AzTrials
AzTrials

Head and Neck CancerPhase 1NCT00006036

Liposomal Lurtotecan Plus Cisplatin in Treating Patients With Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 study testing cisplatin and lurtotecan liposome in people with Head and Neck Cancer and Lung Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 3 sites in Canada.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Head and Neck Cancer, Lung Cancer, Ovarian Cancer
What is being tested?
cisplatin and lurtotecan liposome
How many people
14 participants
Where
3 sitesCanada
Study dates
22 Mar 2000to 21 Dec 2009
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed advanced and/or metastatic solid tumor refractory to standard curative therapy or for which no curative therapy exists Clinically or radiographically documented disease No tumor marker elevation as only evidence of disease No untreated brain or meningeal metastases Previously treated and stable CNS metastases allowed (i.e., no evidence of increasing disease by CT scan for at least 4 weeks) Recommended phase II dose portion of study: Previously untreated advanced and/or metastatic disease for which a cisplatin-based regimen is indicated (e.g., non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, ovarian, or head and neck cancer) At least one measurable lesion at least 20 mm by physical exam or x-ray or at least 10 mm by spiral CT scan

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN) AST/ALT no greater than 2.5 times ULN (5 times ULN if documented liver metastases) Renal: Creatinine no greater than ULN OR Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Other: No greater than grade 1 neuropathy or ototoxicity No other prior or concurrent malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated basal or squamous cell skin cancer or cervical cancer (for recommended phase II dose) No active or uncontrolled infections No other serious illnesses or medical conditions that would preclude study No known hypersensitivity to systemic liposomal formulation or any drug chemically related to study drug Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: See Chemotherapy Recovered from prior immunotherapy Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No more than 1 prior chemotherapy regimen (adjuvant and/or metastatic) except for nonmyelosuppressive agents (e.g., signal transduction inhibitors or immunotherapy) At least 3 weeks since prior chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas and mitomycin and 4 weeks for carboplatin) and recovered At least 1 year since prior high-dose chemotherapy with marrow or stem cell support No prior total cisplatin dose of more than 300 mg/m2 No prior chemotherapy (for recommended phase II dose) Endocrine therapy: Prior hormonal therapy allowed Radiotherapy: At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered No prior radiotherapy to more than 25% of bone marrow reserve, except for low-dose nonmyelosuppression Surgery: Not specified Other: At least 4 weeks since other prior experimental drugs or anticancer therapy and recovered No other concurrent investigational or anticancer therapy

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

Canada3 sites
  • Cancer Care Ontario-Hamilton Regional Cancer Centre

    Hamilton, Ontario, L8V 5C2

  • Toronto General Hospital

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2C4

  • British Columbia Cancer Agency

    Vancouver, British Columbia, V5Z 4E6

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Study of NX 211 in Combination With Cisplatin Given as an IV Infusion Days 1, 2, and 3 Every 3 Weeks in Patients With Solid Tumors

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of liposomal lurtotecan plus cisplatin in treating patients who have advanced or metastatic solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose and recommended phase II dose of lurtotecan liposome and cisplatin in patients with advanced solid tumors. II. Determine the toxicity profile, dose-limiting toxic effects, and the pharmacokinetics of this treatment regimen in this patient population. III. Determine any correlation between toxicity profile and pharmacokinetics of this treatment regimen in these patients. IV. Determine the objective tumor response to this treatment regimen in patients with measurable disease (previously untreated solid tumors) entered at the recommended phase II dose.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter, dose-escalation study of lurtotecan liposome. Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1 hour followed by lurtotecan liposome IV over 30 minutes on days 1-3. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Once the total dose of cisplatin is reached, patients receive lurtotecan liposome alone. Patients achieving complete response (CR) continue therapy for 2 courses after documentation of confirmed CR. Patients achieving partial response (PR) continue therapy until progression or for 2 courses after documentation of stable PR. Patients with stable disease continue therapy for a maximum of 6 courses. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of lurtotecan liposome until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is reached. The MTD is defined as the dose at which at least 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity. Once the MTD is determined, up to 10 patients with previously untreated solid tumors are treated at the recommended phase II dose (1 dose below the MTD). Patients are followed at 4 weeks and then every 3 months for 1 year.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20-25 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-15 months.

Being tested
cisplatin, lurtotecan liposome
Keywords
recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, recurrent ovarian epithelial cancer, extensive stage small cell lung cancer, recurrent small cell lung cancer, stage IV nasopharyngeal cancer, stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IV non-small cell lung cancer, unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific, untreated metastatic squamous neck cancer with occult primary, recurrent metastatic squamous neck cancer with occult primary, ovarian stromal cancer, stage III ovarian germ cell tumor, stage IV ovarian germ cell tumor, recurrent ovarian germ cell tumor, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III basal cell carcinoma of the lip, stage III verrucous carcinoma of the oral cavity
Medical subject headings
Head and Neck Neoplasms, Lung Neoplasms, Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial, Small Cell Lung Carcinoma, Nasopharyngeal Neoplasms, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted25 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study start22 Mar 2000
  3. Primary completion26 Sep 2002
  4. Study completion21 Dec 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
14 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00006036
Sponsor's protocol ID
I133
Other IDs
CAN-NCIC-IND133, NEXSTAR-110-05, CDR0000068051
Status last verified
Apr 2020
First submitted
5 Jul 2000
Last updated
6 Apr 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
No

Publications

  • MacKenzie MJ, Hirte HW, Siu LL, Gelmon K, Ptaszynski M, Fisher B, Eisenhauer E. A phase I study of OSI-211 and cisplatin as intravenous infusions given on days 1, 2 and 3 every 3 weeks in patients with solid cancers. Ann Oncol. 2004 Apr;15(4):665-70. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdh133.

    PubMed 15033677

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing cisplatin and lurtotecan liposome in people with Head and Neck Cancer and Lung Cancer, run by NCIC Clinical Trials Group at 3 sites in Canada.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Apr 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00006036, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Apr 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in