AzTrials
AzTrials

Head and Neck CancerPhase 1NCT00004246

Radiation Therapy Plus Fludarabine in Treating Patients With Locally Advanced Cancer of the Mouth, Pharynx, or Larynx

A Phase 1 study testing Fludarabine Phosphate and Radiation Therapy (RT) in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Head and Neck Cancer
What is being tested?
Fludarabine Phosphate and Radiation Therapy (RT)
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
16 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
7 Jun 1995to 2 Dec 2002
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma of the oral cavity, pharynx, or larynx for which surgery would result in significant functional impairment Stage III or IV (T3-4 or N2-3) No distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Zubrod 0-2 Life expectancy: At least 6 months Hematopoietic: Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 150,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL SGOT less than 4 times upper limit of normal PT/PTT normal Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception No other concurrent acute illness or infection

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy Surgery: See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • University of Texas - MD Anderson Cancer Center

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Study of Fludarabine With Radiotherapy in Patients With Locally Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of radiation therapy plus fludarabine in treating patients who have locally advanced cancer of the mouth, pharynx, or larynx.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose of fludarabine that can be given during the sixth and seventh weeks of radiotherapy in patients with locally advanced squamous cell carcinoma of the oral cavity, pharynx, or larynx, based on the systemic toxicity of the drug and the acute mucosal reactions in the irradiated fields. II. Document the qualitative and quantitative toxicity of this combination therapy in this patient population.

OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of fludarabine. Patients receive radiotherapy on days 1-5 for 7 weeks. Patients receive fludarabine IV on days 1-5 of weeks 6 and 7 of radiotherapy. Fludarabine is administered 3-4 hours prior to daily radiotherapy. Cohorts of 3 patients receive escalating doses of fludarabine until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose that produces a severe toxicity rate nearest to 20%. Patients are followed every 4 weeks after the completion of treatment until acute reactions have resolved, then every 3 months for 2 years, every 4 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A maximum of 18 patients will be accrued for this study within 1.5 years.

Being tested
Fludarabine Phosphate, Radiation Therapy (RT)
Keywords
Radiation Therapy, RT, Radiotherapy, Fludarabine, Fludara, Fludarabine Phosphate, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx
Medical subject headings
Head and Neck Neoplasms, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • Fludarabine PhosphateDrug

    Also called Fludara, Fludarabine

    IV on days 1-5 of weeks 6 and 7 of radiotherapy, administered 3-4 hours prior to daily radiotherapy.

  • Radiation Therapy (RT)Radiation

    Also called radiotherapy

    Days 1-5 for 7 weeks

Study groups in NCT00004246
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
RT + FludarabineExperimentalRadiotherapy (RT) on Days 1-5 for 7 weeks + Fludarabine IV, 3-4 hours prior to daily RT, Days 1-5 of weeks 6 and 7 of RT
Receives: Drug: Fludarabine Phosphate; Radiation: Radiation Therapy (RT)

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Fludarabine During Sixth & Seventh Weeks of Radiotherapy

    MTD based on systemic toxicity of drug and acute mucosal reactions in the irradiated fields.

    Measured: Every 4 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted3 May 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study start7 Jun 1995
  3. Primary completion2 Dec 2002
  4. Study completion2 Dec 2002

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
16 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004246
Sponsor's protocol ID
ID95-038
Other IDs
P30CA016672, P01CA006294, MDA-ID-95038, NCI-H99-0046, CDR0000067492
Status last verified
Oct 2018
First submitted
28 Jan 2000
Last updated
25 Oct 2018
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing Fludarabine Phosphate and Radiation Therapy (RT) in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 25 Oct 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) of Fludarabine During Sixth & Seventh Weeks of Radiotherapy (time frame: Every 4 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 25 Oct 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in