AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00072319

Neoadjuvant or Adjuvant Epirubicin, Cyclophosphamide, and Paclitaxel in Treating Women With Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and epirubicin hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as epirubicin, cyclophosphamide, and paclitaxel, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and epirubicin hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2003to Nov 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast
  • Stage I, II, or III
  • Inflammatory breast cancer allowed
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • SGOT/SGPT no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) AND alkaline phosphatase no greater than ULN OR
  • SGOT/SGPT no greater than ULN AND alkaline phosphatase no greater than 4 times ULN

Renal

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular

  • LVEF at least lower limit of normal by MUGA or echocardiogram
  • No unstable angina
  • No congestive heart failure
  • No arrhythmia requiring medical therapy
  • No myocardial infarction within the past year

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No prior allergy/hypersensitivity to any of the study drugs or other drugs formulated with Cremophor EL
  • No psychiatric illness that would preclude understanding of the nature of the study or study compliance
  • No active unresolved infection
  • No peripheral neuropathy greater than grade 1
  • No other nonmammary malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated nonmelanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No concurrent medical condition that would preclude study participation in the judgment of the investigator

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • More than 12 months since prior immunotherapy for prior breast cancer
  • No prior or concurrent biologic therapy or immunotherapy for this breast cancer

Chemotherapy

  • More than 12 months since prior chemotherapy for prior breast cancer
  • No prior anthracycline (i.e., doxorubicin or epirubicin) and taxane therapy
  • No prior or other concurrent chemotherapy for this breast cancer

Endocrine therapy

  • No concurrent hormonal therapy for chemoprevention
  • Prior hormonal therapy for chemoprevention allowed
  • No concurrent sex hormonal therapy (e.g., birth control pills or ovarian hormonal replacement therapy)

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy
  • No other concurrent radiotherapy for this breast cancer

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No concurrent digitalis, beta-blockers, or calcium channel blockers for congestive heart failure

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Pilot Study of Epirubicin and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel at 10-11 Days Interval for Women With Early Breast Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as epirubicin, cyclophosphamide, and paclitaxel, use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. Giving chemotherapy drugs after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Pilot trial to study the effectiveness of neoadjuvant or adjuvant epirubicin, cyclophosphamide, and paclitaxel in treating women who have stage I, stage II, or stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the feasibility and safety of neoadjuvant or adjuvant epirubicin, cyclophosphamide, and paclitaxel, in terms of the absence of any grade 3 or higher toxicity (aside from alopecia), in women with high-risk stage I-III breast cancer.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot study.

  • Neoadjuvant or adjuvant EC therapy: Patients receive epirubicin IV over 3-5 minutes and cyclophosphamide IV (EC) on day 1 and filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously on days 2-9 or 10. Treatment repeats every 10-11 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Neoadjuvant or adjuvant paclitaxel therapy: After the completion of EC therapy, patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours on day 1. Patients also receive G-CSF as in EC therapy. Treatment repeats every 10-11 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients who have not had prior surgery undergo definitive surgery after the completion of chemotherapy. Patients also may receive adjuvant radiotherapy and/or hormonal therapy at the discretion of the treating physician.

Patients are followed every 4 months for 3 years and then every 6 months for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 11-38 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
filgrastim, cyclophosphamide, epirubicin hydrochloride, paclitaxel, adjuvant therapy
Keywords
stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, inflammatory breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Inflammatory Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Nov 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2003
  3. Primary completionNov 2006
  4. Study completionNov 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00072319
Sponsor's protocol ID
03-092
Other IDs
P30CA008748, MSKCC-03092
Status last verified
Mar 2013
First submitted
4 Nov 2003
Last updated
4 Mar 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and epirubicin hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 4 Mar 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 4 Mar 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in