AzTrials
AzTrials

LeukemiaPhase 2NCT00040690

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Burkitt's Lymphoma or Burkitt's Leukemia

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and cytarabine in people with Leukemia and Lymphoma, run by Medical Research Council at 1 site in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have Burkitt's lymphoma or Burkitt's… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 16 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Leukemia, Lymphoma
What is being tested?
filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and cytarabine
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
120 participants
Where
1 siteUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Nov 2008to Dec 2008
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 16 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of diffuse B-cell lymphoma in a nodal or an extranodal site
  • CD20 and CD79 positive
  • 100% expression of Ki67 (MIB1) in all of the tumor cells OR
  • Diagnosis of bone marrow replacement/leukemia comprising mature B-cell lymphoma
  • sIg and CD19 positive
  • CD34 and Tdt negative
  • Patients in the low-risk group must meet at least 3 of the following criteria:
  • Normal lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) level
  • WHO performance status 0-1
  • Ann Arbor stage I or II
  • No more than 1 extranodal site (e.g., bone marrow, gastrointestinal tract, or CNS)
  • Patients in the high-risk group must meet at least 2 of the following criteria:
  • Raised LDH level
  • WHO performance status 2-4
  • Ann Arbor stage III or IV
  • More than 1 extranodal site

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 16 and over

Performance status:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Hepatic:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No mental or physical status that would preclude study
  • No other disease or prior malignancy that would preclude study
  • HIV negative
  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy except 1 course of preinduction chemotherapy (e.g., CHOP [cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, and prednisone] or a related regimen)

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United Kingdom1 site
  • Medical Research Council Clinical Trials Unit

    London, England, NW1 2DA

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Clinicopathological Study In Burkitts's And Burkitt-Like Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have Burkitt's lymphoma or Burkitt's leukemia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Describe the morphology, phenotype, and cytogenetics, using fresh tumor tissue (when possible), in patients with Burkitt's or Burkitt-like lymphoma/leukemia treated with the CODOX-M chemotherapy regimen (cyclophosphamide, vincristine, doxorubicin, and methotrexate) alone or alternating with the IVAC chemotherapy regimen (ifosfamide, etoposide, and cytarabine).
  • Determine whether cytogenetic and molecular changes are associated with or predictable from the immunophenotype of the tumor cells or patient characteristics (e.g., age).
  • Examine the relationship between t(14;18) and bcl-2 expression in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine whether the presence of specific cytogenetic and molecular changes, in particular the presence of t(14;18) and t(8;14), is associated with an adverse outcome (progression-free and overall survival) in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Assess the activity of the alternating CODOX-M/IVAC chemotherapy regimens using a lower dose of methotrexate (compared to the UKLG LY06 trial) in these patients.
  • Assess further the activity of these regimens in patients with leukemic Burkitt's lymphoma.
  • Modify the chemotherapy doses in these regimens to include older patients who are often excluded from clinical trials.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients with low-risk disease are assigned to group A, while patients with high-risk disease are assigned to group B.

Group A (low-risk group):

  • Patients receive 3 courses of the CODOX-M chemotherapy regimen comprising cyclophosphamide IV on days 1-5, vincristine IV on days 1 and 8, doxorubicin IV on day 1, and methotrexate (MTX) IV over 24 hours on day 10. Patients over age 65 receive reduced-dose MTX on day 10. All patients receive leucovorin calcium (CF) IV once at hour 36 after initiation of MTX infusion, once every 3 hours between hours 36-48, and continuing once every 6 hours until blood levels of MTX are safe. Patients also receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) once daily beginning on day 13 and continuing until blood counts recover.
  • During all 3 courses of the CODOX-M regimen, patients receive CNS prophylaxis comprising cytarabine (ARA-C) intrathecally (IT) on days 1 and 3, MTX IT on day 15, and oral CF (24 hours after IT MTX) on day 16.

Group B (high-risk group):

  • Patients receive the CODOX-M chemotherapy regimen (as above) alternating with the IVAC chemotherapy regimen (as defined below) for a total of 4 courses given in the following sequence: CODOX-M, IVAC, CODOX-M, and IVAC. The IVAC chemotherapy regimen comprises ifosfamide (IFF) IV over 1 hour and etoposide IV over 1 hour on days 1-5 and ARA-C IV over 3 hours on days 1 and 2. Patients over age 65 receive reduced-dose IFF and ARA-C. Patients also receive G-CSF SC once daily beginning on day 7 and continuing until blood counts recover.
  • During IVAC, patients without CNS disease receive MTX IT on day 5 and oral CF (24 hours after MTX). Patients with proven CNS disease receive intensified IT therapy throughout the first two courses of CODOX-M/IVAC chemotherapy.

For patients in group B with CNS disease at diagnosis, radiotherapy is only considered in the presence of a cerebral mass documented by CT scan or MRI. Patients in group A or B who develop isolated CNS recurrence (documented by malignant CSF pleocytosis, cranial nerve palsies, or both) at any time after the first course of study therapy receive the same CNS treatment (as above) as patients with proven CNS disease in addition to whole brain irradiation for 3 weeks.

Patients are followed monthly for 4 months, every 2 months for 8 months, every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A minimum of 120 patients (30 with low-risk disease and 90 with high-risk disease) will be accrued for this study within approximately 3-4 years.

Conditions
Leukemia, Lymphoma
Keywords
untreated adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia, L3 adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia, stage I adult Burkitt lymphoma, stage III adult Burkitt lymphoma, stage IV adult Burkitt lymphoma, contiguous stage II adult Burkitt lymphoma, noncontiguous stage II adult Burkitt lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Leukemia, Lymphoma, Burkitt Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Progression-free survival

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Survival time

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2008
  3. Study completionDec 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
120 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00040690
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000069374
Other IDs
MRC-LY10, EU-20117
Status last verified
May 2007
First submitted
8 Jul 2002
Last updated
19 Dec 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Mead GM, Barrans SL, Qian W, Walewski J, Radford JA, Wolf M, Clawson SM, Stenning SP, Yule CL, Jack AS; UK National Cancer Research Institute Lymphoma Clinical Studies Group; Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group. A prospective clinicopathologic study of dose-modified CODOX-M/IVAC in patients with sporadic Burkitt lymphoma defined using cytogenetic and immunophenotypic criteria (MRC/NCRI LY10 trial). Blood. 2008 Sep 15;112(6):2248-60. doi: 10.1182/blood-2008-03-145128. Epub 2008 Jul 8.

    PubMed 18612102

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, cyclophosphamide and cytarabine in people with Leukemia and Lymphoma, run by Medical Research Council at 1 site in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Dec 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Progression-free survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00040690, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Dec 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in