AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00004175

Docetaxel, Doxorubicin, and Cyclophosphamide in Treating Women With Stage III Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, docetaxel and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by Northwestern University at 4 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining docetaxel, doxorubicin, and cyclophosphamide in treating women who have… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
cyclophosphamide, docetaxel and doxorubicin hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
4 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Nov 1998to Jun 2005
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed previously untreated, stage III adenocarcinoma of the breast At least one bidimensionally and/or unidimensionally measurable lesion No evidence of disease outside the breast or chest wall, except for ipsilateral axillary lymph nodes Hormone receptor status: Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Sex: Female Menopausal status: Not specified Performance status: Karnofsky 60-100% Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN) SGOT no greater than 3 times ULN Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 5 times ULN No acute hepatitis Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL No uncontrolled hypercalcemia Cardiovascular: No congestive heart failure LVEF normal No angina pectoris No uncontrolled cardiac arrhythmias No other significant heart disease No myocardial infarction within the past year No superior vena cava syndrome No deep vein thrombosis requiring anticoagulant therapy Neurologic: No dementia No seizures No concurrent grade 2 or greater peripheral neuropathy Other: No medical instability No active infection No gastrointestinal bleeding No uncontrolled diabetes No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical conditions or other circumstances that would preclude study No other malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated basal cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix No history of hypersensitivity to polysorbate 80 Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No prior immunotherapy for breast cancer Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy for breast cancer Endocrine therapy: No prior hormonal therapy for breast cancer No concurrent corticosteroids except for chronic methylprednisolone or equivalent for more than 6 months duration at no more than 20 mg/day Radiotherapy: Not specified Surgery: Not specified Other: At least 3 weeks since prior investigational drugs

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 1 country.

United States4 sites
  • Monroe Medical Associates

    Chicago, Illinois, 60603

  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Northwestern University

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611-3013

  • Stanford University Medical Center

    Stanford, California, 94305-5408

  • Albert Einstein Comprehensive Cancer Center

    The Bronx, New York, 10461

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Study of Taxotere, Doxorubicin and Cyclophosphamide (TAC) Primary Therapy in Stage III Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining docetaxel, doxorubicin, and cyclophosphamide in treating women who have previously untreated stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the clinical response rate to docetaxel, doxorubicin, and cyclophosphamide as primary therapy in women with stage III breast cancer. II. Determine the pathologic complete response rate to this treatment regimen in this patient population. III. Assess the side effects and toxicity profile of this treatment regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open label, multicenter study. Patients receive doxorubicin IV over 5-10 minutes followed by cyclophosphamide IV over 5-10 minutes and docetaxel IV over 1 hour. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Within 5 weeks following completion of chemotherapy, operable patients achieving complete or partial response undergo mastectomy, segmental mastectomy, or lumpectomy with nodal dissection. Patients with positive surgical tumor margins may undergo an additional surgical procedure. Patients are followed for survival.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 40 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Keywords
stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted3 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 1998
  3. Primary completionSep 2004
  4. Study completionJun 2005

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004175
Sponsor's protocol ID
NU 98B1
Other IDs
NU-98B1, NCI-G99-1643
Status last verified
May 2012
First submitted
10 Dec 1999
Last updated
6 Jun 2012
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cyclophosphamide, docetaxel and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Breast Cancer, run by Northwestern University at 4 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Jun 2012. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Jun 2012.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in