AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00066222

Cisplatin, Etoposide, and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Limited-Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing Cisplatin, Etoposide and Radiation therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 104 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
Cisplatin, Etoposide and Radiation therapy
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
72 participants
Where
104 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jun 2003to Nov 2013
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed small cell carcinoma of the lung by fine needle aspiration biopsy or two positive sputa
  • Must have limited disease
  • Stage I, II, IIIA, or IIIB
  • Confined to 1 hemithorax, but excluding the following:
  • T4 tumor based on malignant pleural effusion
  • N3 disease based on contralateral hilar or contralateral supraclavicular involvement
  • No pericardial or pleural effusions on chest x-ray (regardless of cytology)
  • Measurable or evaluable disease
  • Tumor must be able to be encompassed by limited radiotherapy fields without significantly compromising pulmonary function
  • No prior complete tumor resection

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 to 100

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 150,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Cardiovascular

  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
  • No symptomatic heart disease

Pulmonary

  • No chronic obstructive pulmonary disease with Forced Expiratory Volume (FEV)-1 no greater than 0.8 liter
  • No uncontrolled bronchospasm in the unaffected lung

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Available for follow-up
  • No other malignancy within the past 2 years except curatively treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or non-invasive in situ malignancies
  • No other concurrent serious medical illness
  • No uncontrolled psychiatric illness
  • No chronic alcohol or drug abuse

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy to the chest or other area containing a large amount of bone marrow (e.g., more than 75% of pelvic bone)

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

104 sites in 1 country.

104 sites in 1 country

United States104 sites
  • Akron City Hospital

    Akron, Ohio, 44309-2090

  • St. Joseph Mercy Cancer Center at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106-0995

  • CCOP - Michigan Cancer Research Consortium

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106

  • St. Agnes Cancer Center

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21229

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

  • St. Francis Hospital and Health Centers - Beech Grove Campus

    Beech Grove, Indiana, 46107

  • Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Alabama at Birmingham

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

  • St. Joseph Medical Center

    Bloomington, Illinois, 61701

  • Cancer Treatment Center at the Medical Center - Bowling Green

    Bowling Green, Kentucky, 42101

  • Bryn Mawr Hospital

    Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, 19010

  • Graham Hospital

    Canton, Illinois, 61520

  • Aultman Hospital Cancer Center at Aultman Health Foundation

    Canton, Ohio, 44710-1799

  • Memorial Hospital

    Carthage, Illinois, 62321

  • Eden Medical Center

    Castro Valley, California, 94546

  • Charles M. Barrett Cancer Center at University Hospital

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45267

  • Huron Hospital Cancer Care Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44112

  • Euclid Hospital

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44119

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Grandview Hospital

    Dayton, Ohio, 45405

  • Good Samaritan Hospital

    Dayton, Ohio, 45406

  • David L. Rike Cancer Center at Miami Valley Hospital

    Dayton, Ohio, 45409

  • Samaritan North Cancer Care Center

    Dayton, Ohio, 45415

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Dayton

    Dayton, Ohio, 45428

  • CCOP - Dayton

    Dayton, Ohio, 45429

  • Oakwood Cancer Center at Oakwood Hospital and Medical Center

    Dearborn, Michigan, 48123-2500

  • Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

    Detroit, Michigan, 48201-1379

  • Josephine Ford Cancer Center at Henry Ford Hospital

    Detroit, Michigan, 48202

  • Wendt Regional Cancer Center at Finley Hospital

    Dubuque, Iowa, 52001

  • Elkhart General Hospital

    Elkhart, Indiana, 46515

  • Eureka Community Hospital

    Eureka, Illinois, 61530

  • Genesys Hurley Cancer Institute

    Flint, Michigan, 48503

  • Hurley Medical Center

    Flint, Michigan, 48503

  • Galesburg Clinic

    Galesburg, Illinois, 61401

  • Galesburg Cottage Hospital

    Galesburg, Illinois, 61401

  • Wayne Memorial Hospital, Incorporated

    Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27534

  • Wayne Radiation Oncology

    Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27534

  • Van Elslander Cancer Center at St. John Hospital and Medical Center

    Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, 48236

  • Mason District Hospital

    Havana, Illinois, 62644

  • Saint Rose Hospital

    Hayward, California, 94545

  • M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at University of Texas

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

  • Foote Hospital

    Jackson, Michigan, 49201

  • Borgess Medical Center

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49001

  • West Michigan Cancer Center

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007-3731

  • Bronson Methodist Hospital

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007

  • Charles F. Kettering Memorial Hospital

    Kettering, Ohio, 45429

  • Kewanee Hospital

    Kewanee, Illinois, 61443

  • Howard Community Hospital at Howard Regional Health System

    Kokomo, Indiana, 46904

  • Gundersen Lutheran Cancer Center at Gundersen Lutheran Medical Center

    La Crosse, Wisconsin, 54601

  • Center for Cancer Therapy at LaPorte Hospital and Health Services

    La Porte, Indiana, 46350

  • Sparrow Regional Cancer Center

    Lansing, Michigan, 48909

  • Markey Cancer Center at University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0293

  • McDonough District Hospital

    Macomb, Illinois, 61455

  • Hillcrest Cancer Center at Hillcrest Hospital

    Mayfield Heights, Ohio, 44124

  • Middletown Regional Hospital

    Middletown, Ohio, 45044

  • Columbia St. Mary's Cancer Care Center

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53211

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Milwaukee

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53295

  • Cottonwood Hospital Medical Center

    Murray, Utah, 84107

  • BroMenn Regional Medical Center

    Normal, Illinois, 61761

  • Community Cancer Center

    Normal, Illinois, 61761

  • Highland General Hospital at St. George's University School of Medicine

    Oakland, California, 94602

  • Alta Bates Summit Medical Center - Summit Campus

    Oakland, California, 94609

  • CCOP - Bay Area Tumor Institute

    Oakland, California, 94609

  • McKay-Dee Hospital Center

    Ogden, Utah, 84403

  • Community Hospital of Ottawa

    Ottawa, Illinois, 61350

  • Oncology Hematology Associates of Central Illinois, PC - Ottawa

    Ottawa, Illinois, 61350

  • Paoli Memorial Hospital

    Paoli, Pennsylvania, 19301-1792

  • Cancer Treatment Center at Pekin Hospital

    Pekin, Illinois, 61554

  • OSF St. Francis Medical Center

    Peoria, Illinois, 61615-7827

  • CCOP - Illinois Oncology Research Association

    Peoria, Illinois, 61615

  • Oncology Hematology Associates of Central Illinois, PC - Peoria

    Peoria, Illinois, 61615

  • Illinois Valley Community Hospital

    Peru, Illinois, 61354

  • Fitzpatrick Cancer Center at Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital Medical Center

    Plattsburgh, New York, 12901

  • Valley Care Medical Center

    Pleasanton, California, 94588

  • Robert and Beverly Lewis Family Cancer Care Center at Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center

    Pomona, California, 91767

  • Perry Memorial Hospital

    Princeton, Illinois, 61356

  • Utah Valley Regional Medical Center - Provo

    Provo, Utah, 84604

  • Rapid City Regional Hospital

    Rapid City, South Dakota, 57701

  • Reading Hospital and Medical Center

    Reading, Pennsylvania, 19612-6052

  • Seton Cancer Institute - Saginaw

    Saginaw, Michigan, 48601

  • Lakeland Cancer Care Center at Lakeland Hospital - St. Joseph

    Saint Joseph, Michigan, 49085

  • Cancer Research UK Medical Oncology Unit at Churchill Hospital & Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine - Oxford

    Salem, Ohio, 44460

  • Utah Cancer Specialists at UCS Cancer Center

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84106

  • LDS Hospital

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84143

  • J.C. Robinson, M.D. Regional Cancer Center

    San Pablo, California, 94806

  • Curtis & Elizabeth Anderson Cancer Institute at Memorial Health University Medical Center

    Savannah, Georgia, 31403-3089

  • CCOP - Northern Indiana CR Consortium

    South Bend, Indiana, 46601

  • Memorial Hospital of South Bend

    South Bend, Indiana, 46601

  • Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center

    South Bend, Indiana, 46617

  • St. Margaret's Hospital

    Spring Valley, Illinois, 61362

  • Saint Louis University Cancer Center

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • Dixie Regional Medical Center - East Campus

    St. George, Utah, 84770

  • J. Phillip Citta Regional Cancer Center at Community Medical Center

    Toms River, New Jersey, 08755

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center at St. Francis Medical Center

    Trenton, New Jersey, 08629

  • UVMC Cancer Care Center at Upper Valley Medical Center

    Troy, Ohio, 45373-1300

  • South Jersey Healthcare Regional Cancer Center

    Vineland, New Jersey, 08360

  • St. John Macomb Hospital

    Warren, Michigan, 48093

  • South Pointe Hospital Cancer Care Center

    Warrensville Heights, Ohio, 44122

  • Schiffler Cancer Center at Wheeling Hospital

    Wheeling, West Virginia, 26003

  • Wilmed Radiation Oncology Services

    Wilson, North Carolina, 27893

  • Cancer Treatment Center

    Wooster, Ohio, 44691

  • CCOP - MainLine Health

    Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, 19096

  • Lankenau Cancer Center at Lankenau Hospital

    Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, 19096

  • Ruth G. McMillan Cancer Center at Greene Memorial Hospital

    Xenia, Ohio, 45385

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study Of Accelerated High Dose Thoracic Irradiation With Concurrent Chemotherapy For Patients With Limited Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving cisplatin and etoposide together with radiation therapy works in treating patients with limited-stage small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the response rate of patients with limited stage small cell lung cancer treated with cisplatin and etoposide combined with accelerated high-dose thoracic radiotherapy.
  • Determine the progression-free and overall survival in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the qualitative and quantitative toxicity and reversibility of toxicity of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: Patients undergo radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for approximately 3 weeks and then twice daily 5 days a week for approximately 2 weeks (a total of 9 treatment days during the final 2-week treatment period). Beginning on the first day of radiotherapy, patients receive cisplatin IV over 2 hours and etoposide IV over 1 hour on day 1 and oral etoposide once daily on days 2 and 3. Chemotherapy repeats every 3 weeks for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 71 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
Cisplatin, Etoposide, Radiation therapy
Keywords
limited stage small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • CisplatinDrug

    60 mg/m2 given intravenously. During RT, give on day 1 and day 22. After completion of RT, on days 43 and 64.

  • EtoposideDrug

    120 mg/m2 given intravenously. During RT, give on days 1-3, then days 22-24. After completion of RT, on days 43-45 and days 64-66.

  • Radiation therapyRadiation

    Large field 28.8 Gy: 1.8 Gy per fraction, 5 days per week for 16 fractions. On days 23-26, BID: use anteroposterior and posteroanterior (AP/PA) fields in a.m. at 1.8 Gy per fraction; boost with 2nd treatment in p.m. at 1.8 Gy per fraction. Then off-cord boost, 1.8 Gy, BID, x last 5 days for a total dose of 61.2 Gy in 5 wks.

Study groups in NCT00066222
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Radiation Therapy + ChemotherapyExperimentalAccelerated high dose thoracic radiation therapy (RT) with concurrent cisplatin/etoposide chemotherapy, followed by 2 cycles of adjuvant cisplatin/etoposide chemotherapy
Receives: Drug: Cisplatin; Drug: Etoposide; Radiation: Radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall Survival at 2 Years

    Survival time is defined as time from study registration to the date of death from any cause and survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at the date of last contact.

    Measured: From registration to 2 years

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Overall Survival (OS) and Progression-free Survival (PFS) at 1 Year

    An event for overall survival is death due to any cause. Overall survival time is defined as time from study registration to the date of death from any cause. An event for progression-free survival is the first of the following: local progression, regional progression, distant metastases, or death due to any cause. Progression-free survival time is defined as time from study registration to the date of first failure. For both outcome measures, patients last known to be alive without failure are censored at the date of last contact. Survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method.

    Measured: From registration to one year.

  2. Median Overall Survival Time and Progression-free Survival Time

    An event for overall survival is death due to any cause. Overall survival time is defined as time from study registration to the date of death from any cause. An event for progression-free survival is the first of the following: local progression, regional progression, distant metastases, or death due to any cause. Progression-free survival time is defined as time from study registration to the date of first failure. For both outcome measures, patients last known to be alive without failure are censored at the date of last contact. Survival rates are estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method.

    Measured: From registration to 2 years

  3. Number of Patients With Acute Treatment-related Grade 3 or 4 Esophagitis

    Highest grade treatment-related toxicity per subject was counted. Toxicities were graded using Common Toxicity Criteria (CTC) v 2.0. Grade refers to the severity of the toxicity. Both criteria assign Grades 1 through 5 with unique clinical descriptions of severity for a given toxicity based on this general guideline: Grade 1= Mild, Grade 2= Moderate, Grade 3= Severe, Grade 4= Life-threatening or disabling, Grade 5= Death related to toxicity.

    Measured: From start of radiation therapy until 90 days following the start of radiation therapy

  4. Frequency of Treatment-related Fatalities at 2 Years

    A treatment-related fatality was any death judged to be related to protocol treatment.

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 years

  5. Tumor Response

    Response will be recorded as the best response observed two months after the completion of chemoradiation therapy. Tumor response as defined by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST). Complete Response (CR): Disappearance of all target lesions as measured by MRI, CT, or physical examination (this is the order of preference for measurement). Partial Response (PR): >= 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions (order of preference for measurement is MRI, CT, physical examination). Progressive Disease (PD): >= 20% increase in the sum of the LD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum LD recorded since the treatment started or the appearance of one or more new lesions (order of preference for measurement is MRI, CT, physical examination). Stable Disease (SD): Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum LD since the treatment started.

    Measured: From the start of treatment to 2 months following the completion of chemotherapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Aug 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2003
  3. Primary completionMay 2012
  4. Study completionNov 2013

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
72 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00066222
Sponsor's protocol ID
RTOG-0239
Other IDs
CDR0000271939
Status last verified
Nov 2017
First submitted
6 Aug 2003
Last updated
22 Dec 2017
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Komaki R, Paulus R, Ettinger DS, Videtic GM, Bradley JD, Glisson BS, Langer CJ, Sause WT, Curran WJ Jr, Choy H. Phase II study of accelerated high-dose radiotherapy with concurrent chemotherapy for patients with limited small-cell lung cancer: Radiation Therapy Oncology Group protocol 0239. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2012 Jul 15;83(4):e531-6. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2012.01.075. Epub 2012 May 5.

    PubMed 22560543
  • Komaki R, Paulus R, Ettinger DS, et al.: A phase II study of accelerated high-dose thoracic radiation therapy (AHTRT) with concurrent chemotherapy for limited small cell lung cancer: RTOG 0239. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 27 (Suppl 15): A-7527, 2009.

  • Komaki R, Moughan J, Ettinger D, et al.: Toxicities in a phase II study of accelerated high dose thoracic radiation therapy (TRT) with concurrent chemotherapy for limited small cell lung cancer (LSCLC) (RTOG 0239). [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-7717, 438s, 2007.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Cisplatin, Etoposide and Radiation therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 104 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Dec 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 104 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 18 Dec 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall Survival at 2 Years (time frame: From registration to 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00066222, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Dec 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in