Melanoma (Skin)Phase 3NCT00016263
Dacarbazine With or Without Oblimersen (G3139) in Treating Patients With Advanced Malignant Melanoma
A Phase 3 study testing oblimersen sodium and dacarbazine in people with Melanoma (Skin), run by Genta Incorporated at 2 sites in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Oblimersen (G3139) may help dacarbazine kill more cancer cells by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Any age
- Conditions the study is for
- Melanoma (Skin)
- What is being tested?
- oblimersen sodium and dacarbazine
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 2 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- Jul 2000to Dec 2004
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Any age
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed malignant melanoma
- Progressive disease that is unresectable or metastatic
- No primary ocular or mucosal melanoma
- At least 1 unidimensionally measurable lesion by physical exam or imaging studies
- At least 10 mm by caliper for superficial cutaneous disease
- At least 20 mm by contrast-enhanced or spiral CT scan for visceral or nodal/soft tissue disease
- No bone metastases as only site of measurable disease
- Lesions considered non-measurable include the following:
- Bone lesions
- Pleural/pericardial effusion
- Lymphangitis cutis/pulmonis
- Abdominal masses that are not confirmed and followed by imaging
- Lesions located in a previously irradiated area
- No brain metastases or leptomeningeal disease
- Considered a medical candidate for dacarbazine treatment
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- Any age
Performance status:
- ECOG 0-2
Life expectancy:
- Not specified
Hematopoietic:
- Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
- Hemoglobin at least 8 g/dL (hematopoietic growth factor or transfusion independent)
Hepatic:
- Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- ALT/AST no greater than 2.5 times ULN
- Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.5 times ULN
- Albumin at least 2.5 g/dL
- PT/PTT no greater than 1.5 times ULN
- No history of chronic hepatitis or cirrhosis
Renal:
- Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN OR
- Creatinine clearance at least 50 mL/min
Cardiovascular:
- No uncontrolled congestive heart failure
- No New York Heart Association class III or IV disease
- No symptomatic coronary artery disease (e.g., uncontrolled arrhythmias or recurrent chest pain despite prophylactic medication)
- No cardiovascular signs and symptoms at least grade 2 within the past 4 weeks
Other:
- Intellectually, emotionally, and physically able to maintain an ambulatory infusion pump
- Satisfactory venous access
- No other significant medical disease
- No uncontrolled seizure disorder
- No active infection
- No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus
- No active autoimmune disease
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
- No known hypersensitivity to phosphorothioate-containing oligonucleotides or dacarbazine
- No known HIV infection
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- At least 4 weeks since prior immunotherapy, cytokine, biologic, or vaccine therapy in the adjuvant and/or metastatic setting and recovered
- No concurrent prophylactic growth factors (e.g., filgrastim [G-CSF], sargramostim [GM-CSF] or epoetin alfa) during course 1 of study
Chemotherapy:
- No prior cytotoxic chemotherapy, including regional perfusion
Endocrine therapy:
- No concurrent chronic corticosteroids with an average dose of at least 20 mg of prednisone or equivalent per day
Radiotherapy:
- See Disease Characteristics
- At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered
- No prior radiotherapy to measurable target lesions unless progression occurred at that site or measurable disease developed outside the treated area
Surgery:
- At least 4 weeks since prior surgery and recovered
- No prior organ allografts
Other:
- At least 3 weeks since prior experimental therapy
- No prior intratumoral injection therapy to measurable target lesions unless progression occurred at that site or measurable disease developed outside the treated area
- No concurrent immunosuppressive drugs
- No concurrent anticoagulation therapy except 1 mg/day of warfarin for central line prophylaxis
Trial locations and contacts
2 sites in 1 country.
United States2 sites
Genta Incorporated
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, 07922
Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA
Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781
About this study
Official title: Randomized Study Of Dacarbazine Versus Dacarbazine Plus G3139 (Bcl-2 Antisense Oligonucleotide) In Patients With Advanced Malignant Melanoma
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Oblimersen (G3139) may help dacarbazine kill more cancer cells by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug. It is not yet known if dacarbazine is more effective with or without oblimersen (G3139).
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of dacarbazine with or without oblimersen (G3139) in treating patients who have advanced malignant melanoma.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the survival of patients with advanced malignant melanoma treated with dacarbazine with or without oblimersen (G3139).
- Compare the response rate, durable response rate, and progression-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the safety of these regimens in this patient population.
- Compare the performance status, body weight, and tumor-related symptoms of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to ECOG performance status (0 vs 1 or 2), extent of metastases and lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) level (skin subcutaneous and/or lymph node metastases without visceral involvement and normal LDH vs any visceral metastases or elevated LDH), and liver metastases (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive dacarbazine IV over 60 minutes on day 1.
- Arm II: Patients receive oblimersen (G3139) IV continuously over days 1-6 followed by dacarbazine IV over 60 minutes on day 6.
Treatment repeats every 21 days for a maximum of 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with stable disease or partial or complete response may be eligible for another 8 courses of treatment in an extension protocol.
Patients are followed at least every 2 months for up to 2 years after study.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 750 patients (375 per arm) will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Melanoma (Skin)
- Being tested
- oblimersen sodium, dacarbazine
- Keywords
- stage III melanoma, stage IV melanoma, recurrent melanoma
- Medical subject headings
- Melanoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
oblimersen sodiumBiological
dacarbazineDrug
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startJul 2000
- Study completionDec 2004
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Melanoma (Skin)Studies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Masking
- None (open label)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Genta Incorporated
- Sponsor type
- Industry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Investigators
- Stanley R. Frankel, MD, Study chair, Genta Incorporated
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00016263
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CDR0000068616
- Other IDs
- GENTA-GM301, UCLA-0207109
- Status last verified
- Oct 2002
- First submitted
- 6 May 2001
- Last updated
- 6 Jan 2014
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 6 Jan 2014. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Randomized Study Of Dacarbazine Versus Dacarbazine Plus G3139 (Bcl-2 Antisense Oligonucleotide) In Patients With Advanced Malignant Melanoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00016263
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CDR0000068616
- Conditions
- Melanoma (Skin)
- Keywords
- stage III melanoma, stage IV melanoma, recurrent melanoma
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Lead sponsor
- Genta IncorporatedIndustry (pharma, biotech, devices)
- Study start
- Jul 2000
- Study completion
- Dec 2004 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Oblimersen (G3139) may help dacarbazine kill more cancer cells by making tumor cells more sensitive to the drug. It is not yet known if dacarbazine is more effective with or without oblimersen (G3139).
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of dacarbazine with or without oblimersen (G3139) in treating patients who have advanced malignant melanoma.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the survival of patients with advanced malignant melanoma treated with dacarbazine with or without oblimersen (G3139).
- Compare the response rate, durable response rate, and progression-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.
- Compare the safety of these regimens in this patient population.
- Compare the performance status, body weight, and tumor-related symptoms of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to ECOG performance status (0 vs 1 or 2), extent of metastases and lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) level (skin subcutaneous and/or lymph node metastases without visceral involvement and normal LDH vs any visceral metastases or elevated LDH), and liver metastases (yes vs no). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms.
- Arm I: Patients receive dacarbazine IV over 60 minutes on day 1.
- Arm II: Patients receive oblimersen (G3139) IV continuously over days 1-6 followed by dacarbazine IV over 60 minutes on day 6.
Treatment repeats every 21 days for a maximum of 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients with stable disease or partial or complete response may be eligible for another 8 courses of treatment in an extension protocol.
Patients are followed at least every 2 months for up to 2 years after study.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 750 patients (375 per arm) will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| oblimersen sodium | Biological | – |
| dacarbazine | Drug | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 6 Jan 2014.
Related trials for Melanoma (Skin)
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingPhase 1
IL-17 Blockade to Decrease irAEs (REPLAY)
Metastatic Melanoma
Enrolling by invitationObservational study
Natural History Study of Early Life Exposures in Agriculture (ELEA)
Prostate Cancer, Leukemia
RecruitingPhase 1
A Feasibility Study Utilizing Immune Recall to Increase Response to Checkpoint Therapy
Melanoma
Active, not recruitingPhase 1/2
A Study of Dapansutrile Plus Pembrolizumab in Patients With PD-1 Refractory Advanced Melanoma
Melanoma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Stanley R. Frankel, MD study chair
Genta Incorporated
2 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing oblimersen sodium and dacarbazine in people with Melanoma (Skin), run by Genta Incorporated at 2 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Jan 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 2 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Jan 2014.