Head and Neck CancerPhase 2S0217NCT00084435
S0217, Adjuvant Cisplatin and Docetaxel After Complete Resection Stage III or IV Head and Neck Cancer
A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, docetaxel and radiation therapy in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 29 sites in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin and docetaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Cisplatin and docetaxel may make the tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Head and Neck Cancer
- What is being tested?
- cisplatin, docetaxel and radiation therapy
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 0 participants
- Where
- 29 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- Jul 2005to Jan 2007
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Diagnosis of squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck
- Selected stage III or IV (no distant metastasis) disease
- The following TNM stages are excluded:
- T3, N0, M0
- T4a, N0, M0
- T4b, N3, M0
- Any T, any N, M1
- Complete total resection within the past 56 days AND has one or more of the following risk factors:
- Multiple pathologically confirmed lymph node metastases
- One or more lymph nodes with extracapsular extension of tumor
- Microscopically positive margin(s) of resection, including mucosal margins and/or soft tissue or deep margins of resection
- No primary nasopharyngeal carcinoma
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- Zubrod 0-1
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
- Hemoglobin ≥ 8.0 g/dL
Hepatic
- Bilirubin ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- SGOT or SGPT ≤ 1.5 times ULN
- Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 times ULN
Renal
- Creatinine ≤ 1.5 mg/dL OR
- Creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min
Other
- No pre-existing peripheral neuropathy
- No known history of severe hypersensitiviy reaction to products containing Polysorbate 80
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or adequately treated stage I or II cancer currently in complete remission
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- No prior chemotherapy for the malignancy
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- No prior radiotherapy for the malignancy
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
Other
- No concurrent amifostine
Trial locations and contacts
29 sites in 1 country.
29 sites in 1 country
United States29 sites
AnMed Health Cancer Center
Anderson, South Carolina, 29621
University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0942
Adena Regional Medical Center
Chillicothe, Ohio, 45601
Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center
Cleveland, Ohio, 44195
Riverside Methodist Hospital Cancer Care
Columbus, Ohio, 43214-3998
CCOP - Columbus
Columbus, Ohio, 43215
Grant Riverside Cancer Services
Columbus, Ohio, 43215
Mount Carmel Health - West Hospital
Columbus, Ohio, 43222
Doctors Hospital at Ohio Health
Columbus, Ohio, 43228
Decatur Memorial Hospital Cancer Care Institute
Decatur, Illinois, 62526
Grady Memorial Hospital
Delaware, Ohio, 43015
Community Oncology Group at Cleveland Clinic Cancer Center
Independence, Ohio, 44131
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, Mississippi, 39216
Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute at the University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, Kansas, 66160-7357
Fairfield Medical Center
Lancaster, Ohio, 43130
USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital
Los Angeles, California, 90089-9181
Strecker Cancer Center at Marietta Memorial Hospital
Marietta, Ohio, 45750
Licking Memorial Cancer Care Program at Licking Memorial Hospital
Newark, Ohio, 43055
Rutherford Hospital
Rutherfordton, North Carolina, 28139
Feist-Weiller Cancer Center at Louisiana State University Health Sciences
Shreveport, Louisiana, 71130-3932
CCOP - Upstate Carolina
Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303
Gibbs Regional Cancer Center at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center
Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303
Regional Cancer Center at Memorial Medical Center
Springfield, Illinois, 62781-0001
Mercy Medical Center
Springfield, Ohio, 45504
Community Hospital of Springfield and Clark County
Springfield, Ohio, 45505
Saint Louis University Cancer Center
St Louis, Missouri, 63110
Mount Carmel Cancer Services at Mount Carmel St. Ann's Hospital
Westerville, Ohio, 43081
Cleveland Clinic - Wooster
Wooster, Ohio, 44691
Genesis - Good Samaritan Hospital
Zanesville, Ohio, 43701
About this study
Official title: Adjuvant Chemo-RT With Cisplatin (NSC-119875) and Docetaxel (NSC-628503) After Complete Resection of Locally Advanced (Stage III and IV) Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck (SCCHN)
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin and docetaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Cisplatin and docetaxel may make the tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. Giving chemoradiotherapy after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well adjuvant chemoradiotherapy using cisplatin and docetaxel works in treating patients with completely resected stage III or stage IV head and neck cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the disease-free survival and overall survival of patients with high-risk stage III or IV squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck treated with adjuvant chemoradiotherapy comprising docetaxel and cisplatin.
- Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
- Categorize the site(s) of disease relapse in patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, and 36 and cisplatin IV over 1.5 hours on days 1, 22, and 43. Patients undergo radiotherapy once daily on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-33, 36-40, and 43-45. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed every 3 months until disease progression and then every 6 months for up to 3 years from registration.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 70 patients will be accrued for this study within 17.5-23.5 months.
- Conditions
- Head and Neck Cancer
- Keywords
- stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, stage III salivary gland cancer, stage IV salivary gland cancer, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, salivary gland squamous cell carcinoma
- Medical subject headings
- Head and Neck Neoplasms, Salivary Gland Neoplasms, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
cisplatinDrug
Also called platinol
75 mg/m2 IV, Day 1, q 21 days for 3 cycles
docetaxelDrug
Also called taxotere
15 mg/m2 IV, Day 1, 1 7 days for 6 doses
radiation therapyRadiation
Also called RT
200 cGy/day, Days 1-5, q week for 6 weeks
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| chemoRT after surgery | Experimental | chemoRT with cisplatin and docetaxel after surgery Receives: Drug: cisplatin; Drug: docetaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Disease progression
Disease-free survival
Symptomatic deterioration
Toxicity
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted11 Jun 2004 (estimated)
- Study startJul 2005
- Primary completionJan 2007
- Study completionJan 2007
Why it stopped: Poor accrual and suspension of head and neck committee
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Head and Neck CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by SWOG Cancer Research NetworkThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 0 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- SWOG Cancer Research Network
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Prakash C. Neupane, MD, Principal investigator, St. Mary's Cancer Specialists at St. Mary's Health CenterHarold E. Kim, MD, Study chair, Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer InstituteStephen K. Williamson, MD, Study chair, University of KansasGeorge H. Yoo, MD, Study chair, Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00084435
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CDR0000365311
- Other IDs
- S0217, U10CA032102
- Acronym
- S0217
- Status last verified
- Jun 2012
- First submitted
- 10 Jun 2004
- Last updated
- 14 Jun 2012
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 14 Jun 2012. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Adjuvant Chemo-RT With Cisplatin (NSC-119875) and Docetaxel (NSC-628503) After Complete Resection of Locally Advanced (Stage III and IV) Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck (SCCHN)
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00084435
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- S0217 / CDR0000365311
- Conditions
- Head and Neck Cancer
- Keywords
- stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, stage III salivary gland cancer, stage IV salivary gland cancer, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- WithdrawnReason stopped: Poor accrual and suspension of head and neck committee
- Enrolment
- 0 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- SWOG Cancer Research NetworkResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Jul 2005
- Primary completion
- Jan 2007 (actual)
- Study completion
- Jan 2007 (actual)
- First posted
- 11 Jun 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin and docetaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Cisplatin and docetaxel may make the tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy. Giving chemoradiotherapy after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well adjuvant chemoradiotherapy using cisplatin and docetaxel works in treating patients with completely resected stage III or stage IV head and neck cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the disease-free survival and overall survival of patients with high-risk stage III or IV squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck treated with adjuvant chemoradiotherapy comprising docetaxel and cisplatin.
- Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
- Categorize the site(s) of disease relapse in patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, and 36 and cisplatin IV over 1.5 hours on days 1, 22, and 43. Patients undergo radiotherapy once daily on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-33, 36-40, and 43-45. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed every 3 months until disease progression and then every 6 months for up to 3 years from registration.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 70 patients will be accrued for this study within 17.5-23.5 months.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| chemoRT after surgery | Experimental | Drug: cisplatin, Drug: docetaxel, Radiation: radiation therapychemoRT with cisplatin and docetaxel after surgery |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| cisplatinAlso: platinol75 mg/m2 IV, Day 1, q 21 days for 3 cycles | Drug | chemoRT after surgery |
| docetaxelAlso: taxotere15 mg/m2 IV, Day 1, 1 7 days for 6 doses | Drug | chemoRT after surgery |
| radiation therapyAlso: RT200 cGy/day, Days 1-5, q week for 6 weeks | Radiation | chemoRT after surgery |
Primary outcome
Disease progression
Disease-free survival
Symptomatic deterioration
Toxicity
Results and safety
The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 14 Jun 2012.
Related trials for Head and Neck Cancer
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
Proton Re-irradiation in Patients With Recurrent or Second Primary Head and Neck Cancer , a Multicentre Phase II Single Arm Trial
Head & Neck Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2/3
Multicenter Validation Trial of [18F]AlF-FAPI-74 for PET Imaging of Cancer-associated Fibroblasts Through Fibroblast Activation Protein Inhibitors (FAPI) in Different Tumor Types
Oesophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
Proton Spatially Fractionated Radiotherapy or Photon Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy in Combination With Pembrolizumab Before Surgery for the Treatment of Locally Advanced and Radiation-Naive Locoregionally Recurrent Oral Cavity Cancer, OSPRI Trial
Locally Advanced Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Locally Recurrent Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 4
Lidocaine Infiltration and Neuroimmunomodulation in Head and Neck Cancer Surgery
Head and Neck Cancer (H&N)
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Prakash C. Neupane, MD principal investigator
St. Mary's Cancer Specialists at St. Mary's Health Center
Harold E. Kim, MD study chair
Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute
Stephen K. Williamson, MD study chair
University of Kansas
29 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, docetaxel and radiation therapy in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by SWOG Cancer Research Network at 29 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 14 Jun 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 29 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Disease progression. The study lists 4 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 14 Jun 2012.