AzTrials
AzTrials

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol SpecificPhase 1NCT00059917

Polyglutamate Camptothecin in Treating Patients With Advanced Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing polyglutamate camptothecin in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as polyglutamate camptothecin may be able to deliver the drug directly to tumor cells while leaving normal cells undamaged. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of polyglutamate camptothecin in treating patients who have advanced cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
polyglutamate camptothecin
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jan 2003to May 2005
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed advanced malignancy
  • No active brain metastases (as indicated by clinical symptoms, cerebral edema, or progressive tumor growth) that have been unstable for at least 8 weeks

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • At least 12 weeks

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 9 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST and ALT no greater than 2.5 times ULN (5 times ULN if liver metastases are present)

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • No history of hemorrhagic cystitis
  • No history of microscopic hematuria associated with drug therapy or radiotherapy or of unknown origin

Cardiovascular

  • No significant cardiac disease

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Able to comply with study schedule and assessments
  • No other significant nonmalignant systemic disease
  • No active infection
  • No other condition that would in the investigator's opinion make the patient an inappropriate study candidate

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No more than 3 prior chemotherapy regimens
  • More than 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • More than 4 weeks since prior definitive radiotherapy (except for palliative reasons to sites of nonmeasurable disease, in patients with measurable disease at baseline)
  • Concurrent palliative radiotherapy allowed

Surgery

  • More than 4 weeks since prior major thoracic or abdominal surgery

Other

  • Recovered from prior therapy (except alopecia or stable grade 1 neuropathy)
  • More than 4 weeks since prior investigational agents
  • No prior myeloablative therapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Study of CT-2106 in Patients With Advanced Malignancy

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as polyglutamate camptothecin may be able to deliver the drug directly to tumor cells while leaving normal cells undamaged.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of polyglutamate camptothecin in treating patients who have advanced cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of polyglutamate camptothecin (CT-2106) in patients with advanced malignancies.
  • Determine the tolerability of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the safety of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of this drug in these patients.
  • Determine the disease response in patients treated with this drug.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation, multicenter study.

Patients receive polyglutamate camptothecin (CT-2106) IV over 10 minutes on day 1. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients receive 2 additional courses beyond confirmation of complete response.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of CT-2106 until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

Patients are followed at 3 weeks.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 12-48 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
polyglutamate camptothecin
Keywords
unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • polyglutamate camptothecinDrug

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2003
  3. Study completionMay 2005

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00059917
Sponsor's protocol ID
CTI-PGC101
Other IDs
MSKCC-03002, CDR0000298987
Status last verified
Apr 2005
First submitted
6 May 2003
Last updated
30 May 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • McNamara MV, Doroshow JH, Dupont J, et al.: Preliminary pharmacokinetics of CT-2106 (polyglutamate camptothecin) in patients with advanced malignancies. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 22 (Suppl 14): A-2073, 145s, 2004.

  • Springett GM, Takimoto C, McNamara M, et al.: Phase I study of CT-2106 (polyglutamate camptothecin) in patients with advanced malignancies. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 22 (Suppl 14): A-3127, 226s, 2004.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing polyglutamate camptothecin in people with Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 May 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00059917, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 May 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in