Lymphoproliferative DisorderPhase 2NCT00066469
Cyclophosphamide, Rituximab, and Either Prednisone or Methylprednisolone in Treating Patients With Lymphoproliferative Disease After Solid Organ Transplantation
A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, cyclophosphamide and methylprednisolone in people with Lymphoproliferative Disorder, run by Children's Oncology Group at 78 sites in 4 countries.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as cyclophosphamide, prednisone, and methylprednisolone use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages Up to 30 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Lymphoproliferative Disorder
- What is being tested?
- rituximab, cyclophosphamide and methylprednisolone
- Type of treatment
- Pill or oral medicine, Injection or infusion
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 55 participants
- Where
- 78 sitesin 4 countries
- Study dates
- Apr 2004to 31 Dec 2013
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Up to 30 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (PTLD)
- Presents with 1 of the following:
- Fulminant PTLD (F-PTLD)
- Fever greater than 38°C
- Hypotensive (for age)
- Evidence of multiple organ involvement/failure, including at least 2 of the following:
- Marrow (including pancytopenia without detectable B-cell proliferation)
- Liver (coagulopathy, transaminitis, and/or hyperbilirubinemia)
- Lungs (interstitial pneumonitis with or without pleural effusions)
- Gastrointestinal tract hemorrhage
- Non-fulminant PTLD (NF-PTLD)
- Does not meet the above F-PTLD criteria
- Considered medically refractory to reduced immune suppression (50% or more reduction of immunosuppression) for at least 1 week
- CD20 positive AND Epstein-Barr virus positive
- Must have received prior solid organ transplantation
- Must have residual disease after biopsy and/or surgery
- No PTLD central nervous system (CNS) disease, defined as positive cytology and/or radiographic evidence
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- Under 31
Performance status
- Not specified
Life expectancy
- NF-PTLD patients:
- At least 8 weeks
Hematopoietic
- See Disease Characteristics
Hepatic
- See Disease Characteristics
Renal
- Not specified
Pulmonary
- See Disease Characteristics
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- HIV negative
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- More than 1 month since prior rituximab
Chemotherapy
- More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy and recovered
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- Not specified
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
Trial locations and contacts
78 sites in 4 countries.
78 sites in 4 countries
United States66 sites
Akron Children's Hospital
Akron, Ohio, 44308-1062
Tulane Cancer Center Office of Clinical Research
Alexandria, Louisiana, 71315-3198
C.S. Mott Children's Hospital at University of Michigan Medical Center
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109-0286
Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University
Atlanta, Georgia, 30322
Children's Hospital Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders
Aurora, Colorado, 80045
Lurleen Wallace Comprehensive Cancer at University of Alabama - Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama, 35294
Fletcher Allen Health Care - University Health Center Campus
Burlington, Vermont, 05401
Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599-7295
West Virginia University Health Sciences Center - Charleston
Charleston, West Virginia, 25302
Blumenthal Cancer Center at Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, North Carolina, 28232-2861
University of Illinois Cancer Center
Chicago, Illinois, 60612-7243
Children's Memorial Hospital - Chicago
Chicago, Illinois, 60614
University of Chicago Cancer Research Center
Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati, Ohio, 45229-3039
Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital
Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5000
Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center
Cleveland, Ohio, 44195
Ellis Fischel Cancer Center at University of Missouri - Columbia
Columbia, Missouri, 65203
Nationwide Children's Hospital
Columbus, Ohio, 43205-2696
Driscoll Children's Hospital
Corpus Christi, Texas, 78411
Medical City Dallas Hospital
Dallas, Texas, 75230
Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute
Detroit, Michigan, 48201-1379
Southern California Permanente Medical Group
Downey, California, 90242-2814
Inova Fairfax Hospital
Falls Church, Virginia, 22042-3300
Lee Cancer Care of Lee Memorial Health System
Fort Myers, Florida, 33901
University of Florida Shands Cancer Center
Gainesville, Florida, 32610-0232
Butterworth Hospital at Spectrum Health
Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49503-2560
Hackensack University Medical Center Cancer Center
Hackensack, New Jersey, 07601
Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center
Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202-5289
University of Mississippi Cancer Clinic
Jackson, Mississippi, 39216-4505
Nemours Children's Clinic
Jacksonville, Florida, 32207
CCOP - Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007-5341
Children's Mercy Hospital
Kansas City, Missouri, 64108
East Tennessee Children's Hospital
Knoxville, Tennessee, 37901
Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89109-2306
Arkansas Cancer Research Center at University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, Arkansas, 72205
Loma Linda University Cancer Institute at Loma Linda University Medical Center
Loma Linda, California, 92354
Kosair Children's Hospital
Louisville, Kentucky, 40232
Marshfield Clinic - Marshfield Center
Marshfield, Wisconsin, 54449
University of Miami Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center - Miami
Miami, Florida, 33136
Masonic Cancer Center at University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55455
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-6838
Mount Sinai Medical Center
New York, New York, 10029
Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University Medical Center
New York, New York, 10032
Children's Hospital of The King's Daughters
Norfolk, Virginia, 23507-1971
Oklahoma University Cancer Institute
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73104
UNMC Eppley Cancer Center at the University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska, 68198-6805
Sacred Heart Cancer Center at Sacred Heart Hospital
Pensacola, Florida, 32504
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-9786
Phoenix Children's Hospital
Phoenix, Arizona, 85016-7710
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213
Legacy Emanuel Hospital and Health Center and Children's Hospital
Portland, Oregon, 97227
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Rochester, Minnesota, 55905
James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, New York, 14642
Kaiser Permanente Medical Center - Oakland
Sacramento, California, 95825
Primary Children's Medical Center
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84113-1100
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas, 78207
Methodist Children's Hospital of South Texas
San Antonio, Texas, 78229-3993
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, California, 94115
Children's Hospital and Regional Medical Center - Seattle
Seattle, Washington, 98105
Simmons Cooper Cancer Institute
Springfield, Illinois, 62794-9677
Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital - Saint Louis
St Louis, Missouri, 63110
All Children's Hospital
St. Petersburg, Florida, 33701
Stanford Cancer Center
Stanford, California, 94305-5824
SUNY Upstate Medical University Hospital
Syracuse, New York, 13210
New York Medical College
Valhalla, New York, 10595
Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children
Wilmington, Delaware, 19803
Canada7 sites
University of Alberta Hospital
Edmonton, Alberta, T6G 1Z2
IWK Health Centre
Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3K 6R8
Montreal Children's Hospital at McGill University Health Center
Montreal, Quebec, H3H 1P3
Hopital Sainte Justine
Montreal, Quebec, H3T 1C5
Hospital for Sick Children
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1X8
Children's & Women's Hospital of British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia, V6H 3V4
CancerCare Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3E 0V9
Australia3 sites
Royal Children's Hospital
Brisbane, Queensland, 4029
Princess Margaret Hospital for Children
Perth, Western Australia, 6001
Westmead Institute for Cancer Research at Westmead Hospital
Westmead, New South Wales, 2145
New Zealand2 sites
Starship Children's Health
Auckland, 1
Christchurch Hospital
Christchurch
About this study
Official title: Phase II Study of Cyclophosphamide, Prednisone and Rituximab (CPR) in Children, Adolescents and Young Adults With B-lymphocyte Antigen CD20 (CD20) Positive Post-Transplant Lymphoproliferative Disease (PTLD) Following Solid Organ Transplantation (SOT)
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as cyclophosphamide, prednisone, and methylprednisolone use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Combining cyclophosphamide and either prednisone or methylprednisolone with rituximab may be effective in treating lymphoproliferative disease following organ transplantation.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining cyclophosphamide and either prednisone or methylprednisolone with rituximab in treating patients who have Epstein-Barr virus-positive lymphoproliferative disease following organ transplantation.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the safety and toxicity of cyclophosphamide, rituximab, and prednisone or methylprednisolone in patients with CD20-positive and Epstein-Barr virus-positive post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (PTLD) after solid organ transplantation.
- Determine the 2-year event-free survival, defined as alive and in continuous complete remission with a functioning original allograft, of patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the response rate in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the PTLD gene expression profile by microarray analysis and fluorescent in situ hybridization in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the accrual rate of patients to this study.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1 and oral prednisone or methylprednisolone IV twice daily on days 1-5. During courses 1 and 2 only, patients also receive rituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression, a new primary or secondary malignancy, or unrelated disease.
After finishing study treatment, patients are followed periodically for at least 5 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 60 patients (50 with non-fulminant post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease [PTLD] and 10 fulminant PTLD) will be accrued for this study within 2.5-3 years.
- Conditions
- Lymphoproliferative Disorder
- Being tested
- rituximab, cyclophosphamide, methylprednisolone, prednisone
- Keywords
- post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder
- Medical subject headings
- Lymphoproliferative Disorders
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
rituximabBiological
Also called IDEC-C2B8, NSC #687451
Cycles 1 and 2 only: Given IV Incremental: First dosage: < 21 years of age: 0.5mg/kg/hr (maximum of 50 mg/hr) for the 1st hour ≥ 21 years of age: 50 mg/hr for the 1st hour. Subsequent dosages: < 21 years of age: 1.0mg/kg/hr (maximum of 50 mg/hr) for the 1st hour ≥ 21 years of age: 100 mg/hr for the 1st hour. Days 1, 8 and 15.
cyclophosphamideDrug
Also called Cytoxan, NSC #26271
Given IV over 30-60 minutes Dose 600 mg/m2 in 50-250 mL of normal saline (NS) or Dextrose-Water 5%(D5W) (at a maximum concentration of 20 mg/ml) over 30-60 minutes on day 1 of each cycle
Also called Deltaone, Meticorten, Orasone, Liquid Pred
Methylprednisolone 0.8 mg/kg IV over 12 hours on days 1,2,3,4 and 5 of each cycle.
prednisoneDrug
Also called Deltaone, Meticorten, Orasone, Liquid Pred
Dosage 1 mg/kg orally every 12 hours on days 1,2,3,4 and 5 of each cycle. Oral prednisone may be rounded up to the nearest 2.5 mg as necessary for tablet size
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| Cyclophosphamide, prednisone, rituximab | Experimental | Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1 and oral prednisone or methylprednisolone IV twice daily on days 1-5. During courses 1 and 2 only, patients also receive rituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression, a new primary or secondary malignancy, or unrelated disease Receives: Biological: rituximab; Drug: cyclophosphamide; Drug: methylprednisolone; Drug: prednisone |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Event-free Survival
Alive in continuous complete remission with functioning original allograft. The Event Free Survival (EFS) will be estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method.
Measured: 2 years
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted7 Aug 2003 (estimated)
- Study startApr 2004
- Primary completion1 Oct 2009
- Study completion31 Dec 2013
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Lymphoproliferative DisorderStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by Children's Oncology GroupThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 55 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Children's Oncology Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Thomas G. Gross, MD, PhD, Study chair, Nationwide Children's Hospital
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00066469
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- ANHL0221
- Other IDs
- CDR0000316241, COG-ANHL0221, NCI-2012-02544, U10CA098543
- Status last verified
- Sep 2016
- First submitted
- 6 Aug 2003
- Last updated
- 6 Aug 2019
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Publications
Gross TG, Orjuela MA, Perkins SL, Park JR, Lynch JC, Cairo MS, Smith LM, Hayashi RJ. Low-dose chemotherapy and rituximab for posttransplant lymphoproliferative disease (PTLD): a Children's Oncology Group Report. Am J Transplant. 2012 Nov;12(11):3069-75. doi: 10.1111/j.1600-6143.2012.04206.x. Epub 2012 Aug 6.
PubMed 22883417
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 6 Aug 2019. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Phase II Study of Cyclophosphamide, Prednisone and Rituximab (CPR) in Children, Adolescents and Young Adults With B-lymphocyte Antigen CD20 (CD20) Positive Post-Transplant Lymphoproliferative Disease (PTLD) Following Solid Organ Transplantation (SOT)
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00066469
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- ANHL0221
- Conditions
- Lymphoproliferative Disorder
- Keywords
- post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorder
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 55 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Children's Oncology GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Apr 2004
- Primary completion
- 1 Oct 2009 (actual)
- Study completion
- 31 Dec 2013 (actual)
- First posted
- 7 Aug 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 17 Jan 2014
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as cyclophosphamide, prednisone, and methylprednisolone use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate cancer cells and either kill them or deliver cancer-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Combining cyclophosphamide and either prednisone or methylprednisolone with rituximab may be effective in treating lymphoproliferative disease following organ transplantation.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining cyclophosphamide and either prednisone or methylprednisolone with rituximab in treating patients who have Epstein-Barr virus-positive lymphoproliferative disease following organ transplantation.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the safety and toxicity of cyclophosphamide, rituximab, and prednisone or methylprednisolone in patients with CD20-positive and Epstein-Barr virus-positive post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease (PTLD) after solid organ transplantation.
- Determine the 2-year event-free survival, defined as alive and in continuous complete remission with a functioning original allograft, of patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the response rate in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the PTLD gene expression profile by microarray analysis and fluorescent in situ hybridization in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the accrual rate of patients to this study.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1 and oral prednisone or methylprednisolone IV twice daily on days 1-5. During courses 1 and 2 only, patients also receive rituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression, a new primary or secondary malignancy, or unrelated disease.
After finishing study treatment, patients are followed periodically for at least 5 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 60 patients (50 with non-fulminant post-transplant lymphoproliferative disease [PTLD] and 10 fulminant PTLD) will be accrued for this study within 2.5-3 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| Cyclophosphamide, prednisone, rituximab | Experimental | Biological: rituximab, Drug: cyclophosphamide, Drug: methylprednisolone, Drug: prednisonePatients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1 and oral prednisone or methylprednisolone IV twice daily on days 1-5. During courses 1 and 2 only, patients also receive rituximab IV over 2-5 hours on days 1, 8, and 15. Treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression, a new primary or secondary malignancy, or unrelated disease |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- Up to 30 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| rituximabAlso: IDEC-C2B8, NSC #687451Cycles 1 and 2 only: Given IV Incremental: First dosage: < 21 years of age: 0.5mg/kg/hr (maximum of 50 mg/hr) for the 1st hour ≥ 21 years of age: 50 mg/hr for the 1st hour. Subsequent dosages: < 21 years of age: 1.0mg/kg/hr (maximum of 50 mg/hr) for the 1st hour ≥ 21 years of age: 100 mg/hr for the 1st hour. Days 1, 8 and 15. | Biological | Cyclophosphamide, prednisone, rituximab |
| cyclophosphamideAlso: Cytoxan, NSC #26271Given IV over 30-60 minutes Dose 600 mg/m2 in 50-250 mL of normal saline (NS) or Dextrose-Water 5%(D5W) (at a maximum concentration of 20 mg/ml) over 30-60 minutes on day 1 of each cycle | Drug | Cyclophosphamide, prednisone, rituximab |
| methylprednisoloneAlso: Deltaone, Meticorten, Orasone, Liquid PredMethylprednisolone 0.8 mg/kg IV over 12 hours on days 1,2,3,4 and 5 of each cycle. | Drug | Cyclophosphamide, prednisone, rituximab |
| prednisoneAlso: Deltaone, Meticorten, Orasone, Liquid PredDosage 1 mg/kg orally every 12 hours on days 1,2,3,4 and 5 of each cycle. Oral prednisone may be rounded up to the nearest 2.5 mg as necessary for tablet size | Drug | Cyclophosphamide, prednisone, rituximab |
Primary outcome
Event-free Survival
Time frame: 2 years
Alive in continuous complete remission with functioning original allograft. The Event Free Survival (EFS) will be estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method.
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 6 Aug 2019.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Results publication: PubMed 22883417Gross TG, Orjuela MA, Perkins SL, Park JR, Lynch JC, Cairo MS, Smith LM, Hayashi RJ. Low-dose chemotherapy and rituximab for posttransplant lymphoproliferative disease (PTLD): a Children's Oncology Group Report. Am J Transplant. 2012 Nov;12(11):3069-75. doi: 10.1111/j.1600-6143.2012.04206.x. Epub 2012 Aug 6.
Related trials for Lymphoproliferative Disorder
RecruitingPhase 2
Tafasitamab With Acalabrutinib and Venetoclax for the Treatment of Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia, Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia/Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
Study of YKST02 in Adults With Relapsed or Refractory Multiple Myeloma
Relapsed or Refractory Multiple Myeloma (RRMM)
RecruitingPhase 2
Engaging T-cells to Eliminate MRD in Newly Diagnosed Myeloma Optimizing Response With Talquetmab and Teclistamab (ROTATE)
Multiple Myeloma
Active, not recruitingPhase 3
A Phase III Study of Eque-cel in Subjects With Len-refractory RRMM (FUMANBA-03)
Multiple Myeloma
Active, not recruitingPhase 1/2
A Window of Opportunity Trial to Learn if Linvoseltamab is Safe and Well Tolerated, and How Well it Works in Adult Participants With Recently Diagnosed Multiple Myeloma Who Have Not Already Received Treatment
Multiple Myeloma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Thomas G. Gross, MD, PhD study chair
Nationwide Children's Hospital
78 sites in 4 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing rituximab, cyclophosphamide and methylprednisolone in people with Lymphoproliferative Disorder, run by Children's Oncology Group at 78 sites in 4 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Aug 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 78 sites in United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 17 Jan 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Event-free Survival (time frame: 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00066469, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Aug 2019.