Precancerous/Nonmalignant ConditionPhase 3NCT00064194
Vitamin E, Selenium, and Soy Protein in Preventing Cancer in Patients With High-Grade Prostate Neoplasia
A Phase 3 study testing selenium, soy protein isolate and vitamin E in people with Precancerous/Nonmalignant Condition and Prostate Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 3 sites in Canada.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain substances to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. Vitamin E, selenium, and soy protein may be effective in preventing the development of prostate cancer. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages Up to 120 years, men only
- Conditions the study is for
- Precancerous/Nonmalignant Condition, Prostate Cancer
- What is being tested?
- selenium, soy protein isolate and vitamin E
- How many people
- 310 participants
- Where
- 3 sitesCanada
- Study dates
- 28 Nov 2001to 30 Apr 2008
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Up to 120 years
- Men only
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (HGPIN)
- No evidence of invasive prostate cancer by at least 2 biopsies within the past 18 months
- At least 1 biopsy must show evidence of HGPIN within the past 6 months
- No prior invasive prostate cancer
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- Not specified
Performance status
- Not specified
Life expectancy
- More than 5 years
Hematopoietic
- Platelet count at least 75,000/mm^3
- No coagulopathies
Hepatic
- Bilirubin no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- PT (INR) no greater than 1.5 times ULN
- PTT no greater than 1.5 times ULN
- No hepatic insufficiencies
Renal
- Creatinine no greater than 2 times ULN
- No renal insufficiencies
Other
- No prior nonmelanoma skin cancer (e.g., squamous cell or basal cell carcinoma)
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except superficial bladder cancer
- No known bowel malabsorption
- No dietary behavior (e.g., morbid obesity or eating disorders) that would limit adherence to study therapy
- No major illness, including psychiatric illness, that would preclude study compliance and follow-up
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- Not specified
Endocrine therapy
- More than 3 months since prior androgen therapy
- More than 3 months since prior hormonal therapy for benign prostatic hyperplasia (e.g., finasteride)
- No concurrent finasteride
- No concurrent androgen therapy
Radiotherapy
- More than 2 years since prior radiotherapy to the pelvic region
Surgery
- Not specified
Other
- More than 2 weeks since prior supplemental vitamin E or selenium
- No other concurrent vitamin E (greater than 100 IU/day), selenium, or soy protein isolate (more than 2 servings/week)
- No other concurrent treatment for high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia
Trial locations and contacts
3 sites in 1 country.
Canada3 sites
Nova Scotia Cancer Centre
Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 1V7
Toronto Sunnybrook Regional Cancer Centre
Toronto, Ontario, M4N 3M5
Princess Margaret Hospital
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2M9
About this study
Official title: A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Randomized Study Of Combination Vitamin E, Selenium And Soy Protein Product In Subjects With High Grade Prostatic Intraepithelial Neoplasia
RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain substances to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. Vitamin E, selenium, and soy protein may be effective in preventing the development of prostate cancer.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to study the effectiveness of combining vitamin E, selenium, and soy protein in preventing prostate cancer in patients who have high-grade prostate neoplasia.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine whether nutritional supplementation with soy protein isolate, vitamin E, and selenium can delay the time to development of invasive prostate cancer (disease-free survival) in patients with high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia.
- Determine the effect of this supplementation on intermediate endpoints that may reflect a lessened risk of invasive prostate cancer (e.g., serum PSA levels, hormone levels, lycopene, malondialdehyde, vitamin E, and reduced thiol groups) in these patients.
- Determine the safety of this supplementation in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive oral vitamin E, oral selenium, and oral soy protein isolate twice daily.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo twice daily. In both arms, treatment continues for 3 years in the absence of invasive prostate cancer (demonstrated on biopsy) or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year and then every 6 months for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 306 patients (153 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 6 years.
- Being tested
- selenium, soy protein isolate, vitamin E
- Keywords
- prostate cancer, high grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia
- Medical subject headings
- Precancerous Conditions, Prostatic Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
seleniumDietary supplement
soy protein isolateDietary supplement
vitamin EDietary supplement
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted9 Jul 2003 (estimated)
- Study start28 Nov 2001
- Primary completion30 Apr 2008
- Study completion30 Apr 2008
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Precancerous/Nonmalignant ConditionStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Prevention
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Masking
- Triple blind
- Who is masked
- Participant, Care provider, Investigator
- Enrolment
- 310 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- NCIC Clinical Trials Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Neil Fleshner, Study chair, Princess Margaret Hospital, Canada
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00064194
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- PRP1
- Other IDs
- CAN-NCIC-PRP1, CDR0000310096
- Status last verified
- Apr 2020
- First submitted
- 8 Jul 2003
- Last updated
- 3 Apr 2020
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
- FDA-regulated drug
- No
- FDA-regulated device
- No
- Individual data sharing
- No
Publications
Fleshner NE, Kapusta L, Donnelly B, Tanguay S, Chin J, Hersey K, Farley A, Jansz K, Siemens DR, Trpkov K, Lacombe L, Gleave M, Tu D, Parulekar WR. Progression from high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia to cancer: a randomized trial of combination vitamin-E, soy, and selenium. J Clin Oncol. 2011 Jun 10;29(17):2386-90. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2010.32.0994. Epub 2011 May 2.
PubMed 21537051
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 3 Apr 2020. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Randomized Study Of Combination Vitamin E, Selenium And Soy Protein Product In Subjects With High Grade Prostatic Intraepithelial Neoplasia
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00064194
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- PRP1
- Keywords
- prostate cancer, high grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 310 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- NCIC Clinical Trials GroupResearch network
- Study start
- 28 Nov 2001 (actual)
- Primary completion
- 30 Apr 2008 (actual)
- Study completion
- 30 Apr 2008 (actual)
- First posted
- 9 Jul 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain substances to try to prevent the development or recurrence of cancer. Vitamin E, selenium, and soy protein may be effective in preventing the development of prostate cancer.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to study the effectiveness of combining vitamin E, selenium, and soy protein in preventing prostate cancer in patients who have high-grade prostate neoplasia.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine whether nutritional supplementation with soy protein isolate, vitamin E, and selenium can delay the time to development of invasive prostate cancer (disease-free survival) in patients with high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia.
- Determine the effect of this supplementation on intermediate endpoints that may reflect a lessened risk of invasive prostate cancer (e.g., serum PSA levels, hormone levels, lycopene, malondialdehyde, vitamin E, and reduced thiol groups) in these patients.
- Determine the safety of this supplementation in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive oral vitamin E, oral selenium, and oral soy protein isolate twice daily.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral placebo twice daily. In both arms, treatment continues for 3 years in the absence of invasive prostate cancer (demonstrated on biopsy) or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year and then every 6 months for 2 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 306 patients (153 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 6 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Prevention
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Masking
- Triple blind (participant, care provider, investigator)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- Up to 120 years
- Sex
- Male only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| selenium | Dietary supplement | – |
| soy protein isolate | Dietary supplement | – |
| vitamin E | Dietary supplement | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 3 Apr 2020.
- Results publication: PubMed 21537051Fleshner NE, Kapusta L, Donnelly B, Tanguay S, Chin J, Hersey K, Farley A, Jansz K, Siemens DR, Trpkov K, Lacombe L, Gleave M, Tu D, Parulekar WR. Progression from high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia to cancer: a randomized trial of combination vitamin-E, soy, and selenium. J Clin Oncol. 2011 Jun 10;29(17):2386-90. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2010.32.0994. Epub 2011 May 2.
- Individual participant dataSharing planned: No
Related trials for Precancerous/Nonmalignant Condition
RecruitingObservational study
Biospecimen Procurement for Center for Immuno-Oncology Immunotherapy Protocols
Multiple Myeloma, Lymphoma, Non-Hodgkin
RecruitingPhase 4
Efficacy of Potassium-Competitive Acid Blockers in Barrett's Esophagus (PCAB BE Study)
Barrett Esophagus
RecruitingObservational study
Role of Liquid Biopsies in HPV-associated Cancer Treatment Monitoring
Cervical Cancer, Cervical Dysplasia
RecruitingObservational study
Leveraging Methylated DNA Markers (MDMs) in the Detection of Endometrial Cancer, Ovarian Cancer, and Cervical Cancer
Endometrial Cancer, Cervical Cancer
RecruitingPhase 3
Study of Reformulated Levulan Kerastick Plus PDT for Actinic Keratosis on Upper Extremities
Actinic Keratosis
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Neil Fleshner study chair
Princess Margaret Hospital, Canada
3 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing selenium, soy protein isolate and vitamin E in people with Precancerous/Nonmalignant Condition and Prostate Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 3 sites in Canada.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 3 Apr 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 3 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00064194, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 3 Apr 2020.