AzTrials
AzTrials

Non-melanomatous Skin CancerPhase 3NCT00066872

Topical Imiquimod Compared With Surgery in Treating Patients With Basal Cell Skin Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing imiquimod and conventional surgery in people with Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer, run by Queen's Medical Center at 3 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Biological therapies such as imiquimod use different ways to stimulate the immune system and stop cancer cells from growing. It is not yet known if topical imiquimod is more effective than surgery in treating basal cell skin cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer
What is being tested?
imiquimod and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
500 participants
Where
3 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Oct 2002to Apr 2010
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed primary basal cell skin carcinoma
  • Nodular or superficial lesion(s)*
  • Located in low-risk areas NOTE: *Any number of lesions are allowed but only 1 lesion per patient is selected for the study
  • No genetic or nevoid conditions (e.g., Gorlin's syndrome)
  • No morphoeic (microinfiltrative) histology

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Any age

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • No bleeding disorder

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for up to 1 month after study participation
  • No allergy to any of the study interventions
  • No life-threatening disease
  • Must be available for study follow-up for up to 3 years
  • Must have access to a telephone

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No concurrent participation in any other experimental trial

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United Kingdom3 sites
  • Chesterfield Royal Hospital

    Chesterfield, England, S44 5BL

  • Queen's Medical Centre

    Nottingham, England, NG7 2UH

  • Solihull Hospital

    Solihull, England, B91 2JL

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Controlled Trial of Excisional Surgery Versus Imiquimod 5% Cream for Nodular and Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Biological therapies such as imiquimod use different ways to stimulate the immune system and stop cancer cells from growing. It is not yet known if topical imiquimod is more effective than surgery in treating basal cell skin cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying how well topical imiquimod works compared to surgery in treating patients with basal cell skin cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the rate of local recurrence at 3 years in patients with nodular or superficial basal cell skin cancer treated with imiquimod 5% cream vs excisional surgery.
  • Compare recurrence at 6 months and 1, 2, and 5 years in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the time to first recurrence in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the aesthetic appearance of lesion sites in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare pain in patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center and lesion type (nodular vs superficial). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive topical imiquimod to a single lesion once daily for 6 weeks for a superficial lesion or 12 weeks for a nodular lesion. Patients with early treatment failure or recurrence are offered surgical excision.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo surgical excision. Patients are followed at 6, 12, and 18 weeks, every 6 months for 1 year, annually for 2 years, and then at 5 years.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 500 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

Being tested
imiquimod, conventional surgery
Keywords
basal cell carcinoma of the skin
Medical subject headings
Carcinoma, Basal Cell

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Absence of local recurrence at 3 years after start of treatment

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Recurrence of basal cell cancer (BCC) at 1, 2, and 5 years

  2. Time to first occurrence up to 5 years from completion of study treatment

  3. Aesthetic appearance of lesion site as measured by participant and blind observer using 5-point Likert scale at 6 months, and then years 1-3

  4. Pain at lesion site as measured by 6-point scale daily during treatment, and then 16 weeks after the completion of study treatment

  5. Cost effectiveness assessed up to 3 or 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Aug 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2002
  3. Study completionApr 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
500 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00066872
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000320513
Other IDs
CRUK-LON-SINS-C7484/A2869, EU-20205
Status last verified
Sep 2009
First submitted
6 Aug 2003
Last updated
17 Sep 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Ozolins M, Williams HC, Armstrong SJ, Bath-Hextall FJ. The SINS trial: a randomised controlled trial of excisional surgery versus imiquimod 5% cream for nodular and superficial basal cell carcinoma. Trials. 2010 Apr 21;11:42. doi: 10.1186/1745-6215-11-42.

    PubMed 20409337
  • Williams HC, Bath-Hextall F, Ozolins M, Armstrong SJ, Colver GB, Perkins W, Miller PSJ; Surgery Versus Imiquimod for Nodular and Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma (SINS) Study Group. Surgery Versus 5% Imiquimod for Nodular and Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma: 5-Year Results of the SINS Randomized Controlled Trial. J Invest Dermatol. 2017 Mar;137(3):614-619. doi: 10.1016/j.jid.2016.10.019. Epub 2016 Dec 5.

    PubMed 27932240
  • Bath-Hextall F, Ozolins M, Armstrong SJ, Colver GB, Perkins W, Miller PS, Williams HC; Surgery versus Imiquimod for Nodular Superficial basal cell carcinoma (SINS) study group. Surgical excision versus imiquimod 5% cream for nodular and superficial basal-cell carcinoma (SINS): a multicentre, non-inferiority, randomised controlled trial. Lancet Oncol. 2014 Jan;15(1):96-105. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(13)70530-8. Epub 2013 Dec 11.

    PubMed 24332516

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing imiquimod and conventional surgery in people with Non-melanomatous Skin Cancer, run by Queen's Medical Center at 3 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Sep 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Absence of local recurrence at 3 years after start of treatment. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00066872, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Sep 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in