AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 1NCT00070083

Oblimersen, Rituximab, Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin, Vincristine, and Prednisone in Treating Patients With Stage II, Stage III, or Stage IV Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma

A Phase 1 study testing oblimersen sodium, rituximab and cyclophosphamide in people with Lymphoma, run by British Columbia Cancer Agency at 4 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone, use different ways to stop cancer cells from… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 19 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
oblimersen sodium, rituximab and cyclophosphamide
How many people
Not given
Where
4 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Jul 2003to not given
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 19 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed* CD20+ diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, including any of the following stages:
  • Extensive stage II (not radio-encompassable within a single involved field or not a candidate for brief chemotherapy and radiotherapy)
  • Bulky stage II (any single mass greater than 10 cm)
  • Stage III
  • Stage IV NOTE: *Confirmed by tissue biopsy
  • Previously untreated disease
  • Measurable disease
  • At least 2 cm by imaging studies
  • Circulating lymphoma cells no greater than 5,000/mm^3
  • No history of other lymphoproliferative disorder
  • No history of indolent lymphoma
  • No T-cell lymphoma
  • No CNS involvement
  • No post-transplantation lymphoproliferative disorder

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 19 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3 (unless due to bone marrow involvement with lymphoma)
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3 (unless due to splenomegaly or bone marrow involvement with lymphoma)

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 3 mg/dL (unless due to lymphoma)
  • No known hepatitis B virus

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 2 mg/dL (unless due to lymphoma)

Cardiovascular

  • No cardiac contraindication to doxorubicin therapy (e.g., abnormal contractility on echocardiography)
  • History of cardiac disease allowed provided ejection fraction is normal

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Adequate venous access
  • HIV negative
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated nonmelanoma skin cancer, localized basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, or curatively treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No neurological contraindication to vincristine (e.g., peripheral neuropathy)
  • No active systemic infection
  • No medical condition that would compromise study treatment, add toxicity, or impair assessment

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior systemic chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy
  • Prior radiotherapy for localized basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer used with curative intent allowed

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 2 countries.

4 sites in 2 countries

Canada3 sites
  • British Columbia Cancer Agency - Centre for the Southern Interior

    Kelowna, British Columbia, V1Y 5L3

  • Fraser Valley Cancer Centre at British Columbia Cancer Agency

    Surrey, British Columbia, V3V 1Z2

  • British Columbia Cancer Agency - Vancouver Cancer Centre

    Vancouver, British Columbia, V5Z 4E6

Other trials in Canada

United States1 site
  • Stanford Cancer Center at Stanford University Medical Center

    Stanford, California, 94305

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Study Of G3139 Antisense Oligonucleotide (Oblimersen) In Combination With CHOP And Rituximab In Untreated Advanced Stage Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies, such as rituximab, can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone, use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Oblimersen may increase the effectiveness of a chemotherapy drug by making cancer cells more sensitive to the drug. Combining oblimersen with rituximab and combination chemotherapy may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of oblimersen when given together with rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone in treating patients with stage II, stage III, or stage IV large B-cell lymphoma

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the feasibility and safety of oblimersen administered in combination with rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone, in terms of short-term and long-term toxicity, in patients with previously untreated stage III or IV or extensive or bulky stage II diffuse large B-cell lymphoma.
  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of oblimersen administered with this regimen in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine the remission rate and failure-free, progression-free, and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized, non-blinded, multicenter, dose-escalation study of oblimersen.

Patients receive CHOP-R* therapy comprising cyclophosphamide IV over 15-45 minutes, doxorubicin IV over 5-10 minutes, vincristine IV, and rituximab IV over 30-90 minutes on day 1 and oral prednisone on days 1-5. Patients also receive oblimersen IV continuously on days -4 to 3. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6-8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who discontinue treatment due to unacceptable toxicity to oblimersen may continue to receive standard therapy comprising CHOP-R.

NOTE: *Patients treated at the British Columbia Cancer Agency receive cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and rituximab on days 1 and 2 and prednisone as above.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of oblimersen until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Once the MTD is determined, at least 10 patients are treated at that dose level.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 4 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 19-28 patients will be accrued for this study within 5-10 months.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Keywords
contiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage III adult diffuse large cell lymphoma, stage IV adult diffuse large cell lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma, Lymphoma, Large B-Cell, Diffuse

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Oct 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00070083
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000329985
Other IDs
BCCA-NCI-5818, NCI-5818
Status last verified
Jun 2005
First submitted
3 Oct 2003
Last updated
7 Apr 2009
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing oblimersen sodium, rituximab and cyclophosphamide in people with Lymphoma, run by British Columbia Cancer Agency at 4 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Apr 2009. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in Canada, United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Apr 2009.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in