AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00003762

Docetaxel and Gemcitabine in Treating Patients With Stage IIIB or Stage IV Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel and gemcitabine hydrochloride in people with Lung Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 17 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of two regimens of docetaxel plus gemcitabine in treating patients who have… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
docetaxel and gemcitabine hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Injection or infusion
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
106 participants
Where
17 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Feb 1999to May 2008
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically or cytologically confirmed stage IIIB/IV nonsmall cell lung cancer eligible for first line chemotherapy Measurable disease (must be outside radiation port or proof of progressive disease) Metastatic CNS disease allowed if treated and stable for at least 21 days prior to study

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-1 Life expectancy: Greater than 12 weeks Hematopoietic: Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL Absolute neutrophil count at least 1500/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than upper limit of normal (ULN) Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 3 times ULN AST no greater than 2.5 times ULN Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN Cardiovascular: At least 3 months since prior myocardial infarction No uncontrolled congestive heart failure No uncontrolled arrhythmias Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception Peripheral neuropathy less than grade 2 No history of hypersensitivity to products containing polysorbate 80 No other significant medical condition No meningeal carcinomatosis No weight loss of greater than 10% within past 3 months due to disease

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy to pelvis, spine, or long bones and recovered No prior radiotherapy to at least 30% of bone marrow Surgery: Greater than 4 weeks since prior major surgery Other: At least 3 weeks since prior investigational drugs

Trial locations and contacts

17 sites in 1 country.

17 sites in 1 country

United States17 sites
  • CCOP - Ann Arbor Regional

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106

  • Quain & Ramstad Clinic, P.C.

    Bismarck, North Dakota, 58501

  • CCOP - Cedar Rapids Oncology Project

    Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 52403-1206

  • CCOP - Geisinger Clinical and Medical Center

    Danville, Pennsylvania, 17822-2001

  • CCOP - Iowa Oncology Research Association

    Des Moines, Iowa, 50309-1016

  • CCOP - Duluth

    Duluth, Minnesota, 55805

  • CCOP - Merit Care Hospital

    Fargo, North Dakota, 58122

  • Altru Health Systems

    Grand Forks, North Dakota, 58201

  • CCOP - Missouri Valley Cancer Consortium

    Omaha, Nebraska, 68131

  • Rapid City Regional Hospital

    Rapid City, South Dakota, 57709

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • CentraCare Clinic

    Saint Cloud, Minnesota, 56303

  • CCOP - Metro-Minnesota

    Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416

  • CCOP - Scottsdale Oncology Program

    Scottsdale, Arizona, 85259-5404

  • Siouxland Hematology-Oncology

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51101-1733

  • CCOP - Carle Cancer Center

    Urbana, Illinois, 61801

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214-3882

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Randomized Phase II Study of Docetaxel and Gemcitabine for Stage IIIB/IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of two regimens of docetaxel plus gemcitabine in treating patients who have stage IIIB or stage IV non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Evaluate the response rate of patients with stage IIIB or IV nonsmall cell lung cancer to different schedules of docetaxel and gemcitabine therapy. II. Evaluate the toxicity of this treatment in these patients. III. Describe the quality of life parameters of patients receiving this combination therapy. IV. Determine the survival rate of these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients are stratified by disease (stage IIIB vs stage IV) and performance status (0 vs 1). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms (Arm I now closed). Arm I: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1 followed by gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1, 8, and 15. (closed as of 8/31/1999) Arm II: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 15. Arm III: Patients receive docetaxel IV on day 1 and gemcitabine IV on days 1, 8, and 15. Patients continue treatment every 28 days for a maximum of 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. Patients with either stable disease or complete/partial response who discontinue treatment after 4-6 courses may be eligible for NCCTG-97-24-51. Quality of life is assessed before treatment and before each course of therapy. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, then every 3 months for 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 19-53 patients will be accrued for this study within 6-18 months.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Keywords
recurrent non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage IV non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00003762
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Arm I: docetaxel + gemcitabineExperimentalPatients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1 followed by gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1, 8, and 15. Patients continue treatment every 28 days for a maximum of 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. Patients with either stable disease or complete/partial response who discontinue treatment after 4-6 courses may be eligible for NCCTG-97-24-51. Quality of life is assessed before treatment and before each course of therapy. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, then every 3 months for 5 years.
Receives: Drug: docetaxel; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride
Arm II: docetaxel + gemcitabineExperimentalPatients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and gemcitabine IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 15. Patients continue treatment every 28 days for a maximum of 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. Patients with either stable disease or complete/partial response who discontinue treatment after 4-6 courses may be eligible for NCCTG-97-24-51. Quality of life is assessed before treatment and before each course of therapy. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, then every 3 months for 5 years.
Receives: Drug: docetaxel; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride
Arm III: docetaxel + gemcitabineExperimentalPatients receive docetaxel IV on day 1 and gemcitabine IV on days 1, 8, and 15. Patients continue treatment every 28 days for a maximum of 6 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. Patients with either stable disease or complete/partial response who discontinue treatment after 4-6 courses may be eligible for NCCTG-97-24-51. Quality of life is assessed before treatment and before each course of therapy. Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, then every 3 months for 5 years.
Receives: Drug: docetaxel; Drug: gemcitabine hydrochloride

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. response rate

    Measured: Up to 5 years

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. quality of life

    Measured: Up to 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 Jun 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startFeb 1999
  3. Primary completionFeb 2003
  4. Study completionMay 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
106 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00003762
Sponsor's protocol ID
NCCTG-982452
Other IDs
NCI-2012-02294, CDR0000066887
Status last verified
Jul 2016
First submitted
2 May 2000
Last updated
13 Jul 2016
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Huschka MM, Mandrekar SJ, Schaefer PL, Jett JR, Sloan JA. A pooled analysis of quality of life measures and adverse events data in north central cancer treatment group lung cancer clinical trials. Cancer. 2007 Feb 15;109(4):787-95. doi: 10.1002/cncr.22444.

    PubMed 17211864
  • Jatoi A, Hillman S, Stella P, Green E, Adjei A, Nair S, Perez E, Amin B, Schild SE, Castillo R, Jett JR; North Central Cancer Treatment Group. Should elderly non-small-cell lung cancer patients be offered elderly-specific trials? Results of a pooled analysis from the North Central Cancer Treatment Group. J Clin Oncol. 2005 Dec 20;23(36):9113-9. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2005.03.7465.

    PubMed 16361618

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing docetaxel and gemcitabine hydrochloride in people with Lung Cancer, run by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology at 17 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 13 Jul 2016. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 17 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

response rate (time frame: Up to 5 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00003762, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 13 Jul 2016.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in