AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00054301

Radiation Therapy After Lumpectomy in Treating Women With Ductal Carcinoma in Situ or Invasive Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery and intraoperative radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving radiation during surgery followed by external-beam radiation to the entire breast may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery and intraoperative radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
2 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2002to Oct 2004
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ductal carcinoma in situ or invasive adenocarcinoma of the breast
  • Primary tumor classified as T1, T2, or T3
  • Candidate for breast-conserving surgery
  • Must have undergone lumpectomy with negative margins or minimal margin involvement
  • Currently undergoing re-excision of the biopsy cavity and/or sentinel lymph node biopsy or axillary lymph node dissection
  • No evidence of metastatic disease
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Adult

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC greater than 3,500/mm^3
  • Granulocyte count greater than 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • No other malignancies within the past 5 years except carcinoma in situ of the cervix or nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • Prior contralateral breast cancer allowed if curatively treated more than 5 years previously
  • No severe psychiatric or medical illness

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy to the involved breast

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Ireland Cancer Center at University Hospitals Case Medical Center, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Intraoperative Radiation Therapy to the Tumor Bed for Boost Treatment After Lumpectomy Prior to Whole Breast Radiation in Breast Conservation Candidates

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving radiation during surgery followed by external-beam radiation to the entire breast may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiation therapy during surgery followed by whole-breast radiation therapy in treating women who have undergone lumpectomy for ductal carcinoma in situ or invasive breast cancer

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the effect of intraoperative radiotherapy boost to the tumor bed on acute complications after lumpectomy (before whole breast irradiation) in women with ductal carcinoma in situ or invasive adenocarcinoma of the breast.
  • Determine the local recurrence rates in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the cosmetic outcome in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: Patients undergo excisional biopsy or surgery followed by an intraoperative dose of radiation to the tumor cavity. Postoperatively, patients undergo external beam radiotherapy to the entire breast 5 days a week for 5-6 weeks.

Patients are followed at 1 month and then every 3 months for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 25 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery, intraoperative radiation therapy
Keywords
stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, ductal breast carcinoma in situ, breast cancer in situ
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Intraductal, Noninfiltrating, Breast Carcinoma In Situ

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

  • conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

    Patients undergo excisional biopsy or surgery.

  • intraoperative radiation therapyRadiation

    Patients undergo excisional biopsy or surgery followed by an intraoperative dose of radiation to the tumor cavity.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Determine the effect of intraoperative radiotherapy boost to the tumor bed on acute complications after lumpectomy (before whole breast irradiation) in women with ductal carcinoma in situ or invasive adenocarcinoma of the breast.

    Measured: Patients are followed at 1 month and then every 3 months for 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Feb 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2002
  3. Primary completionOct 2004
  4. Study completionOct 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
2 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00054301
Sponsor's protocol ID
ICC4102
Status last verified
Jul 2020
First submitted
5 Feb 2003
Last updated
27 Jul 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery and intraoperative radiation therapy in people with Breast Cancer, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 Jul 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Determine the effect of intraoperative radiotherapy boost to the tumor bed on acute complications after lumpectomy (before whole breast irradiation) in women with ductal carcinoma in situ or invasive adenocarcinoma of the breast. (time frame: Patients are followed at 1 month and then every 3 months for 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 Jul 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in