Head and Neck CancerPhase 1NCT00079053
Adjuvant Erlotinib After Completing Chemoradiotherapy in Locally Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck
A Phase 1 study testing erlotinib hydrochloride and adjuvant therapy in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 2 sites in Canada.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Erlotinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. Giving erlotinib after chemoradiotherapy may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of adjuvant erlotinib when given after completing chemoradiotherapy in… Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Head and Neck Cancer
- What is being tested?
- erlotinib hydrochloride and adjuvant therapy
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 19 participants
- Where
- 2 sitesCanada
- Study dates
- 2 Mar 2004to 18 Jan 2011
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck
- Stage III, IVA, or IVB
- Must have completed cisplatin- or carboplatin-based chemoradiotherapy within the past 4-12 weeks
- Prior radiotherapy must have been given with a radical intent with receipt of at least 90% of planned dose
- No evidence of disease or presence of inoperable minimal residual disease, defined by 1 of the following:
- Complete response at primary tumor site and nodes (with or without nodal surgery after chemoradiotherapy)
- Negative lymph node status (by physical or radiological exam) AND persistent tumefaction less than 25% of original tumor size or residual mass due to scarring
- Tumor tissue samples available for EGFRvIII mutation analysis
- No known brain metastasis
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- ECOG 0-1
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic
- ALT/AST < 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- Bilirubin < ULN (unless due to Gilbert's syndrome)
Renal
- Creatinine < 1.5 times ULN
Cardiovascular
- No myocardial infarction within the past year
- No cardiac ventricular arrhythmias requiring medication
- No history of cardiac disease
- No uncontrolled high blood pressure
- No unstable angina
- No congestive heart failure
Ophthalmic
- No history of severe dry eye syndrome, Sjögren's syndrome, or keratoconjunctivitis sicca
- No severe exposure keratopathy
- No abnormal slit-lamp examination using a vital dye (e.g., fluorescein or Bengal-Rose)
- No abnormal corneal sensitivity test (Schirmer test or similar tear production test)
- No disorder that might increase the risk for epithelium-related complication (e.g., bullous keratopathy, aniridia, severe chemical burns, or neutrophilic keratitis)
- No congenital abnormality (e.g., Fuch's dystrophy)
- No ocular inflammation or infection
Gastrointestinal
- Able to take oral medication
- No gastrointestinal (GI) tract disease requiring IV alimentation
- No uncontrolled inflammatory GI disease (e.g., Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis)
- No active peptic ulcer disease
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- No serious active infection
- No other serious underlying medical condition that would preclude study participation
- No prior allergic reaction to compounds of similar chemical or biological composition to erlotinib
- No other malignancy with the past 5 years except adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer (unless in the same area treated with radical radiotherapy) or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- See Disease Characteristics
- Recovered from prior chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- See Disease Characteristics
- Recovered from prior radiotherapy
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
- No prior surgical procedure affecting absorption
- No concurrent ophthalmic surgery
Other
- More than 4 weeks since other prior investigational drugs
- No other concurrent investigational agents
- No other concurrent anticancer therapy
- Concurrent oral anticoagulants (e.g., warfarin) allowed provided there is increased vigilance with respect to INR
- Concurrent nasogastric or gastrostomy tube feeding for dysphagia allowed provided there is no evidence of significant residual mucositis (i.e., > grade 1)
Trial locations and contacts
2 sites in 1 country.
Canada2 sites
London Regional Cancer Program
London, N6A 4L6
CHUM - Hopital Notre-Dame
Montreal, H2L 4M1
About this study
Official title: A Phase I Study of Adjuvant OSI-774 (Tarceva®) in Patients Following Combined Chemo-Radiotherapy for Locally Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck
RATIONALE: Erlotinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. Giving erlotinib after chemoradiotherapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of adjuvant erlotinib when given after completing chemoradiotherapy in treating patients with locally advanced squamous cell carcinoma (cancer) of the head and neck.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the recommended dose of adjuvant erlotinib after the completion of chemoradiotherapy in patients with stage III, IVA, or IVB squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck.
- Determine the toxicity of this drug in these patients.
- Determine the effects of this drug on plasma and urinary angiogenic factors (specifically vascular endothelial growth factor receptor [VEGFR], VEGFR1, VEGFR2, and basic fibroblast growth factor levels) in these patients.
- Compare the disease-free survival of patients treated with this drug after chemoradiotherapy vs historical control patients treated with chemoradiotherapy alone.
- Correlate levels of angiogenic factors with initial blood vessel concentration in the tumor and the presence or absence of EGFRvIII mutation in patients treated with this drug.
OUTLINE: This is an open-label, dose-escalation, multicenter study.
Patients receive oral erlotinib once daily on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Cohorts of 6 patients receive escalating doses of erlotinib until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Once the MTD is determined, an additional 8 patients are treated at that dose level.
Patients are followed at 4 weeks, every 12 weeks for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-20 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Head and Neck Cancer
- Being tested
- erlotinib hydrochloride, adjuvant therapy
- Keywords
- stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, salivary gland squamous cell carcinoma, stage III salivary gland cancer, stage IV salivary gland cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Head and Neck Neoplasms, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck, Salivary Gland Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
erlotinib hydrochlorideDrug
adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Toxicity/feasibility assessed by NCI CTC v2.0 at the end of course 1
Recommended phase II dose at the end of course 1
Secondary outcomes (2)
Correlative studies (archival and prospective) at accrual completion
Disease-free survival
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted9 Mar 2004 (estimated)
- Study start2 Mar 2004
- Primary completion9 Dec 2008
- Study completion18 Jan 2011
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Head and Neck CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 19 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- NCIC Clinical Trials Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- Roche Pharma AG
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Denis Soulieres, MD, MSC, Study chair, CHUM - Hotel Dieu Hospital
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00079053
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- HN5
- Other IDs
- CAN-NCIC-HN5, ROCHE-CAN-NCIC-HN5, CDR0000353485
- Status last verified
- Apr 2020
- First submitted
- 8 Mar 2004
- Last updated
- 4 Aug 2023
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 4 Aug 2023. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase I Study of Adjuvant OSI-774 (Tarceva®) in Patients Following Combined Chemo-Radiotherapy for Locally Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00079053
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- HN5
- Conditions
- Head and Neck Cancer
- Keywords
- stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx
- Phase
- Phase 1
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 19 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- NCIC Clinical Trials GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- Roche Pharma AG
- Study start
- 2 Mar 2004 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 9 Dec 2008 (actual)
- Study completion
- 18 Jan 2011 (actual)
- First posted
- 9 Mar 2004 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Erlotinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. Giving erlotinib after chemoradiotherapy may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of adjuvant erlotinib when given after completing chemoradiotherapy in treating patients with locally advanced squamous cell carcinoma (cancer) of the head and neck.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the recommended dose of adjuvant erlotinib after the completion of chemoradiotherapy in patients with stage III, IVA, or IVB squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck.
- Determine the toxicity of this drug in these patients.
- Determine the effects of this drug on plasma and urinary angiogenic factors (specifically vascular endothelial growth factor receptor [VEGFR], VEGFR1, VEGFR2, and basic fibroblast growth factor levels) in these patients.
- Compare the disease-free survival of patients treated with this drug after chemoradiotherapy vs historical control patients treated with chemoradiotherapy alone.
- Correlate levels of angiogenic factors with initial blood vessel concentration in the tumor and the presence or absence of EGFRvIII mutation in patients treated with this drug.
OUTLINE: This is an open-label, dose-escalation, multicenter study.
Patients receive oral erlotinib once daily on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Cohorts of 6 patients receive escalating doses of erlotinib until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Once the MTD is determined, an additional 8 patients are treated at that dose level.
Patients are followed at 4 weeks, every 12 weeks for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-20 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| erlotinib hydrochloride | Drug | – |
| adjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
Toxicity/feasibility assessed by NCI CTC v2.0 at the end of course 1
Recommended phase II dose at the end of course 1
2 secondary outcomes
Correlative studies (archival and prospective) at accrual completion
Disease-free survival
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 4 Aug 2023.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for Head and Neck Cancer
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
Proton Re-irradiation in Patients With Recurrent or Second Primary Head and Neck Cancer , a Multicentre Phase II Single Arm Trial
Head & Neck Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2/3
Multicenter Validation Trial of [18F]AlF-FAPI-74 for PET Imaging of Cancer-associated Fibroblasts Through Fibroblast Activation Protein Inhibitors (FAPI) in Different Tumor Types
Oesophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
Proton Spatially Fractionated Radiotherapy or Photon Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy in Combination With Pembrolizumab Before Surgery for the Treatment of Locally Advanced and Radiation-Naive Locoregionally Recurrent Oral Cavity Cancer, OSPRI Trial
Locally Advanced Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Locally Recurrent Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 4
Lidocaine Infiltration and Neuroimmunomodulation in Head and Neck Cancer Surgery
Head and Neck Cancer (H&N)
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Denis Soulieres, MD, MSC study chair
CHUM - Hotel Dieu Hospital
2 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 1 study testing erlotinib hydrochloride and adjuvant therapy in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 2 sites in Canada.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 4 Aug 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 2 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Toxicity/feasibility assessed by NCI CTC v2.0 at the end of course 1. The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 4 Aug 2023.