AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 2NCT00078923

Soy Isoflavones in Treating Patients Who Are Undergoing Radical Prostatectomy for Stage I or Stage II Adenocarcinoma of the Prostate

A Phase 2 study testing soy isoflavones and neoadjuvant therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent or delay the development of early cancer. Soy isoflavones may be effective in delaying the development of early prostate cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
soy isoflavones and neoadjuvant therapy
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
32 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2001to May 2010
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Stage T1c or T2
  • Disease confined to the prostate gland
  • Planning to undergo radical prostatectomy within the next 3-4 weeks

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • ALT and AST less than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase less than 2 times ULN

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception
  • Medically cleared for surgery
  • No concurrent thyroid disease

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No prior biological therapy for prostate cancer
  • No concurrent biological agents

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for prostate cancer
  • No concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior hormonal therapy for prostate cancer
  • No concurrent thyroid hormone replacement medication
  • No concurrent hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • At least 3 months since prior high-dose nutritional supplements
  • No concurrent regular use (more than once weekly) of soy products greater than 50 g of soy protein or 50 mg of soy isoflavone
  • No concurrent high-dose nutritional supplements
  • Standard-dose single multivitamin tablet (e.g., Centrum™) allowed
  • No concurrent herbs
  • No concurrent soy foods
  • No other concurrent isoflavone supplements
  • No other concurrent antineoplastic agents

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

    Detroit, Michigan, 48201-1379

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Clinical Trial of Soy Isoflavones Prior to Radical Prostatectomy

RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent or delay the development of early cancer. Soy isoflavones may be effective in delaying the development of early prostate cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying different regimens of soy isoflavones to compare how well they work in treating patients who are undergoing radical prostatectomy for stage I or stage II prostate cancer (adenocarcinoma).

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare blood/prostate biomarkers of oxidative stress and prostate cancer risk in patients with stage I or II adenocarcinoma of the prostate treated with 3 different dose levels of soy isoflavones before radical prostatectomy.
  • Compare prostatic tissue biomarkers of proliferation and apoptosis in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Determine the potential response, in terms of tumor and prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia grade and volume, extraprostatic extension, and serum prostate-specific antigen level, in patients treated with soy isoflavones and in those treated with placebo.
  • Determine the safety of soy isoflavone supplementation in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study. Patients are stratified according to tumor stage (T1c vs T2). Patients are randomized to 1 of 4 treatment arms.

  • Arm I (control group): Patients receive oral placebo once daily.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral soy isoflavones and oral placebo once daily.
  • Arm III: Patients receive a higher dose of oral soy isoflavones and oral placebo once daily.
  • Arm IV: Patients receive a higher dose (higher than arm III) of oral soy isoflavones once daily.

In all arms, treatment continues for 2-6 weeks (depending on the time from study entry to planned surgery) in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. All patients then undergo radical prostatectomy.

Patients are followed at 1 week.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 100 patients (25 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 12.5 months.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
soy isoflavones, neoadjuvant therapy, Placebo
Keywords
stage I prostate cancer, stage II prostate cancer, adenocarcinoma of the prostate
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • soy isoflavonesDietary supplement

  • neoadjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

    Prostatectomy or Brachytherapy

  • PlaceboOther

    Arm I: 4 placebo capsules Arm II: 3 placebo capsules Arm III: 2 placebo capsules

Study groups in NCT00078923
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
PlaceboExperimentalArm I (control group): Patients receive 4 placebo capsules by mouth daily for three weeks.
Receives: Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Other: Placebo
Soy isoflavones and placeboExperimentalArm II: Patients receive oral soy isoflavones (PTI G-2535) 150 mg genistein capsules + 3 placebo capsules by mouth daily for 3 weeks.
Receives: Dietary Supplement: soy isoflavones; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Other: Placebo
Soy Isoflavones/PlaceboExperimentalArm III: Patients receive oral soy isoflavones (PTI G-2535) 300 mg genistein capsules + 2 placebo capsules by mouth daily for 3 weeks.
Receives: Dietary Supplement: soy isoflavones; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Other: Placebo
Soy IsoflavonesExperimentalArm IV: Arm III: Patients receive oral soy isoflavones (PTI G-2535) 600 mg genistein capsules by mouth daily for 3 weeks.
Receives: Dietary Supplement: soy isoflavones

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Oxidative DNA damage as measured by 5-hydroxymethyluridine level

    Measured: at 3 weeks

  2. Lipid oxidation as measured by 8-isoprostane level

    Measured: at 3 weeks

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Tumor size, grade, and extension

    Measured: at 3 weeks

  2. Prostate-specific antigen and prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia grade

    Measured: at 3 weeks

  3. Biomarkers of cell growth, differentiation, and apoptosis

    Measured: at 3 weeks

  4. Toxicity as measured by number and grade of adverse events

    Measured: at 3 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted9 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2001
  3. Primary completionMay 2010
  4. Study completionMay 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
32 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00078923
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000353197
Other IDs
P30CA022453, WSU-C-2418
Status last verified
Mar 2014
First submitted
8 Mar 2004
Last updated
5 Mar 2014
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing soy isoflavones and neoadjuvant therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Mar 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Oxidative DNA damage as measured by 5-hydroxymethyluridine level (time frame: at 3 weeks). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Mar 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in