AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00005800

Doxorubicin and Docetaxel in Treating Women With Stage III Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing Filgrastim, Docetaxel and Doxorubicin in people with Breast Cancer, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of doxorubicin and docetaxel in treating women who have stage III breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 70 years, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
Filgrastim, Docetaxel and Doxorubicin
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
45 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Apr 1999to May 2012
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 70 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or pathologically confirmed stage III breast cancer
  • Clinical evidence of primary invasive breast tumor greater than 5 cm in dimension (T3) and no evidence of metastatic disease clinically or by staging studies including computed tomography (CT) scan of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis, and a bone scan
  • Inflammatory breast carcinoma defined as diffuse brawny induration of the skin of the breast with an erysipeloid edge due to embolization of the dermal lymphatics and pathologic evidence of dermal lymphatic invasion
  • No bilateral breast cancer unless synchronous
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 to 70

Sex:

  • Female

Menopausal status:

  • Not specified

Performance status:

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 3,000/mm^3
  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin less than 2.0 mg/dL
  • SGOT/SGPT less than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 4 times ULN provided SGOT/SGPT no greater than ULN

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Cardiovascular:

  • If prior cardiac event or ischemia on electrocardiogram, must be cleared by cardiologist
  • LVEF at least 50% by resting MUGA
  • No severe cardiac dysfunction
  • No prior or concurrent angina pectoris, congestive heart failure, or major ventricular arrhythmias
  • No uncontrolled essential hypertension

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective nonhormonal barrier contraception
  • No other prior malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or intraductal or lobular carcinoma in situ of the breast
  • No other serious medical or psychiatric illness that would preclude study consent or treatment
  • No prior severe and intolerable reactions to filgrastim (G-CSF)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy to the breast

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Neoadjuvant Trial of Sequential Doxorubicin and Docetaxel for the Treatment of Stage III Breast Cancer Measuring STAT Activation as a Predictor of Response to Therapy

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of doxorubicin and docetaxel in treating women who have stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Evaluate the clinical and pathological response rate of sequential doxorubicin and docetaxel chemotherapy in the neoadjuvant treatment of women with stage III breast cancer.
  • Measure signal transducer and activator of transcription (STAT) activation before and after this neoadjuvant chemotherapy regimen in this patient population.
  • Correlate response to chemotherapy with STAT activation before and after this neoadjuvant chemotherapy regimen in these patients.
  • Determine how other potential predictors of response correlate with STAT activation by measuring Bcl-2, Bcl-xL, Bax protein levels, tyrosine kinase levels, growth rate of the tumor, and apoptotic index before and after this neoadjuvant chemotherapy regimen in these patients.
  • Correlate response to chemotherapy with levels of STAT activation in association with the presence of Bcl-2 proteins and tyrosine kinases, growth rate of the tumor, and apoptotic index in these patients.
  • Evaluate the toxicity of this neoadjuvant chemotherapy regimen given in a dose-dense fashion in these patients.

OUTLINE: Patients receive doxorubicin IV on day 1 every 2 weeks for 3 courses. After 3 weeks of rest, patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1 every 2 weeks for 3 courses. Filgrastim (G-CSF) is administered subcutaneously on days 3-10 of each doxorubicin and docetaxel course. Within 6 weeks of completion of neoadjuvant chemotherapy, patients undergo surgery with mastectomy or lumpectomy and axillary lymph node dissection.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 45 patients will be accrued for this study within 5 years.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
Filgrastim, Docetaxel, Doxorubicin, Surgery
Keywords
stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, inflammatory breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Inflammatory Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • FilgrastimBiological

    Also called G-CSF

  • DocetaxelDrug

    Also called Taxotere®

  • DoxorubicinDrug

    Also called doxorubicin hydrochloride, Adriamycin, Rubex

  • SurgeryProcedure or surgery

    Within 6 weeks of completion of neoadjuvant chemotherapy, patients undergo surgery with mastectomy or lumpectomy and axillary lymph node dissection.

Study groups in NCT00005800
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Dose-Dense ChemotherapyExperimentalPatients receive doxorubicin IV on day 1 every 2 weeks for 3 courses. After 3 weeks of rest, patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1 every 2 weeks for 3 courses. Filgrastim (G-CSF) is administered subcutaneously on days 3-10 of each doxorubicin and docetaxel course. Within 6 weeks of completion of neoadjuvant chemotherapy, patients undergo surgery with mastectomy or lumpectomy and axillary lymph node dissection.
Receives: Biological: Filgrastim; Drug: Docetaxel; Drug: Doxorubicin; Procedure: Surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Pathological Response Rate

    Evaluate the pathological response rate of sequential doxorubicin and docetaxel chemotherapy in the neoadjuvant treatment of women with stage III breast cancer. Pathologic response is classified as either complete pathologic response or partial pathologic response based on the size of residual tumor after treatment (complete pathologic response if 0 cm, partial pathologic response if >0 cm).

    Measured: 7 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted8 Oct 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 1999
  3. Primary completionJan 2006
  4. Study completionMay 2012

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
45 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005800
Sponsor's protocol ID
MCC-11971
Other IDs
CA 82533
Status last verified
Sep 2012
First submitted
2 Jun 2000
Last updated
25 Sep 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Filgrastim, Docetaxel and Doxorubicin in people with Breast Cancer, run by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 25 Sep 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Pathological Response Rate (time frame: 7 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 25 Sep 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in