AzTrials
AzTrials

Neurofibromatosis Type 1NCT00060008

Fludeoxyglucose F 18 Positron Emission Tomography and Magnetic Resonance Perfusion Imaging in Patients With Neurofibromatosis 1 and Plexiform Neurofibroma

A study testing fludeoxyglucose F 18 and gadopentetate dimeglumine in people with Neurofibromatosis Type 1 and Precancerous Condition, run by Children's Hospital of Philadelphia at 2 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: New imaging procedures such as fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) and magnetic resonance (MR) perfusion imaging may improve the ability to detect disease progression, help doctors predict a patient's response to treatment, and help plan the most effective treatment. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 25 years
What is being tested?
fludeoxyglucose F 18 and gadopentetate dimeglumine
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
18 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2002to May 2011
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 25 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Stratum 1:
  • Diagnosis of neurofibromatosis 1 (NF1) and plexiform neurofibromas
  • At high risk for progression, as defined by any of the following:
  • Anatomic location such that progression carries a high risk of impairment of function, pain, or disfigurement (e.g., neck/mediastinum, paraspinal nerve roots, orbit, and face)
  • Tumors that the patient, family, or caregiver believes have increased in size within the past year, but appear stable by standard clinical or radiographic measures
  • No plexiform neurofibromas that are small, cause no pain or functional impairment, or are not likely to cause pain or functional impairment over the succeeding 12 months
  • Stratum 2:
  • Diagnosis of NF1 and progressive plexiform neurofibromas
  • Neurofibroma progression documented by increase in lesion size on MRI
  • Currently being enrolled on a clinical therapeutic trial at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 25 and under

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Stratum 1:
  • No prior or concurrent chemotherapy
  • No concurrent enrollment on a chemotherapy clinical trial
  • Stratum 2:
  • At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • At least 6 weeks since prior radiotherapy (stratum 2)

Surgery

  • Prior surgery for progressive plexiform neurofibroma allowed if incompletely resected and measurable disease remains (stratum 2)

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United States2 sites
  • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

  • Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Novel Imaging Modalities For Plexiform Neurofibromas

RATIONALE: New imaging procedures such as fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) and magnetic resonance (MR) perfusion imaging may improve the ability to detect disease progression, help doctors predict a patient's response to treatment, and help plan the most effective treatment.

PURPOSE: This diagnostic trial is studying how well FDG-PET and MR perfusion imaging work in finding disease progression and determining response to treatment in patients with neurofibromatosis 1 and plexiform neurofibroma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine whether fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) and MR perfusion studies can predict plexiform neurofibroma growth rates in patients with neurofibromatosis 1.
  • Determine whether FDG-PET and MR perfusion studies can predict the likelihood of response in patients who are undergoing investigational treatment for plexiform neurofibromas.
  • Identify neuroimaging characteristics that distinguish patients who have responded to therapy from those who have not after completion of treatment.

OUTLINE:

  • Stratum 1: Patients undergo MR perfusion scan with gadopentetate dimeglumine and fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) at baseline and quantitative MRI evaluation at baseline and 1 year.
  • Stratum 2: Patients undergo quantitative MRI, MR perfusion scan with gadopentetate dimeglumine, and FDG-PET at baseline and 1 year.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 48 patients (32 for stratum 1 and 16 for stratum 2) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
fludeoxyglucose F 18, gadopentetate dimeglumine
Keywords
neurofibromatosis type 1, plexiform neurofibroma
Medical subject headings
Neurofibromatosis 1, Precancerous Conditions, Neurofibroma, Plexiform

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • fludeoxyglucose F 18Radiation

  • gadopentetate dimeglumineRadiation

Study groups in NCT00060008
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
18FDG-PET scan and MR perfusionExperimentalSubjects will undergo MRI for quantitative (2D and 3D) evaluation of plexiform neurofibroma size, MR perfusion scan, and fludeoxyglucose (18FDG) PET scan at the time of study entry. Subjects who are treated for plexiform neurofibroma will undergo another 18FDG PET scan after one year of study entry.
Receives: Radiation: fludeoxyglucose F 18; Radiation: gadopentetate dimeglumine

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Tumor Progression as Measured by Tumor Area and Volume at 1 Year.

    We correlated SUVmax and change in tumor volume over the subsequent year

    Measured: One year

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2002
  3. Primary completionMay 2011
  4. Study completionMay 2011

Why it stopped: Study was closed early due to poor accrual.

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Diagnosis
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
18 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00060008
Sponsor's protocol ID
2001-8-2543
Other IDs
CHP-724, CDR0000299006
Status last verified
Apr 2014
First submitted
6 May 2003
Last updated
4 Apr 2014
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing fludeoxyglucose F 18 and gadopentetate dimeglumine in people with Neurofibromatosis Type 1 and Precancerous Condition, run by Children's Hospital of Philadelphia at 2 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 4 Apr 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 4 Apr 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Tumor Progression as Measured by Tumor Area and Volume at 1 Year. (time frame: One year). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 4 Apr 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in