AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00004139

Gemcitabine Plus Docetaxel or Irinotecan in Treating Patients With Stage IIIB or Stage IV Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel, gemcitabine hydrochloride and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Lung Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 8 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of gemcitabine plus either docetaxel or irinotecan in treating patients who have stage… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
docetaxel, gemcitabine hydrochloride and irinotecan hydrochloride
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
80 participants
Where
8 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Sep 1999to Jan 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed stage IIIB, IV, or recurrent non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) including: Squamous cell carcinoma Adenocarcinoma (including bronchoalveolar cell) Large cell anaplastic carcinoma (including giant and clear cell carcinomas) Stage IIIB eligible for other CALGB protocols consisting of combined chemotherapy and chest radiotherapy not permitted Malignant pleural effusion allowed CNS metastases allowed following completion of cranial radiotherapy Unidimensionally or bidimensionally measurable disease Solid tumor mass or hilar lesion surrounded by aerated lung Pleural based mass Mediastinal or hilar adenopathy clearly measurable No bone only disease No pleural or pericardial effusions No irradiated lesions unless progression is documented following radiotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-1 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL SGOT no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN) Alkaline phosphatase less than 2.5 times ULN if SGOT is greater than 1.5 times ULN Renal: Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL Other: No other malignancies within the past 5 years except curatively treated basal or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix or breast Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics No prior chemotherapy for NSCLC Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 2 weeks since prior radiotherapy At least 2 weeks since prior whole brain radiotherapy or stereotactic radiotherapy for CNS disease Surgery: At least 2 weeks since prior surgery for CNS disease

Trial locations and contacts

8 sites in 1 country.

8 sites in 1 country

United States8 sites
  • Medical University of South Carolina

    Charleston, South Carolina, 29425-0721

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • CCOP - Greenville

    Greenville, South Carolina, 29615

  • CCOP - Southern Nevada Cancer Research Foundation

    Las Vegas, Nevada, 89106

  • University of Tennessee, Memphis Cancer Center

    Memphis, Tennessee, 38163

  • Barnes-Jewish Hospital

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • Vincent T. Lombardi Cancer Research Center, Georgetown University

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20007

  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20307-5000

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Randomized Trial of Gemcitabine/Docetaxel and Gemcitabine/Irinotecan in Stage IIIB/IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of gemcitabine plus either docetaxel or irinotecan in treating patients who have stage IIIB or stage IV non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the complete and overall response rate to gemcitabine and docetaxel versus gemcitabine and irinotecan in chemotherapy naive patients with stage IIIB or IV non-small cell lung cancer. II. Compare the overall and failure free survival, duration of response, and toxicity associated with these combination regimens in this patient population.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients are stratified according to disease stage (stage IIIB vs stage IV without CNS involvement vs stage IV with CNS involvement vs recurrent/progressive disease post surgery and/or radiotherapy). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes immediately followed by irinotecan IV over 90 minutes on days 1 and 8. Arm II: Patients receive gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes immediately followed by docetaxel IV over 60 minutes on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients achieving partial or complete response or stable disease receive treatment for least 6 courses and for 2 additional courses beyond the maximum response, and then at the investigator's discretion. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually thereafter until disease progression or death.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 72 patients (36 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 12 months.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Keywords
recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, squamous cell lung cancer, large cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IV non-small cell lung cancer, adenocarcinoma of the lung, bronchoalveolar cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, Adenocarcinoma of Lung, Adenocarcinoma, Bronchiolo-Alveolar

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00004139
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Gemcitabine + IrinotecanExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride; Drug: irinotecan hydrochloride
Gemcitabine + DocetaxelExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: docetaxel; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. response rate

    Measured: Up to 2 years

  2. overall survival

    Measured: Up to 2 years

  3. failure-free survival

    Measured: Up to 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted25 May 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 1999
  3. Primary completionJul 2004
  4. Study completionJan 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
80 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004139
Sponsor's protocol ID
CALGB-39809
Other IDs
U10CA031946, CLB-39809, CDR0000067369
Status last verified
Jul 2016
First submitted
10 Dec 1999
Last updated
20 Jul 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Publications

  • Rocha Lima CM, Rizvi NA, Zhang C, Herndon JE 2nd, Crawford J, Govindan R, King GW, Green MR; Cancer Leukemia Group B. Randomized phase II trial of gemcitabine plus irinotecan or docetaxel in stage IIIB or stage IV NSCLC. Ann Oncol. 2004 Mar;15(3):410-8. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdh104.

    PubMed 14998842
  • Rocha Lima CM, Rizvi NA, Zhang K, et al.: CALGB 39809: Randomized phase II trial of gemcitabine/irinotecan and gemcitabine/docetaxel in stage IIIB (malignant pleural effusion) or stage IV NSCLC. [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 21: A-1344, 2002.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel, gemcitabine hydrochloride and irinotecan hydrochloride in people with Lung Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 8 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Jul 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 8 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

response rate (time frame: Up to 2 years). The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00004139, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Jul 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in