AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 1NCT00016315

Gemcitabine, Carboplatin or Paclitaxel Plus Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage IIIA or IIIB Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, gemcitabine hydrochloride and paclitaxel in people with Lung Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 19 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine, carboplatin, and paclitaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin, gemcitabine hydrochloride and paclitaxel
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
35 participants
Where
19 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2001to Jun 2010
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed loco-regionally advanced non-small cell lung cancer meeting one of the following staging criteria:
  • Medically inoperable stage IIIA
  • Unresectable stage IIIA or IIIB
  • Measurable disease on three-dimensional planning CT scan
  • No post-resection intrathoracic tumor recurrence
  • No pleural effusion on chest x-ray except those occurring after attempted thoracotomy or other invasive thoracic procedure
  • No evidence of small cell histology
  • No evidence of hematogenous or distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Not specified

Performance status:

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Absolute granulocyte count at least 2,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 8.0 g/dL

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL
  • Serum glutamate oxaloacetate transaminase (SGOT) no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (unless caused by documented benign disease)

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Cardiovascular:

  • No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months
  • No symptomatic heart disease, including angina, congestive heart failure, or uncontrolled arrhythmia

Pulmonary:

  • Forced expiratory volume (FEV)_1 greater than 1,000 mL

Other:

  • No other invasive malignancy within the past 3 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • No weight loss of more than 10% in 3 months prior to diagnosis
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior thoracic or neck radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior complete or subtotal tumor resection

Trial locations and contacts

19 sites in 1 country.

19 sites in 1 country

United States19 sites
  • Akron City Hospital

    Akron, Ohio, 44304

  • Danville Regional Medical Center

    Danville, Virginia, 24541

  • Delaware County Memorial Hospital

    Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, 19026

  • Wendt Regional Cancer Center of Finley Hospital

    Dubuque, Iowa, 52001

  • Dale and Frances Hughes Cancer Center

    East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, 18301

  • Gundersen Lutheran Cancer Center at Gundersen Lutheran Medical Center

    La Crosse, Wisconsin, 54601

  • Monmouth Medical Center

    Long Branch, New Jersey, 07740-6395

  • University of Miami Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Miami, Florida, 33136

  • Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53226

  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Milwaukee (Zablocki)

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53295

  • Cottonwood Hospital Medical Center

    Murray, Utah, 84107

  • Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center at Vanderbilt Medical Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-5671

  • CCOP - Bay Area Tumor Institute

    Oakland, California, 94609-3305

  • McKay-Dee Hospital Center

    Ogden, Utah, 84403

  • Mercy Hospital of Pittsburgh

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15219

  • Utah Valley Regional Medical Center - Provo

    Provo, Utah, 84604

  • Cancer Care Center, Incorporated

    Salem, Ohio, 44460

  • LDS Hospital

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84143

  • Dixie Regional Medical Center

    St. George, Utah, 84770

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Study of Gemcitabine, Carboplatin or Gemcitabine, Paclitaxel and Radiation Therapy Followed by Adjuvant Chemotherapy for Patients With Favorable Prognosis Inoperable Stage IIIA/B Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as gemcitabine, carboplatin, and paclitaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining radiation therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining combination chemotherapy with radiation therapy in treating patients who have stage IIIA or stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of gemcitabine when administered with carboplatin and thoracic radiotherapy followed by adjuvant gemcitabine and carboplatin in patients with stage IIIA or IIIB non-small cell lung cancer.
  • Determine the MTD of gemcitabine and paclitaxel when administered with thoracic radiotherapy followed by adjuvant gemcitabine and carboplatin in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter, dose-escalation study of gemcitabine and paclitaxel. Patients are sequentially assigned to 1 of 3 treatment regimens.

  • Regimen A: Patients receive gemcitabine IV over 30-60 minutes on days 1, 8, 22, 29, and 43 and thoracic radiotherapy daily 5 days a week for 7 weeks beginning on day 1.
  • Regimen B (closed to accrual as of 5/13/03): Patients receive gemcitabine and thoracic radiotherapy as in regimen A and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on days 1, 8, 22, 29, and 43.
  • Regimen C: Patients receive gemcitabine and thoracic radiotherapy as in regimen A and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1, 8, 22, 29, and 43.

At 3 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy, all patients receive adjuvant gemcitabine IV over 30-60 minutes on days 71, 78, 92, and 99 and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on days 71 and 92.

The first 6 patients enrolled receive regimen A to determine the safety of the initial dose of gemcitabine. After completion of regimen A, cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of gemcitabine in regimen B (closed to accrual as of 5/13/03) until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. In a separate sequence, cohorts of 3-6 patients receive alternating escalating doses of gemcitabine and paclitaxel in regimen C until the MTD is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which at least 3 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

Patients are followed at 3 months, 6 months, every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A maximum of 78 patients will be accrued for this study within 29 months.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
carboplatin, gemcitabine hydrochloride, paclitaxel, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00016315
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm 1ExperimentalSequence A: Gemcitabine 300 mg/m2/week plus radiation therapy (RT)
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 2ExperimentalSequence B: Gemcitabine 300 mg/m2/week plus paclitaxel 30 mg/m2/week and RT
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: paclitaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 3ExperimentalSequence A: Gemcitabine 300 mg/m2/week plus carboplatin 2 AUC and RT
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 4ExperimentalSequence B: Gemcitabine 450 mg/m2/week plus paclitaxel 30 mg/m2/week and RT
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: paclitaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 6ExperimentalSequence B: Gemcitabine 450 mg/m2/week plus paclitaxel 40 mg/m2/week and RT
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: paclitaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 8ExperimentalSequence B: Gemcitabine 600 mg/m2/week plus paclitaxel 40 mg/m2/week and RT
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: paclitaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 10ExperimentalSequence B: Gemcitabine 600 mg/m2/week plus paclitaxel 50 mg/m2/week and RT
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: paclitaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 12ExperimentalSequence B: Gemcitabine 750 mg/m2/week plus paclitaxel 50 mg/m2/week and RT
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: paclitaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 14ExperimentalSequence B: Gemcitabine 900 mg/m2/week plus paclitaxel 50 mg/m2/week and RT
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: paclitaxel; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 5ExperimentalSequence A: Gemcitabine 450 mg/m2/week plus carboplatin 2 AUC and RT
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 7ExperimentalSequence A: Gemcitabine 600 mg/m2/week plus carboplatin 2 AUC and RT
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 9ExperimentalSequence A: Gemcitabine 750 mg/m2/week plus carboplatin 2 AUC and RT
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Radiation: radiation therapy
Arm 11ExperimentalSequence A: Gemcitabine 900 mg/m2/week plus carboplatin 2 AUC and RT
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. To determine the maximum tolerated dose of gemcitabine with carboplatin-based chemotherapy and radiation therapy

    Measured: From start of treatment to 90 days

  2. To determine the maximum tolerated dose of gemcitabine with paclitaxel-based chemotherapy and radiation therapy

    Measured: From start of treatment to 90 days

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2001
  3. Primary completionJan 2009
  4. Study completionJun 2010

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
35 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00016315
Sponsor's protocol ID
RTOG-0017
Other IDs
RTOG-L-0017, CDR0000068622
Status last verified
Nov 2015
First submitted
6 May 2001
Last updated
17 Nov 2015
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Choy H, Jain AK, Moughan J, Curran W, Whipple G, Demas WF, Ettinger DS. RTOG 0017: a phase I trial of concurrent gemcitabine/carboplatin or gemcitabine/paclitaxel and radiation therapy ("ping-pong trial") followed by adjuvant chemotherapy for patients with favorable prognosis inoperable stage IIIA/B non-small cell lung cancer. J Thorac Oncol. 2009 Jan;4(1):80-6. doi: 10.1097/JTO.0b013e318191503f.

    PubMed 19096311
  • Choy H, Swann S, Curran W, et al.: A phase I trial of gemcitabine, carboplatin or gemcitabine, paclitaxel and concurrent radiation therapy followed by consolidative gemcitabine and carboplatin for inoperable stage III non-small cell lung cancer: an RTOG 0017 study. [Abstract] Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys 63 (2 Suppl 1): A-70, S42, 2005.

  • Choy H, Swann S, Walter C, et al.: A phase I trial of gemcitabine, carboplatin or gemcitabine, paclitaxel and concurrent radiation therapy followed by consolidative gemcitabine and carboplatin for inoperable stage III non-small cell lung cancer: an RTOG study. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 23 (Suppl 16): A-7103, 646s, 2005.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, gemcitabine hydrochloride and paclitaxel in people with Lung Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 19 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Nov 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 19 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

To determine the maximum tolerated dose of gemcitabine with carboplatin-based chemotherapy and radiation therapy (time frame: From start of treatment to 90 days). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00016315, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Nov 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in