AzTrials
AzTrials

Ovarian CancerPhase 1NCT00005026

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Ovarian Epithelial or Primary Peritoneal Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and topotecan hydrochloride in people with Ovarian Cancer and Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group at 47 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have stage III or stage IV ovarian… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
What is being tested?
carboplatin, paclitaxel and topotecan hydrochloride
How many people
Not given
Where
47 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Feb 2000to Jan 2007
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed stage III or IV ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal carcinoma Prior surgery required within the past 12 weeks Either optimal (no greater than 1 cm residual disease) or suboptimal residual disease following initial surgery No ovarian epithelial tumors of low malignant potential (borderline tumor) The following histologic epithelial cell types are eligible: Serous adenocarcinoma Mucinous adenocarcinoma Clear cell adenocarcinoma Transitional cell carcinoma Adenocarcinoma not otherwise specified Endometrioid adenocarcinoma Undifferentiated carcinoma Mixed epithelial carcinoma Malignant Brenner tumor

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Not specified Performance status: GOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least lower limit of normal Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) SGOT and alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.5 times ULN No acute hepatitis Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN Cardiovascular: No unstable angina No myocardial infarction within past 6 months Abnormal cardiac conduction (e.g., bundle branch block, heart block) allowed if stable for past 6 months Other: No septicemia or severe infection No severe gastrointestinal bleeding No concurrent or prior invasive malignancies within past 5 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer No greater than grade 1 neuropathy

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy Surgery: See Disease Characteristics Other: No prior cancer treatment that contraindicates study protocol

Trial locations and contacts

47 sites in 2 countries.

47 sites in 2 countries

United States46 sites
  • Abington Memorial Hospital

    Abington, Pennsylvania, 19001

  • Cancer Center of Albany Medical Center

    Albany, New York, 12208

  • Radiation Oncology Branch

    Bethesda, Maryland, 20892

  • CCOP - Montana Cancer Consortium

    Billings, Montana, 59101

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294-3300

  • Tufts University School of Medicine

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02111

  • State University of New York Health Science Center at Brooklyn

    Brooklyn, New York, 11203

  • Cooper Hospital/University Medical Center

    Camden, New Jersey, 08103

  • Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, UNC

    Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599-7295

  • Medical University of South Carolina

    Charleston, South Carolina, 29425-0721

  • Cancer Center at the University of Virginia

    Charlottesville, Virginia, 22908

  • Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60612

  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470

  • Barrett Cancer Center, The University Hospital

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45219

  • Ireland Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5065

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Ellis Fischel Cancer Center

    Columbia, Missouri, 65203

  • Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital - Ohio State University

    Columbus, Ohio, 43210-1240

  • Simmons Cancer Center - Dallas

    Dallas, Texas, 75235-9154

  • University of Colorado Cancer Center

    Denver, Colorado, 80010

  • Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

    Detroit, Michigan, 48201-1379

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

    Hershey, Pennsylvania, 17033-0850

  • University of Texas - MD Anderson Cancer Center

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

  • Indiana University Cancer Center

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202-5289

  • University of Mississippi Medical Center

    Jackson, Mississippi, 39216-4505

  • Albert B. Chandler Medical Center, University of Kentucky

    Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0084

  • Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA

    Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781

  • Community Hospital of Los Gatos

    Los Gatos, California, 95032

  • North Shore University Hospital

    Manhasset, New York, 11030

  • Brookview Research, Inc.

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37203

  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10021

  • University of Oklahoma College of Medicine

    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73190

  • University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

  • Kimmel Cancer Center of Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19107-5541

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111

  • University of Rochester Cancer Center

    Rochester, New York, 14642

  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98109-1024

  • Washington University School of Medicine

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • Tampa Bay Cancer Consortium

    St. Petersburg, Florida, 33701

  • State University of New York Health Sciences Center - Stony Brook

    Stony Brook, New York, 11790-7775

  • Tacoma General Hospital

    Tacoma, Washington, 98405

  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20307-5000

  • Comprehensive Cancer Center at Wake Forest University

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1082

  • University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center

    Worcester, Massachusetts, 01655

Other trials in United States

Canada1 site
  • Tom Baker Cancer Center - Calgary

    Calgary, Alberta, T2N 4N2

Other trials in Canada

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Feasibility Trial of Carboplatin and Topotecan Followed by Carboplatin and Paclitaxel (Sequential Doublets) in Patients With Previously Untreated Epithelial Ovarian Carcinoma and Primary Peritoneal Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have stage III or stage IV ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the feasibility of administering multiple courses of carboplatin and topotecan without excessive dose modification or course delay in patients with previously untreated ovarian epithelial or primary peritoneal carcinoma. II. Describe the response rate and progression-free interval in these patients with this treatment regimen. III. Determine pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic parameters related to the sequence of carboplatin and topotecan administration in these patients.

OUTLINE: Patients are assigned to one of three treatment regimens. Regimen I: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 followed by topotecan IV over 30 minutes on days 1-3. Treatment continues every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours followed by carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment continues every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Regimen II: Patients receive topotecan IV over 30 minutes on days 1-3 followed by carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 3. Treatment continues every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours followed by carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment continues every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Regimen III: Patients receive topotecan IV over 30 minutes on days 1-5 followed by carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 5. Treatment continues every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients then receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours followed by carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment continues every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients are followed at 1 month and then every 3 months for 1 year.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-80 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Being tested
carboplatin, paclitaxel, topotecan hydrochloride
Keywords
stage III ovarian epithelial cancer, stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, ovarian undifferentiated adenocarcinoma, ovarian mixed epithelial carcinoma, ovarian serous cystadenocarcinoma, ovarian mucinous cystadenocarcinoma, ovarian endometrioid adenocarcinoma, ovarian clear cell cystadenocarcinoma, primary peritoneal cavity cancer, Brenner tumor
Medical subject headings
Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial, Brenner Tumor

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted25 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 2000
  3. Primary completionJan 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005026
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067547
Other IDs
GOG-9906
Status last verified
Jul 2008
First submitted
6 Apr 2000
Last updated
27 May 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Bookman MA, McMeekin DS, Fracasso PM. Sequence dependence of hematologic toxicity using carboplatin and topotecan for primary therapy of advanced epithelial ovarian cancer: a phase I study of the Gynecologic Oncology Group. Gynecol Oncol. 2006 Nov;103(2):473-8. doi: 10.1016/j.ygyno.2006.03.014. Epub 2006 May 2.

    PubMed 16631245

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and topotecan hydrochloride in people with Ovarian Cancer and Primary Peritoneal Cavity Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group at 47 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 27 May 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 47 sites in United States, Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00005026, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 27 May 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in