AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 2NCT00004068

Irinotecan Followed by Radiation Therapy and Temozolomide in Treating Children With Newly Diagnosed Brain Tumor

A Phase 2 study testing irinotecan hydrochloride, temozolomide and conventional surgery in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by St. Jude Children's Research Hospital at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 3 to 21 years
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
irinotecan hydrochloride, temozolomide and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
53 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 1999to Apr 2003
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 3 to 21 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed newly diagnosed brain tumors
  • Grade III or IV disease:
  • Glioblastoma multiforme
  • Anaplastic astrocytoma
  • Anaplastic oligodendroglioma
  • Anaplastic pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma
  • Anaplastic or malignant oligoastrocytoma
  • Gemistocytic astrocytoma
  • Malignant glioma
  • Grade II glial tumors in unfavorable locations (i.e., imaging evidence of gliomatosis cerebri and/or bithalamic involvement)
  • Diffuse pontine gliomas with greater than 2/3 involvement of the pon

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 3 to 21

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC greater than 2,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin greater than 8.0 g/dL

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 2.5 mg/dL
  • SGOT/SGPT less than 5 times normal

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL

Other:

  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Prior corticosteroids allowed

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • No more than 28 days since prior definitive surgery for brain tumor

Other:

  • Concurrent anticonvulsants allowed

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Saint Jude Children's Research Hospital

    Memphis, Tennessee, 38105-2794

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Treatment of Newly Diagnosed High-Grade Gliomas in Patients Ages Greater Than or Equal to 3 and Less Than or Equal to 21 Years With a Phase II Irinotecan Window Followed by Radiation Therapy and Temozolomide

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of irinotecan followed by radiation therapy and temozolomide in treating children who have newly diagnosed brain tumor.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Evaluate the efficacy of adjuvant irinotecan in children with newly diagnosed high grade gliomas, brain stem glioma, or high risk grade II astrocytomas in terms of complete and partial response rate in patients with postoperative measurable disease, and in terms of the rate of freedom from recurrence in patients with no postoperative measurable disease.
  • Determine the 3 year overall and progression free survival rates in this patient population when treated with adjuvant irinotecan followed by radiotherapy and temozolomide.
  • Assess the hematopoietic toxicity of temozolomide following local radiotherapy in this patient population.

OUTLINE: Patients receive postoperative irinotecan IV over 60 minutes daily for 5 days on weeks 1-2. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 2 courses. Following completion of irinotecan and if appropriate, patients may undergo a second surgical resection.

Within 2 weeks following completion of chemotherapy or within 4 weeks of following a second resection, patients receive image guided external beam radiotherapy 5 days per week for 6 weeks. Patients with residual tumor less than 3.5 cm in maximal diameter may undergo boost radiosurgery.

At 4 weeks following completion of radiotherapy, patients receive oral temozolomide for 5 days. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 6 courses.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, then every 4 months for 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 50 patients will be accrued for this study within 5 years.

Keywords
childhood high-grade cerebral astrocytoma, childhood high-grade cerebellar astrocytoma, childhood oligodendroglioma, untreated childhood brain stem glioma, untreated childhood cerebellar astrocytoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Astrocytoma, Oligodendroglioma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted8 May 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 1999
  3. Primary completionApr 2003
  4. Study completionApr 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
53 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004068
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067271
Other IDs
P30CA021765, SJCRH: SJHG98, SPRI-P-00112, NCI-G99-1577
Status last verified
Oct 2011
First submitted
10 Dec 1999
Last updated
4 Oct 2011
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Broniscer A, Chintagumpala M, Fouladi M, Krasin MJ, Kocak M, Bowers DC, Iacono LC, Merchant TE, Stewart CF, Houghton PJ, Kun LE, Ledet D, Gajjar A. Temozolomide after radiotherapy for newly diagnosed high-grade glioma and unfavorable low-grade glioma in children. J Neurooncol. 2006 Feb;76(3):313-9. doi: 10.1007/s11060-005-7409-5.

    PubMed 16200343
  • Broniscer A, Iacono L, Chintagumpala M, Fouladi M, Wallace D, Bowers DC, Stewart C, Krasin MJ, Gajjar A. Role of temozolomide after radiotherapy for newly diagnosed diffuse brainstem glioma in children: results of a multiinstitutional study (SJHG-98). Cancer. 2005 Jan 1;103(1):133-9. doi: 10.1002/cncr.20741.

    PubMed 15565574
  • Broniscer A, Chintagumpala M, Bowers D, et al.: Upfront protracted irinotecan (CPT-11) followed by radiotherapy (RT) and temozolomide (TMZ) in the treatment of children with newly diagnosed high-grade glioma (HGG) and unfavorable low-grade glioma (LGG): results of a multi-institutional study (SJHG-98). [Abstract] Neuro-Oncology 6 (4): TP-01, 385, 2004.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing irinotecan hydrochloride, temozolomide and conventional surgery in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by St. Jude Children's Research Hospital at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 4 Oct 2011. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00004068, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 4 Oct 2011.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in