AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00054275

Erlotinib Plus Docetaxel in Treating Patients With Stage IV or Recurrent Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel and erlotinib hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by Paula Silverman, MD at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Erlotinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining erlotinib with docetaxel may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
docetaxel and erlotinib hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
39 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Dec 2002to Nov 2012
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed stage IV or recurrent adenocarcinoma of the breast
  • Measurable disease
  • Disease recurrence must not be within 1 year of receiving prior adjuvant docetaxel
  • Stable brain metastases allowed
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Sex

  • Male or female

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • ECOG (Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group) 0-2 OR
  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • More than 6 months

Hematopoietic

  • WBC(White Blood Count) at least 3,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 8 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin normal
  • AST(aspartate aminotransferase)/ALT(alanine aminotransferase) no greater than 2.5 times upper limit of normal

Renal

  • Creatinine normal OR
  • Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min
  • No clinically significant proteinuria
  • No significant impairment of renal function

Cardiovascular

  • No New York Heart Association class III or IV heart disease
  • No symptomatic congestive heart failure
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No cardiac arrhythmia
  • No inadequately controlled hypertension

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception
  • No prior severe hypersensitivity reaction to docetaxel or drugs formulated with polysorbate 80
  • No other malignancy within the past 10 years except inactive nonmelanoma skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, carcinoma in situ of the breast, or bilateral breast cancer
  • No ongoing or active infection
  • No peripheral neuropathy greater than grade 1
  • No other concurrent uncontrolled medical condition that would preclude study participation
  • No psychiatric illness or social situation that would preclude study compliance

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Prior trastuzumab (Herceptin) allowed

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior chemotherapy for recurrent or metastatic disease
  • Prior adjuvant chemotherapy allowed

Endocrine therapy

  • Prior hormonal therapy allowed

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No other concurrent investigational agents

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Case Medical Center, University Hospitals Seidman Cancer Center, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study Of The Weekly Administration Of Docetaxel In Combination With The Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor Inhibitor OSI-774 In Recurrent And/Or Metastatic Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Erlotinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for tumor cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining erlotinib with docetaxel may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining erlotinib with docetaxel in treating patients who have stage IV or recurrent breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the antitumor effects of erlotinib and docetaxel, in terms of objective response, stabilization of disease, and progression-free survival, in patients with stage IV or recurrent breast cancer.
  • Determine time to tumor progression in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Compare time to tumor progression in patients who achieve disease stabilization or response after treatment with this regimen and continue to receive erlotinib versus patients who do not receive additional erlotinib.

OUTLINE: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly for 3 weeks and oral erlotinib once daily beginning on day 1. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for a minimum of 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. Patients achieving maximal tumor response or stabilization of disease after 6 courses may continue to receive erlotinib alone until disease progression.

Patients are followed for survival.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 30 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-14 months.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
docetaxel, erlotinib hydrochloride
Keywords
recurrent breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer, male breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Breast Neoplasms, Male

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • docetaxelDrug

    Also called Taxotere, RP 56976, NSC #628503

    Docetaxel IV infusion weekly for 3 weeks with a one-week break. One cycle is 4 weeks (28 days). Patients' actual weight will be used to calculate dose.

  • erlotinib hydrochlorideDrug

    Also called CP-358, 774, USAN: erlotinib hydrochloride, Tarceva

    OSI-774 will be taken 1 hour before or 2 hours after meals. Cycle 1 will be administered at dose level -1.If no grade 3 or 4 toxicity occurs during cycle 1, then the patient may proceed to be treated at dose level 0 for the remaining chemotherapy cycles.

Study groups in NCT00054275
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Erlotinib Plus DocetaxelExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: docetaxel; Drug: erlotinib hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Disease Response (Tumor Measurements)Per RECIST Criteria v. 2000

    Response and progression will be evaluated in this study using the criteria by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Committee. Changes in only the largest diameter (unidimensional measurement) of the tumor lesions are used in the RECIST criteria. Partial Response: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions. Progressive Disease: At least a 20% increase in the sum of the LD of target lesions. Stable Disease: Neither sufficient shrinkage nor sufficient increase.

    Measured: after 6 course (6 months) of combination therapy

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. Progression Free Survival(PFS)

    Progression free survival was defined as time from the start of treatment to the date of cancer progression, or death, and censored at the date of last follow-up for those without disease progression and still alive. Stable disease is measured from the start of the treatment until progression, taking as reference the smallest measurements recorded since the treatment started. Progressive Disease (PD): At least a 20% increase in the sum of the LD of target lesions. Stable Disease (SD): Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD.

    Measured: 3 years

  2. Overall Survival as of 2008

    Overall survival (OS) was defined as time from the start of treatment to death, and censored at the time of last assessment for survivors.

    Measured: 5 yrs

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted6 Feb 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 2002
  3. Primary completionApr 2010
  4. Study completionNov 2012

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
39 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00054275
Sponsor's protocol ID
CWRU1102
Other IDs
P30CA043703, 07-02-14M, CASE-CWRU-1102
Status last verified
Feb 2016
First submitted
5 Feb 2003
Last updated
17 Feb 2016
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel and erlotinib hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by Paula Silverman, MD at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Feb 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 13 Mar 2012). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Disease Response (Tumor Measurements)Per RECIST Criteria v. 2000 (time frame: after 6 course (6 months) of combination therapy). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Feb 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in
Clinical Trial NCT00054275 | AzTrials