AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 2NCT00033280

Temozolomide Plus Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Anaplastic Oligodendrogliomas or Mixed Anaplastic Oligoastrocytomas

A Phase 2 study testing temozolomide, neoadjuvant therapy and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 39 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy and radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 65 years
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
temozolomide, neoadjuvant therapy and radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
42 participants
Where
39 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Jul 2002to 14 May 2018
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 65 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed supratentorial pure or mixed anaplastic oligodendroglioma
  • Unifocal or multifocal disease
  • Prior suspected or proven low-grade glioma eligible provided biopsy reveals pure or mixed anaplastic oligodendroglioma that has not been previously treated with radiotherapy and/or chemotherapy
  • No equivocal oligodendroglial element
  • No tumors predominantly located in the posterior fossa (i.e., brainstem or cerebellum)
  • No spinal cord tumors
  • No evidence of spinal drop metastasis or spread to noncontiguous meninges

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 to 65

Performance status:

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • More than 12 weeks

Hematopoietic:

  • Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 2 times normal
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) no greater than 3 times normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2 times normal

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times normal

Other:

  • No active infection
  • No other medical problems that would preclude study participation
  • No other malignancy within the past 3 years except carcinoma in situ of the cervix or nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior chemotherapy for this malignancy
  • No prior temozolomide

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior radiotherapy to the brain, head, or neck

Surgery:

  • At least 14 days since prior surgery requiring general anesthesia

Trial locations and contacts

39 sites in 2 countries.

39 sites in 2 countries

United States38 sites
  • Akron City Hospital

    Akron, Ohio, 44304

  • Anderson Area Cancer Center

    Anderson, South Carolina, 29621-5705

  • Adena Regional Medical Center

    Chillicothe, Ohio, 45601

  • CCOP - Columbus

    Columbus, Ohio, 43206

  • Riverside Methodist Hospital

    Columbus, Ohio, 43214

  • Mount Carmel West Hospital

    Columbus, Ohio, 43222

  • Grady Memorial Hospital

    Delaware, Ohio, 43015

  • Shands Cancer Center at the University of Florida Health Science Center

    Gainesville, Florida, 32610-0385

  • Wayne Memorial Hospital, Inc.

    Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27533

  • Mayo Clinic

    Jacksonville, Florida, 32224

  • CCOP - Kansas City

    Kansas City, Missouri, 64131

  • Gundersen Lutheran Cancer Center at Gundersen Lutheran Medical Center

    La Crosse, Wisconsin, 54601

  • Fairfield Medical Center

    Lancaster, Ohio, 43130

  • Monmouth Medical Center

    Long Branch, New Jersey, 07740-6395

  • University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Madison, Wisconsin, 53792

  • Strecker Cancer Center at Marietta Memorial Hospital

    Marietta, Ohio, 45750-1635

  • CCOP - Marshfield Clinic Research Foundation

    Marshfield, Wisconsin, 54449

  • University of Miami Sylvester Cancer Center

    Miami, Florida, 33136

  • Baptist Hospital of Miami

    Miami, Florida, 33256-2110

  • Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53226

  • Mobile Infirmary Medical Center

    Mobile, Alabama, 36652-2144

  • Cottonwood Hospital Medical Center

    Murray, Utah, 84107

  • Licking Memorial Hospital

    Newark, Ohio, 43055-2899

  • McKay-Dee Hospital Center

    Ogden, Utah, 84403

  • Methodist Hospital Cancer Center at Nebraska Methodist Hospital - Omaha

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68114-4199

  • Foundation for Cancer Research and Education

    Phoenix, Arizona, 85013

  • Mercy Hospital of Pittsburgh

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15219

  • CCOP - Columbia River Oncology Program

    Portland, Oregon, 97225

  • Utah Valley Regional Medical Center - Provo

    Provo, Utah, 84604

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • Rutherford Hospital

    Rutherfordton, North Carolina, 28139-0000

  • University of Utah Health Sciences Center

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84132

  • LDS Hospital

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84143

  • CCOP - Mayo Clinic Scottsdale Oncology Program

    Scottsdale, Arizona, 85259-5404

  • University Cancer Center at University of Washington Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98195-6043

  • Dixie Regional Medical Center

    St. George, Utah, 84770

  • CCOP - Toledo Community Hospital

    Toledo, Ohio, 43623-3456

  • CCOP - Southeast Cancer Control Consortium

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27104-4241

Other trials in United States

Canada1 site
  • Saint John Regional Hospital

    Saint John, New Brunswick, E2L 4L2

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Trial Of Pre-Irradiation And Concurrent Temozolomide In Patients With Newly Diagnosed Anaplastic Oligodendrogliomas And Mixed Anaplastic Oligoastrocytomas

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy and radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining temozolomide with radiation therapy in treating patients who have newly diagnosed anaplastic oligodendrogliomas or mixed anaplastic oligoastrocytomas.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the rate of progression in patients with newly diagnosed anaplastic oligodendrogliomas or mixed anaplastic oligoastrocytomas treated with neoadjuvant and concurrent temozolomide with radiotherapy.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the survival of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to response to neoadjuvant temozolomide (stable disease or partial response (PR) vs complete response (CR)).

Patients receive oral temozolomide on days 1-7 and 15-21. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with CR or PR receive 2 courses beyond CR or PR.

Within 6 weeks after completion of neoadjuvant temozolomide, patients with stable disease or PR undergo radiotherapy 5 days a week for 6.5 weeks. Patients also receive oral temozolomide daily for 42 days concurrently with radiotherapy.

Patients with CR after completion of neoadjuvant temozolomide undergo observation.

Patients are followed at 9 and 12 months, every 4 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A maximum of 37 patients will be accrued for this study within 12 months.

Being tested
temozolomide, neoadjuvant therapy, radiation therapy
Keywords
adult anaplastic oligodendroglioma, adult mixed glioma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Oligodendroglioma, Glioma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00033280
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Pre-RT temozolomide, RT plus temozolomideExperimentalPre-radiation therapy (RT) temozolomide, RT plus temozolomide
Receives: Drug: temozolomide; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Rate of progression at 6 months (post-chemotherapy/pre-irradiation progression)

    Measured: From start of treatment to 6 months

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Overall Survival

    Measured: From registration to date of death or last follow-up

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 2002
  3. Primary completionApr 2005
  4. Study completion14 May 2018

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
42 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00033280
Sponsor's protocol ID
RTOG-BR-0131
Other IDs
CDR0000069270
Status last verified
May 2018
First submitted
9 Apr 2002
Last updated
22 Oct 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes
Individual data sharing
No

Publications

  • Vogelbaum MA, Berkey B, Peereboom D, Macdonald D, Giannini C, Suh JH, Jenkins R, Herman J, Brown P, Blumenthal DT, Biggs C, Schultz C, Mehta M. Phase II trial of preirradiation and concurrent temozolomide in patients with newly diagnosed anaplastic oligodendrogliomas and mixed anaplastic oligoastrocytomas: RTOG BR0131. Neuro Oncol. 2009 Apr;11(2):167-75. doi: 10.1215/15228517-2008-073. Epub 2008 Sep 8.

    PubMed 18779504
  • Vogelbaum MA, Berkey B, Peereboom D, et al.: RTOG 0131: phase II trial of pre-irradiation and concurrent temozolomide in patients with newly diagnosed anaplastic oligodendrogliomas and mixed anaplastic oligodendrogliomas: relationship between 1p/19q status and progression-free survival. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 24 (Suppl 18): A-1517, 2006.

  • Vogelbaum MA, Berkey B, Peereboom D, et al.: RTOG 0131: phase II trial of pre-irradiation and concurrent temozolomide in patients with newly diagnosed anaplastic oligodendrogliomas and mixed anaplastic oligodendrogliomas. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 23 (Suppl 16): A-1520, 119s, 2005.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing temozolomide, neoadjuvant therapy and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 39 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Oct 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 39 sites in United States, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Rate of progression at 6 months (post-chemotherapy/pre-irradiation progression) (time frame: From start of treatment to 6 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00033280, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Oct 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in