateDrug

    Also called leurocristine sulfate, Vincasar PFS

  • radiation therapyRadiation

  • DactinomycinDrug

    Also called ACT-D, actinomycin C1, actinomycin D, actinomycin I1

Study groups in NCT00084838
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Multi-agent Intrathecal and Systemic CT with RT (mod IRS III)ExperimentalPre-irradiation induction therapy (wks 1-6); Chemoradiation induction therapy (wks 7-12); Post-radiation induction therapy (wks 13-18); Maintenance therapy (wks 19-44); Continuation therapy (wks 45-51) Induction Chemotherapy: CT backbone of the IRS-III regimen [vincristine, dactinomycin, cyclophosphamide (specifically, in combination), cisplatin, doxorubicin, and imidazole carboximide (DTIC)] was modified to incl temozolomide in lieu of DTIC. Pts w/ M0 dz (and initially positive CSF cytology) rcvd intrathecal (IT) CT (alt btwn intralumbar and intraventricular routes) w/ methotrexate, cytarabine, and hydrocortisone, coinciding with a cycle of CT. Radiation Therapy: Pts w/ M0 dz OR M+ dz aged <3y received focal RT (3D conformal or intensity-modulated delivery). Pts >3y w/ M+ dz rcvd craniospinal irradiation. Continuation Therapy: Pts treated with either non-doxorubicin or doxorubicin dose therapy if receiving CSI or mediastinal radiotherapy or not, respectively.
Receives: Biological: filgrastim; Drug: cisplatin; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: cytarabine; Drug: dexrazoxane hydrochloride; Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride; Drug: etoposide; Drug: leucovorin calcium; Drug: methotrexate; Drug: temozolomide; Drug: therapeutic hydrocortisone; Drug: vincristine sulfate; Radiation: radiation therapy; Drug: Dactinomycin

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. 2-yr Overall Survival

    Overall survival is defined as the time from date of diagnosis to death or date of last follow-up. 2-year overall survival is the probability of patients remaining alive at 2-years from study entry estimated using Kaplan-Meier (KM) methods which censors patients at date of last follow-up. Precision of this conditional probability estimate was measured in terms of standard error. Median OS, the original primary endpoint, was not estimable based on the Kaplan-Meier method because of insufficient follow-up.

    Measured: Patients are followed for survival up to 5 yrs post-therapy completion or death; As of this analysis, median follow-up among survivors was 31 months with the longest follow-up being 40 months.

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Pre-Radiation Therapy Chemotherapeutic Response

    Response pre-RT/post-CT was defined as follows with overall response defined as achieving PR or CR.

    Complete Response (CR): Complete resolution of all initially demonstrable tumor on MRI or CT evaluation w/o appearance of any new areas of disease; negative CSF cytology. Partial Response (PR): >/= 50% decrease in the sum of the products of the maximum perpendicular diameters of the tumor (sum LD) relative to baseline w/o appearance of any new areas of disease; CSF cytology unchanged from that at diagnosis or clearing after being initially positive Stable Disease (SD): <50% decrease in the sum LD w/o appearance of any new areas of disease; CSF cytology unchanged from that at diagnosis or clearing after being initially positive Progressive Disease (PD): >/= 25% increase in the sum LD relative to baseline, or the appearance of any new areas of disease or appearance of positive cytology after two consecutive negative samples.

    Measured: Assessed at study entry and pre-RT/post-CT at week 7.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted11 Jun 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2003
  3. Primary completionFeb 2008
  4. Study completionMar 2013

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
25 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00084838
Sponsor's protocol ID
02-294 DFCI
Other IDs
P30CA006516
Status last verified
Dec 2015
First submitted
10 Jun 2004
Last updated
24 Dec 2015
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Chi SN, Zimmerman MA, Yao X, Cohen KJ, Burger P, Biegel JA, Rorke-Adams LB, Fisher MJ, Janss A, Mazewski C, Goldman S, Manley PE, Bowers DC, Bendel A, Rubin J, Turner CD, Marcus KJ, Goumnerova L, Ullrich NJ, Kieran MW. Intensive multimodality treatment for children with newly diagnosed CNS atypical teratoid rhabdoid tumor. J Clin Oncol. 2009 Jan 20;27(3):385-9. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2008.18.7724. Epub 2008 Dec 8.

    PubMed 19064966

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Central Nervous System Tumor, Pediatric, run by Dana-Farber Cancer Institute at 12 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Dec 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 12 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 24 Dec 2015). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

2-yr Overall Survival (time frame: Patients are followed for survival up to 5 yrs post-therapy completion or death; As of this analysis, median follow-up among survivors was 31 months with the longest follow-up being 40 months.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00084838, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Dec 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in