AzTrials
AzTrials

Extrahepatic Bile Duct CancerPhase 2NCT00009893

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Unresectable or Metastatic Biliary Tract or Gallbladder Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing fluorouracil, gemcitabine hydrochloride and leucovorin calcium in people with Extrahepatic Bile Duct Cancer and Gallbladder Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 19 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have unresectable or metastatic biliary… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
What is being tested?
fluorouracil, gemcitabine hydrochloride and leucovorin calcium
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
42 participants
Where
19 sitesUnited States
Study dates
May 2001to Oct 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed unresectable or metastatic biliary tract carcinoma (extrahepatic, intrahepatic, or ampulla of Vater) or gallbladder carcinoma Not amenable to combined chemotherapy and radiotherapy CNS metastases that are locally treatable (i.e., lesions treatable with surgery or radiotherapy) allowed if no evidence of progression for at least 4 weeks after completion of treatment

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 3.0 times upper limit of normal (ULN) AST no greater than 5 times ULN Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: At least 4 weeks since prior biologic or immunologic therapy No prior biologic or immunologic therapy for metastatic disease No concurrent immunotherapy No colony stimulating factors administered concurrently with first course of study therapy, or within 24 hours prior to subsequent courses Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior gemcitabine No prior chemotherapy for metastatic disease At least 6 months since prior chemotherapy used as radiosensitization either in the adjuvant setting or for locally advanced disease No other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior radiotherapy to more than 25% of bone marrow No concurrent radiotherapy Surgery: See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

19 sites in 1 country.

19 sites in 1 country

United States19 sites
  • CCOP - Ann Arbor Regional

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106

  • Medcenter One Health System

    Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501

  • CCOP - Cedar Rapids Oncology Project

    Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 52403-1206

  • CCOP - Iowa Oncology Research Association

    Des Moines, Iowa, 50309-1016

  • CCOP - Duluth

    Duluth, Minnesota, 55805

  • CCOP - Merit Care Hospital

    Fargo, North Dakota, 58122

  • Mayo Clinic Jacksonville

    Jacksonville, Florida, 32224

  • CCOP - Missouri Valley Cancer Consortium

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68131

  • CCOP - Illinois Oncology Research Association

    Peoria, Illinois, 61602

  • Rapid City Regional Hospital

    Rapid City, South Dakota, 57709

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • CentraCare Clinic

    Saint Cloud, Minnesota, 56303

  • CCOP - Metro-Minnesota

    Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416

  • CCOP - Scottsdale Oncology Program

    Scottsdale, Arizona, 85259-5404

  • Siouxland Hematology-Oncology

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51101-1733

  • CCOP - Sioux Community Cancer Consortium

    Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57104

  • CCOP - Toledo Community Hospital Oncology Program

    Toledo, Ohio, 43623-3456

  • CCOP - Carle Cancer Center

    Urbana, Illinois, 61801

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial Of Gemcitabine, 5-Fluorouracil, And Leucovorin In Patients With Measurable Unresectable Or Metastatic Biliary Tract Carcinoma (Intrahepatic, Extrahepatic, Ampulla Of Vater) And Gallbladder Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have unresectable or metastatic biliary tract or gallbladder cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the 6-month survival and overall survival of patients with unresectable or metastatic biliary tract carcinoma or gallbladder cancer treated with gemcitabine, fluorouracil, and leucovorin calcium. II. Determine the tumor response in these patients treated with this regimen. III. Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: Patients receive gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes followed by leucovorin calcium IV and fluorouracil IV over 5-10 minutes on days 1, 8, and 15. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for a minimum of 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year and then every 6 months for 4 years.

Keywords
localized unresectable adult primary liver cancer, advanced adult primary liver cancer, recurrent adult primary liver cancer, unresectable gallbladder cancer, recurrent gallbladder cancer, unresectable extrahepatic bile duct cancer, recurrent extrahepatic bile duct cancer
Medical subject headings
Bile Duct Neoplasms, Gallbladder Neoplasms, Liver Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Hepatocellular

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00009893
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
gemcitabine + leucovorin + fluorouracilExperimentalPatients receive gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes followed by leucovorin calcium IV and fluorouracil IV over 5-10 minutes on days 1, 8, and 15. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for a minimum of 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year and then every 6 months for 4 years.
Receives: Drug: fluorouracil; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: leucovorin calcium

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. survival at 6 months

    Measured: at 6 months

Secondary outcomes (2)
  1. overall survival

    Measured: Up to 5 years

  2. tumor response rate

    Measured: Up to 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted1 Jan 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMay 2001
  3. Primary completionJan 2005
  4. Study completionOct 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
42 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00009893
Sponsor's protocol ID
NCCTG-N0042
Other IDs
NCI-2012-02370, CDR0000068421
Status last verified
Dec 2016
First submitted
2 Feb 2001
Last updated
7 Dec 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Publications

  • Alberts SR, Al-Khatib H, Mahoney MR, Burgart L, Cera PJ, Flynn PJ, Finch TR, Levitt R, Windschitl HE, Knost JA, Tschetter LK. Gemcitabine, 5-fluorouracil, and leucovorin in advanced biliary tract and gallbladder carcinoma: a North Central Cancer Treatment Group phase II trial. Cancer. 2005 Jan 1;103(1):111-8. doi: 10.1002/cncr.20753.

    PubMed 15558814

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing fluorouracil, gemcitabine hydrochloride and leucovorin calcium in people with Extrahepatic Bile Duct Cancer and Gallbladder Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 19 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 Dec 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 19 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

survival at 6 months (time frame: at 6 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00009893, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 Dec 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in