AzTrials
AzTrials

Head and Neck CancerPhase 2NCT00004865

Cetuximab Plus Cisplatin in Treating Patients With Metastatic or Recurrent Cancer of the Head and Neck That Has Not Responded to Cisplatin Chemotherapy

A Phase 2 study testing cetuximab, cisplatin and fluorouracil in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 3 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as cetuximab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Head and Neck Cancer
What is being tested?
cetuximab, cisplatin and fluorouracil
How many people
Not given
Where
3 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Nov 1999to Jan 2002
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven metastatic or recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck Failure to respond to initial treatment with cisplatin and paclitaxel or cisplatin and fluorouracil Bidimensionally measurable disease Sufficient tumor tissue available for immunohistochemical determination of epidermal growth factor receptor expression No meningeal or CNS involvement by tumor

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Karnofsky 60-100% Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 WBC at least 3,000/mm3 Hemoglobin at least 9 g/dL Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.5 times ULN AST and ALT no greater than 2.5 times ULN Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: No history of clinically significant cardiac disease, serious arrhythmias, or significant conduction abnormalities Neurologic: No uncontrolled seizure disorder No active neurologic disease No neuropathy greater than grade 1 Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No other malignancy within the past 3 years except basal cell skin cancer or preinvasive carcinoma of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No prior murine monoclonal antibody therapy or cetuximab Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics More than 1 year since prior chemotherapy and recovered Cumulative total dose of prior platinum therapy no greater than 200 mg/m2 No other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: At least 2 months since prior radiotherapy (1 month if disease progression occurred during radiotherapy) No concurrent radiotherapy Surgery: At least 2 months since prior surgery except diagnostic biopsy Other: At least 1 month since prior investigational agent

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United States3 sites
  • Cooper Cancer Institute

    Camden, New Jersey, 08103

  • Kimball Medical Center

    Lakewood, New Jersey, 08701

  • Monmouth Medical Center

    Long Branch, New Jersey, 07740

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Study of Cetuximab Anti-Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFr) Antibody in Combination With Chemotherapy in Patients With Metastatic or Recurrent Squamous Cell Head and Neck Carcinoma

RATIONALE: Monoclonal antibodies such as cetuximab can locate tumor cells and either kill them or deliver tumor-killing substances to them without harming normal cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining monoclonal antibody therapy with chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of cetuximab plus cisplatin in treating patients who have metastatic or recurrent cancer of the head and neck that has not responded to previous cisplatin-based chemotherapy.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the response rate, duration of response, and survival in patients with metastatic or recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck treated with cetuximab and cisplatin after failure of an initial cisplatin-based chemotherapy regimen. II. Determine the efficacy, safety, and toxicity of this regimen in these patients. III. Assess the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Part I (courses 1 and 2): Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 treatment groups based on prior cisplatin-based chemotherapy regimen: Group 1 (prior cisplatin with paclitaxel): Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1 and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-4. Group 2 (prior cisplatin with fluorouracil): Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1 hour and paclitaxel IV over 3 hours on day 1. Both groups: Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 2 courses. Patients who achieve partial or complete response after completion of course 2 are taken off study. Patients with stable disease or disease progression after completion of course 2 proceed to part II of the study. Part II (courses 3-6): Patients are stratified by response to initial cisplatin-based chemotherapy regimen (stable disease vs disease progression). Patients receive a test dose of cetuximab IV over 10 minutes on day 1. Patients who do not experience grade 4 anaphylactic reaction receive a loading dose of cetuximab IV over 2 hours beginning 30 minutes after completion of test dose. Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1 hour beginning 1 hour after completion of cetuximab infusion on day 1. Patients receive maintenance cetuximab IV over 1 hour on day 8. Maintenance cetuximab repeats weekly. Combination treatment repeats every 3 weeks for a maximum of 4 courses. Patients with stable or responding disease after completion of course 6 may continue to receive cetuximab alone in the absence of disease progression and at the discretion of the protocol investigator and sponsor. Quality of life is assessed before course 1, at the completion of courses 2, 4, and 6, and then at 4 weeks after completion of study. Patients are followed at 4 weeks.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 175 patients will be accrued for this study within 8 months.

Keywords
recurrent metastatic squamous neck cancer with occult primary, metastatic squamous neck cancer with occult primary squamous cell carcinoma, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx, recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity, recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity
Medical subject headings
Head and Neck Neoplasms, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 1999
  3. Primary completionJan 2002

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004865
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067521
Other IDs
UCLA-9906095, IMCL-CP02-9816, UAB-9917, NCI-G00-1667
Status last verified
Mar 2009
First submitted
7 Mar 2000
Last updated
9 Mar 2009
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cetuximab, cisplatin and fluorouracil in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at 3 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Mar 2009. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Mar 2009.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in