AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 1/2NCT00004186

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 1/2 study testing carboplatin, etoposide and ifosfamide in people with Lung Cancer, run by University of Alabama at Birmingham at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have small cell lung cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin, etoposide and ifosfamide
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
55 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Dec 1996to Dec 2004
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer Measurable or evaluable disease No uncontrolled brain metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Not specified Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Karnofsky 60-100% Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin less than 2.0 mg/dL Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception No other malignancy within the past 5 years, except: Nonmelanomatous skin cancer Carcinoma in situ of the cervix No significant active infection

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No more than 1 prior first line chemotherapy regimen Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy (except brain irradiation) Surgery: Recovered from recent surgery

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • University of Alabama Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I/IIA Study of Sequential Ifosfamide and Topotecan in Patients With Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase I/II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose and dose limiting toxicity of topotecan when combined with ifosfamide in patients with limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer. II. Determine the pharmacokinetics of topotecan and correlate with toxicity or tumor response in these patients. III. Determine the effect of topotecan on apoptosis in tumor tissues and correlate the apoptosis-inducing effects with antitumor effects of topotecan in these patients. IV. Determine the response rate, time to progression, and survival of chemotherapy naive limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer patients treated with ifosfamide and topotecan and then crossover consolidation/salvage therapy with carboplatin and etoposide. V. Determine the response rate, time to progression, and survival of pretreated limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer patients treated with ifosfamide and topotecan as salvage therapy.

OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study of topotecan (phase I). Patients are stratified by disease stage (extensive vs limited) and prior chemotherapy (naive vs pretreated) in phase II. Induction therapy: Patients receive topotecan IV over 72 hours and ifosfamide IV over 30 minutes every 3 weeks. Chemotherapy naive patients with complete or partial response after 3 courses, stable disease after 2 courses, or progressive disease at any time receive consolidation/salvage chemotherapy. Pretreated patients continue on induction regimen for a minimum of 6 courses unless disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Phase I: Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of topotecan until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 3 of 6 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. Salvage chemotherapy: Patients with extensive stage disease receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and etoposide IV over 45 minutes on days 1, 2, and 3. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for up to 4 to 6 courses. Patients with limited stage disease undergoing chest irradiation receive treatment every 28 days for the first course. Patients are followed every 2 months for 1 year, every 3 months for 1 year, and then every 4 months thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 15-20 patients will be accrued for phase I and approximately 35 patients will be accrued for phase II of this study.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Being tested
carboplatin, etoposide, ifosfamide, topotecan hydrochloride, radiation therapy
Keywords
limited stage small cell lung cancer, extensive stage small cell lung cancer, recurrent small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Small Cell Lung Carcinoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Determine the maximum tolerated dose and dose limiting toxicity of topotecan when combined with ifosfamide in patients with limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer

    Measured: from baseline up to 6 courses of treatment

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Determine the pharmacokinetics of topotecan and correlate with toxicity or tumor response in these patients.

    Measured: from baseline up to 6 courses of treatment

  2. Determine the effect of topotecan on apoptosis in tumor tissues and correlate the apoptosis-inducing effects with antitumor effects of topotecan in these patients.

    Measured: baseline through survival

  3. the response rate, time to progression, and survival of chemotherapy naive limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer patients treated with ifosfamide and topotecan and then crossover consolidation/salvage therapy

    Determine the response rate, time to progression, and survival of chemotherapy naive limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer patients treated with ifosfamide and topotecan and then crossover consolidation/salvage therapy with carboplatin and etoposide.

    Measured: baseline to survival

  4. Determine the response rate, time to progression, and survival of pretreated limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer patients treated with ifosfamide and topotecan as salvage therapy

    Measured: baseline to survival

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 Aug 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 1996
  3. Primary completionDec 2004
  4. Study completionDec 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
55 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004186
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067427
Other IDs
UAB-9626, UAB-F961125015, NCI-G99-1647
Status last verified
Apr 2013
First submitted
21 Jan 2000
Last updated
12 Apr 2013
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing carboplatin, etoposide and ifosfamide in people with Lung Cancer, run by University of Alabama at Birmingham at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 12 Apr 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Determine the maximum tolerated dose and dose limiting toxicity of topotecan when combined with ifosfamide in patients with limited or extensive stage small cell lung cancer (time frame: from baseline up to 6 courses of treatment). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 12 Apr 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in