AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 3NCT00061919

Carboplatin and Etoposide With or Without Thalidomide in Treating Patients With Limited-Stage or Extensive-Stage Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide in people with Lung Cancer, run by University College, London at 1 site in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as carboplatin and etoposide use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Thalidomide may stop the growth of cancer by stopping blood flow to the tumor. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
724 participants
Where
1 siteUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Apr 2003to Jul 2007
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed small cell lung cancer
  • Limited or extensive stage disease
  • No symptomatic brain metastases requiring immediate radiotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Over 18

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-3

Life expectancy

  • At least 8 weeks

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Ethylenediamine tetraacetic acid (EDTA) clearance greater than 60 mL/min OR
  • Creatinine clearance greater than 50 mL/min

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use 2 effective methods of contraception (including 1 highly effective method and 1 barrier method) during and for 4 weeks after study completion
  • No other prior malignancy within the past 3 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer or early cervical cancer
  • No significant medical condition or laboratory finding that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United Kingdom1 site
  • University College of London Hospitals

    London, England, WIT 3AA

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Phase III Randomized, Double Blind, Placebo Controlled Trial Of Carboplatin/Etoposide With Or Without Thalidomide In Small Cell Lung Cancer (Study 12)

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as carboplatin and etoposide use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Thalidomide may stop the growth of cancer by stopping blood flow to the tumor. It is not yet known if combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without thalidomide in treating small cell lung cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying carboplatin, etoposide, and thalidomide to see how well they work compared to carboplatin and etoposide in treating patients with limited- or extensive-stage small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the survival of patients with limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer treated with carboplatin and etoposide with vs without thalidomide.
  • Compare the time to disease progression in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
  • Compare the response rates of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease stage (limited vs extensive), ECOG performance status (0 and 1 vs 2), and alkaline phosphatase (no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal [ULN] vs greater than 1.5 times ULN). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and etoposide* IV over 1-2 hours on days 1 and 2 and orally on day 3. Patients also receive oral thalidomide daily beginning on day 1.
  • Arm II: Patients receive carboplatin and etoposide as in arm I and oral placebo daily beginning on day 1.

NOTE: *Patients who are unable to receive etoposide IV on day 2 may receive oral etoposide on days 2 and 3.

In both arms, chemotherapy (carboplatin and etoposide) repeats every 3 weeks for up to 6 courses. Patients receive thalidomide or placebo continuously for up to 2 years. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients who experience disease progression may continue to receive thalidomide or placebo provided the patient is clinically and symptomatically stable.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, during each course of chemotherapy, at 3-4 weeks after completion of chemotherapy, and at 6, 12, 18, and 24 months.

Patients are followed every 2 months for 2 years after the completion of chemotherapy and then every 3 months thereafter.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 372 patients (186 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide, Carboplatin, etoposide & placebo
Keywords
extensive stage small cell lung cancer, limited stage small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomideDrug

    Carboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral thalidomide daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.

  • Carboplatin, etoposide & placeboDrug

    Carboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral placebo daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.

Study groups in NCT00061919
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Active arm (thalidomide)ExperimentalCarboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral thalidomide daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.
Receives: Drug: Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide
Placebo armPlacebo comparatorCarboplatin IV on day 1 and etoposide IV on day 1 and 2 and, orally Day 3. Oral placebo daily beginning on day 1 for up to 24 months.
Receives: Drug: Carboplatin, etoposide & placebo

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Survival at 2 years after study randomization

    Measured: 0-2 years

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Time to disease progression 2 years after study randomization

    Measured: 0-2 years

  2. Toxicity as measured by NCIC CTC 3 times weekly while undergoing chemotherapy, then monthly thereafter

    Measured: Till end of treatment

  3. Response rates as measured by RECIST during each visit while undergoing chemotherapy and after completion of study treatment

    Measured: Till progression

  4. Quality of life as measured by EORTC QLQ-30 and lung-specific questionnaire(LC14) at baseline, after each course, and after completion of study treatment, and at 6, 12, 18, and 24 months after day 1 of course 1

    Measured: 0-24 months

  5. Biological markers (measurement of VEGF, bFGF, TNF alpha, and IL-6)

    Measured: Before treatment courses 1 and 4, and then at 9 and 18 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Jun 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2003
  3. Primary completionFeb 2007
  4. Study completionJul 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Triple blind
Who is masked
Participant, Care provider, Investigator
Enrolment
724 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00061919
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000302440
Other IDs
LLCG-STUDY-12, EU-20207, ISRCTN16174527
Status last verified
Mar 2012
First submitted
5 Jun 2003
Last updated
16 Mar 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Lee SM, Woll PJ, Rudd R, Ferry D, O'Brien M, Middleton G, Spiro S, James L, Ali K, Jitlal M, Hackshaw A. Anti-angiogenic therapy using thalidomide combined with chemotherapy in small cell lung cancer: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. J Natl Cancer Inst. 2009 Aug 5;101(15):1049-57. doi: 10.1093/jnci/djp200. Epub 2009 Jul 16.

    PubMed 19608997

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing Carboplatin, etoposide & thalidomide in people with Lung Cancer, run by University College, London at 1 site in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 16 Mar 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Survival at 2 years after study randomization (time frame: 0-2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00061919, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 16 Mar 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in