AzTrials
AzTrials

Colorectal CancerPhase 2NCT00022698

Capecitabine and Irinotecan in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced, Recurrent, or Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing Capecitabine and Irinotecan in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 17 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining capecitabine and irinotecan in treating patients who have locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic colorectal cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Colorectal Cancer
What is being tested?
Capecitabine and Irinotecan
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
67 participants
Where
17 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2001to Dec 2004
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed locally advanced, locally recurrent, or metastatic colorectal adenocarcinoma
  • At least 1 measurable lesion
  • At least 10 mm by spiral CT scan
  • At least 20 mm by conventional techniques
  • Bone metastases, ascites, or pleural effusions are not considered measurable disease
  • No evidence of CNS metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • Karnofsky 80-100%

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.25 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • ALT and AST no greater than 2.5 times ULN (5 times ULN if liver metastases present)
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.5 times ULN (5 times ULN if liver metastases present or 10 times ULN if bone metastases present)
  • No known Gilbert's disease

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN
  • Creatinine clearance at least 50 mL/min

Cardiovascular:

  • No clinically significant cardiac disease
  • No congestive heart failure
  • No symptomatic coronary artery disease
  • No cardiac arrhythmias uncontrolled with medication
  • No myocardial infarction within the past 12 months

Gastrointestinal:

  • Able to swallow tablets
  • No lack of physical integrity of the upper gastrointestinal tract
  • No malabsorption syndrome

Other:

  • No prior unanticipated severe reaction to fluoropyrimidine therapy
  • No hypersensitivity to fluorouracil
  • No history of uncontrolled seizures or CNS disorders
  • No psychological illness or condition that would preclude study entry
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No serious infection
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • At least 12 months since prior neoadjuvant or adjuvant, active or passive immunotherapy
  • No concurrent active or passive immunotherapy (e.g., 17-1A antibody) for colon cancer
  • No concurrent prophylactic hematopoietic growth factors

Chemotherapy:

  • At least 12 months since prior neoadjuvant or adjuvant cytotoxic chemotherapy
  • No prior chemotherapy for metastatic colorectal cancer
  • No prior therapy with irinotecan or capecitabine
  • No other concurrent cytotoxic agents

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy
  • No prior radiotherapy to measurable lesion (newly arising lesions in a previously irradiated area allowed)
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior major surgery and recovered
  • No prior organ allograft

Other:

  • At least 4 weeks since prior participation in an investigational drug study
  • No other concurrent investigational drugs

Trial locations and contacts

17 sites in 1 country.

17 sites in 1 country

United States17 sites
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294-3300

  • HemOnCare, P.C.

    Brooklyn, New York, 11235

  • Charleston Hematology-Oncology, P.A.

    Charleston, South Carolina, 29403

  • Cancer Center at the University of Virginia

    Charlottesville, Virginia, 22908

  • University of Florida Health Science Center - Jacksonville

    Jacksonville, Florida, 32209

  • Markey Cancer Center at University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0084

  • Loma Linda University Cancer Institute at Loma Linda University Medical Center

    Loma Linda, California, 92354

  • West Virginia University Hospitals

    Morgantown, West Virginia, 26506-9300

  • Eastern Connecticut Hematology and Oncology Associates

    Norwich, Connecticut, 06360

  • Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19107-5541

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111

  • Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus

    Seattle, Washington, 98104

  • Rockwood Clinic P.S.

    Spokane, Washington, 99202

  • St. Louis University Hospital Cancer Center

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110-0250

  • Lincoln Medical and Mental Health Center

    The Bronx, New York, 10451

  • Lombardi Cancer Center at Georgetown University Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20007

  • George Washington University Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20037

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study of Oral Xeloda (Capecitabine) in Combination With Intravenous Irinotecan for Patients With Locally Advanced and/or Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining capecitabine and irinotecan in treating patients who have locally advanced, recurrent, or metastatic colorectal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary:

  • Determine the overall objective response rate in patients with locally advanced, locally recurrent, or metastatic colorectal cancer treated with capecitabine and irinotecan.

Secondary:

  • Determine the time to treatment failure, time to overall response, duration of overall response, duration of overall complete response, and time to progression in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the 1-year survival and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the toxicity and safety profile of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the feasibility of predicting responses to this regimen by the molecular profile of tumor tissue in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive oral capecitabine twice daily on days 2-15 and irinotecan IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 12 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients maintaining a response or stable disease after 12 courses may continue treatment at the discretion of the investigator.

Patients are followed every 3 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 65 patients will be accrued for this study within 9 months.

Keywords
stage III colon cancer, stage IV colon cancer, stage III rectal cancer, stage IV rectal cancer, recurrent colon cancer, recurrent rectal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the colon, adenocarcinoma of the rectum
Medical subject headings
Colorectal Neoplasms, Colonic Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00022698
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Cohort 1,Initial Regimen:(Capecitabine + Irinotecan )ExperimentalParticipants will receive capecitabine (Xeloda) 1000 mg/m^2, orally, twice daily, for 14 days (Day 2 through Day 15) every 3 weeks, along with irinotecan 125 mg/m^2 as a 90-minute intravenous (IV) infusion on Day 1 and Day 8, every 3 weeks. A total of 12 cycles of treatment will be administered. At the discretion of the investigator, participants who are responding or whose disease is stable will be permitted to continue capecitabine/irinotecan combination therapy until progressive disease is documented in the post-study treatment phase. Participants not participating in post-study treatment will be followed every 3 months until time of death, loss to follow-up, or until median survival had been reached (whichever occurred first).
Receives: Drug: Capecitabine; Drug: Irinotecan
Cohort 2,Amended Regimen:(Capecitabine + Irinotecan)ExperimentalParticipants will receive capecitabine 900 mg/m^2, orally, twice daily, for 14 days (Day 2 through Day 15) every 3 weeks, along with irinotecan 100 mg/m^2 as a 90-minute intravenous (IV) infusion on Day 1 and Day 8, every 3 weeks. A total of 12 cycles of treatment will be administered. At the discretion of the investigator, participants who will be responding or whose disease is stable will be permitted to continue capecitabine/irinotecan combination therapy until progressive disease is documented in the post-study treatment phase. Participants not participating in post-study treatment will be followed every 3 months until time of death, loss to follow-up, or until median survival had been reached (whichever occurred first).
Receives: Drug: Capecitabine; Drug: Irinotecan

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Tumor Response Rate Based on Tumor Measurement as Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Version 1.0 (RECIST 1.0)

    Objective Response Rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants with complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) according to response evaluation criteria in solid tumors (RECIST 1.0). CR is defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. PR is defined as a greater than or equal to (>/=) 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of the target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum of LD. Participants who did not have a post-baseline tumor measurement were considered non-responders in the assessment of ORR.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

Secondary outcomes (8)
  1. Time to Disease Progression

    Time to disease progression was assessed as the time from start of treatment to the time the participant was first recorded as having disease progression or died due to causes other than disease progression. If a participant never progressed while being followed, he/she was censored at the date of the last tumor assessment or the date of the last dose if no post-baseline tumor measurement was available.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

  2. Time to Treatment Failure

    Time to treatment failure was assessed as the time from start of treatment to the time the participant was withdrawn due to any of the reasons such as adverse events, progressive disease, insufficient therapeutic response, death, failure to return, or refused treatment, did not cooperate or withdrew consent.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

  3. Percentage of Participants With One-year Survival

    Survival was measured as the time from start of treatment to the date of death or till one year whichever occurred first.

    Measured: Up to Month 12

  4. Overall Survival

    Overall Survival is defined as the time from start of treatment to the date of death. Participants who did not die were censored at the last date the participant was known to be alive.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

  5. Time To Objective Response

    The time to objective response is defined as the time from start of treatment to the date of first objective response. Participants who never responded during study were censored at the last tumor assessment or the date of last dose, whichever was later, or at the date of death if occurring prior to response.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

  6. Duration of Overall Response

    Duration of overall response was assessed from the time that measurement criteria were first met for CR/PR (whichever is first recorded) until the first date that recurrent or progressive disease was documented. It was analyzed for responders only. Participants without observed progressive disease after an objective response were censored at the date of the last tumor assessment.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

  7. Duration of Overall Complete Response

    The duration of overall complete response was assessed from the time that measurement criteria were met for complete response until the first date that recurrent or progressive disease was objectively documented. Participants without observed progressive disease after an objective complete response were censored at the date of the last tumor assessment.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

  8. Number of Participants With Any Adverse Events, Serious Adverse Events and Deaths

    An adverse event (AEs) is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An adverse event can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product. Preexisting conditions which worsen during a study are also considered as adverse events. A serious adverse event is defined as any event which was fatal (resulted in death), life-threatening (with immediate risk of death), resulted in a new or prolongation of a current hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, was a congenital anomaly or birth defect, considered medically significant by the investigator, required intervention to prevent one or more of the outcomes listed above.

    Measured: Approximately 43 Months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2001
  3. Primary completionDec 2004
  4. Study completionDec 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
67 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00022698
Sponsor's protocol ID
ML16323
Status last verified
Feb 2005
First submitted
10 Aug 2001
Last updated
15 Apr 2016

Publications

  • Meropol NJ, Gold PJ, Diasio RB, Andria M, Dhami M, Godfrey T, Kovatich AJ, Lund KA, Mitchell E, Schwarting R. Thymidine phosphorylase expression is associated with response to capecitabine plus irinotecan in patients with metastatic colorectal cancer. J Clin Oncol. 2006 Sep 1;24(25):4069-77. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2005.05.2084.

    PubMed 16943524
  • Carlini LE, Meropol NJ, Bever J, Andria ML, Hill T, Gold P, Rogatko A, Wang H, Blanchard RL. UGT1A7 and UGT1A9 polymorphisms predict response and toxicity in colorectal cancer patients treated with capecitabine/irinotecan. Clin Cancer Res. 2005 Feb 1;11(3):1226-36.

    PubMed 15709193

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Capecitabine and Irinotecan in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by Hoffmann-La Roche at 17 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Apr 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 17 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 15 Apr 2016). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Tumor Response Rate Based on Tumor Measurement as Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Version 1.0 (RECIST 1.0) (time frame: Approximately 43 Months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00022698, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Apr 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in