AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 2NCT00017563

Combination Chemotherapy Followed by Surgery in Treating Patients With Localized Prostate Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel, mitoxantrone hydrochloride and conventional surgery in people with Prostate Cancer, run by OHSU Knight Cancer Institute at 2 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug and giving chemotherapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
docetaxel, mitoxantrone hydrochloride and conventional surgery
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
57 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Sep 2000to May 2010
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • High-risk, as defined by 1 of the following:
  • Stage T2b (palpable bilateral involvement) or surgically resectable T3
  • PSA 15 ng/mL or greater
  • Gleason grade greater than 4+3 (4+3, 4+4, or 5+any, but not 3+4)
  • At least a 50% chance of prostate cancer recurrence within 5 years
  • Planned prostatectomy as primary therapy
  • No evidence of bone metastases by bone scan
  • No evidence of lymph nodes greater than 2 cm on pelvic computed tomography (CT) scan (scan required only if PSA greater than 40 ng/mL)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group(ECOG) 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • At least 10 years

Hematopoietic:

  • White Blood Cell(WBC) at least 3,000/mm^3
  • Neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Conjugated bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 4 times ULN
  • Alanine transaminase(ALT) no greater than 2 times ULN (1.5 times ULN if alkaline phosphatase greater than 2.5 times ULN)

Renal:

  • Not specified

Cardiovascular:

  • Ejection fraction greater than 50% by Multiple Gated Acquisition(MUGA)scan

Other:

  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • No significant active medical illness that would preclude study therapy
  • No peripheral neuropathy grade 2 or greater
  • No hypersensitivity to drugs formulated with polysorbate-80
  • No significant contraindications to corticosteroids

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy
  • No other concurrent cytotoxic chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • No prior or concurrent conventional hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior or concurrent radiotherapy (external beam or brachytherapy)

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other:

  • No prior or concurrent cryotherapy

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United States2 sites
  • OHSU Knight Cancer Institute

    Portland, Oregon, 97239-3098

  • Portland VA Medical Center

    Portland, Oregon, 97239

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I/II Study of Neoadjuvant Weekly Docetaxel and Mitoxantrone Prior to Prostatectomy in Patients With High Risk Localized Prostate Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug and giving chemotherapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery.

PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy followed by surgery in treating patients who have localized prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the 5-year freedom from prostate-specific antigen (PSA) recurrence in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Define the maximum tolerated dose of neoadjuvant docetaxel and mitoxantrone followed by prostatectomy in patients with high-risk localized prostate cancer. (Phase I completed as of 2/15/02)
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the PSA response rate and pathologic response rate in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the clinical response in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the surgical margin status at time of prostatectomy in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of mitoxantrone. (Phase I completed as of 2/15/02)

Patients receive neoadjuvant docetaxel and mitoxantrone weekly on weeks 1-3. Treatment repeats once a week for a total of 4 courses.

Patients receive escalating doses of mitoxantrone until the maximum tolerated dose is determined. (Phase I completed as of 2/15/02)

Patients undergo prostatectomy 2-4 weeks after completion of neoadjuvant chemotherapy.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 60 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
docetaxel, mitoxantrone hydrochloride, conventional surgery
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the prostate, stage II prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • docetaxelDrug

    35 mg/m2 i.v. over 15 - 30 minutes will be administered immediately after the mitoxantrone on the same schedule.

  • mitoxantrone hydrochlorideDrug

    Initial dose will be 2 mg/m2 weekly for 3 of every 4 weeks. The dose will then be escalated as described in the dose escalation section up to a maximum dose of 6 mg/m2 weekly for 3 of every 4 weeks.

  • conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

    Prostatectomy will be scheduled 2 - 4 weeks after the last dose of chemotherapy.

Study groups in NCT00017563
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Docetaxel, Mitoxantrone, Conventional SurgeryExperimentalDrug: Docetaxel-35 mg/m2 i.v. over 15 - 30 minutes will be administered immediately after the mitoxantrone on the same schedule. Drug: Mitoxantrone-Initial dose will be 2 mg/m2 weekly for 3 of every 4 weeks. The dose will then be escalated as described in the dose escalation section up to a maximum dose of 6 mg/m2 weekly for 3 of every 4 weeks. Procedure/Surgery: Conventional Surgery- Prostatectomy will be scheduled 2-4 weeks after the last dose of chemotherapy
Receives: Drug: docetaxel; Drug: mitoxantrone hydrochloride; Procedure: conventional surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Number of Participants With 5-year Freedom From Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) Recurrence.

    Number of participants that experienced 5-year freedom from Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) recurrence (PSA > 0.4 ng/ml confirmed by a second PSA that is higher than the first by any amount (2)) in men with high risk localized prostate cancer treated with neoadjuvant docetaxel/mitoxantrone followed by surgery.

    Measured: Every 3 months after surgery for up to 5 years.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2000
  3. Primary completionMay 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
57 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00017563
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068719
Other IDs
OHSU-2794, OHSU-HOR-00037-L, NCI-G01-1962
Status last verified
Apr 2017
First submitted
6 Jun 2001
Last updated
28 Apr 2017
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel, mitoxantrone hydrochloride and conventional surgery in people with Prostate Cancer, run by OHSU Knight Cancer Institute at 2 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 28 Apr 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 31 Aug 2011). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Number of Participants With 5-year Freedom From Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) Recurrence. (time frame: Every 3 months after surgery for up to 5 years.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 28 Apr 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in