AzTrials
AzTrials

LymphomaPhase 1NCT00031902

Rituximab Plus Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With HIV-Related Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

A Phase 1 study testing bleomycin sulfate, rituximab and prednisolone in people with Lymphoma, run by Lymphoma Trials Office at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lymphoma
What is being tested?
bleomycin sulfate, rituximab and prednisolone
How many people
Not given
Where
2 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Oct 2001to not given
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of poor-prognosis, HIV-related non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (HIV-NHL)
  • Previously untreated
  • More than 1 of the following criteria:
  • Prior diagnosis of AIDS
  • ECOG performance status 3-4
  • CD4 count less than 100/mm3
  • No primary cerebral lymphoma

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy for HIV-NHL
  • At least 1 year since prior chemotherapy for Kaposi's sarcoma (KS)

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Prior radiotherapy for HIV-NHL allowed
  • At least 1 year since prior radiotherapy for KS

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United Kingdom2 sites
  • St. George's Hospital

    London, England, SW17 0QT

  • Chelsea Westminster Hospital

    London, SW10 9NH

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Rituxumab Combined With Chemotherapy (PVB) For Poor Prognosis HIV-Related Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as rituximab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining rituximab with chemotherapy may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of rituximab plus combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have HIV-related non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the response rate of patients with poor-prognosis, HIV-related non-Hodgkin's lymphoma treated with rituximab combined with prednisolone, vincristine, and bleomycin.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the time to progression and survival of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV and bleomycin IV on day 1 and oral prednisolone every other day beginning on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 6 courses. Patients also receive rituximab on days 14, 21, 28, and 35. Patients who achieve complete response (CR) receive 2 additional courses of chemotherapy after CR.

Patients are followed every 1-2 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 10-20 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lymphoma
Being tested
bleomycin sulfate, rituximab, prednisolone, vincristine sulfate
Keywords
AIDS-related peripheral/systemic lymphoma, AIDS-related diffuse large cell lymphoma, AIDS-related immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, AIDS-related small noncleaved cell lymphoma, AIDS-related diffuse mixed cell lymphoma, AIDS-related diffuse small cleaved cell lymphoma, AIDS-related lymphoblastic lymphoma
Medical subject headings
Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2001

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00031902
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000069238
Other IDs
BNLI-POORRISKHIV, EU-20145
Status last verified
Feb 2003
First submitted
8 Mar 2002
Last updated
20 Sep 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing bleomycin sulfate, rituximab and prednisolone in people with Lymphoma, run by Lymphoma Trials Office at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Sep 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Sep 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in